Fiction logo

The Story Of Dragon Valley.

A Mission To Protect The Valley From The Unseen And The Untold.

By Carol TownendPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 6 min read
10
The Story Of Dragon Valley.
Photo by B K on Unsplash

There weren't always dragons in the valley. In fact, nobody believed that dragons exist, even though they saw what looked like creatures from hell light up the night sky...

I sit peacefully all day long until dusk listening to the rushing current crashing against the stone of a small stony waterfall crashing into the Crystal River in Dragon Valley. Dragons were said to exist here by the ancient magical beings who lived here many billions of centuries ago, though the present residents do not believe it, as they have never seen a dragon in the village. The dragons have never been seen since the old generation died out. I have seen many a great creature flapping great wings and breathing fire here by this very river at dusk. They weren't always here in this valley; though, at the start of the blossoming summer months, they made an appearance.

They spread their huge, heavy wings, breathe large streams of burning fire from their nostrils, and booming loud screeches can be heard across the valley, yet still, people are ignorant to their piercing shrieks.

Dragon Valley gets its name from the fact that dragons used to exist here many centuries ago before humans took over their land. Rumour has it that a well-known wizard named Omar cast a great spell over the land causing a huge portal to open that cast them to the other world. Nobody knows about the other world and nobody can enter because Omar cast a secondary spell that created a shield, locking the dragons in the other world forever. The other world remains un-named to avoid anybody from trying to find it and attempt to break the spell.

I am the only one who knows this secret. A great Mage told me this secret five years ago when I saw my first dragon. I am the only one who can see them because my blood links back to these ancient magical beings. Before these beings existed there weren't always dragons in the valley, and nobody has ever decided otherwise.

Though there is one problem...there was a mistake, causing a hole to rip through the shield through which the dragons can pass through.

The dragons only ever break through the portal here, by Crystal River. This is where the portal is said to be made. The name 'Dragon Valley,' according to mythology was created by Omar many long centuries ago. I see them at the start of every summer, though I am the only one who knows they are back.

However, I say this; though no other person dares to sit by this river at dusk, and the fish do not swim here. In fact, there is no other life here. The people of the valley are afraid, they believe that they will disappear here as many people in the past have gone missing.

Nobody knows I sit here. I have no idea why I am the only one who can sit here. I will never share my secret though; as the people of the valley would never believe me.

The people of the valley believe the missing ones were murdered by a very evil witch who they believe resides here. Some have even claimed that they can see billows of green smoke floating into the valley from the trees by the river. They say, they never see this witch in the valley because she wears an invisible cloak.

In this valley, people believe in witches because there are many mysterious events that happen here, such as the sky turning emerald green every night at midnight; though still, nobody believes in dragons.

Should I tell them the truth?

No, I must not.

Even though they have seen the fire in the sky; I am the only one who knows of their past and present existence. The people of the valley will think I am working with the witch if I tell them the truth.

It is now dusk. I sit patiently by the Crystal River awaiting the screeching noises that let me know a dragon is overhead. Suddenly a giant dark shadow with heavy wings appears over my head and the sky changes to emerald green. There is a terrifying screech followed by a large billowing stream of fire. The dragon flaps his wings fiercely trying desperately to break through the portal so that it can be seen, though it fails miserably.

"You are the great being of our ancients." The dragon tells me.

"You are drawn to our territory and you can see us because you have the magical power of the great ancients. Will you set us free?" The dragon booms through the dark.

I am not sure this is a good idea, since the residents of the valley do not know the dragons exist. As far as they know, dragons didn't even exist in the valley. However, these dragons weren't always here, they had some kind of ritual where they only appeared in the blossoming summer months.

"How am I supposed to do that? You are only here in the blossoming summer months." I ask, feeling a little uncertain that setting these ferocious beings free was a good idea.

How do I know they won't attack?

After all, there are tales of missing people here in the valley which is the reason people don't come here anymore. They believe that it is witches, though I have other thoughts.

"Cretin! How dare you question the great ones above? This was our land, long before human time. You know this! The great Omar, your ancestor locked us here in this dreaded portal for centuries, while your terrible human residents feed and breed on our land."

I start to slowly back away from the river. I must choose my words wisely. This situation could get out of hand, and start a terrible war that has never been seen on our lands ever before.

The dragon lets out a huge flare of fire from its nostrils. It is angry now.

"You people from the valley think we haven't always been here. You are wrong! We have, only we can only travel through this terrible territory. We can't go any further due to the great evil that is Omar."

The dragon lets out a huge screech and then disappears.

You see; there weren't always dragons in the valley, though there really were. I am the only one who knows this secret, and I am destined to keep the dragons locked in their fate. This is my mission to protect the villagers from more evil doings by these dragons. However, there are darker days looming, and my job is to prevent these darker days from unfolding. My mission is a difficult one. Should these evil beings be set free? Who knows what evil might unleash in this present peaceful valley...

Series
10

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • S Charles2 years ago

    Love that it has backstory that does not interfere with the narrative. Excellent read.

  • FLINX2 years ago

    Thanks for this fantasy. I love dragons. the ghost story aspect as it unfolds is cool. I'm feeling a fable tone. This story is very much surreal, dreamish, depicting dragons as daemons but also natural elements. Dragonslayer-ish mood.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Outstanding!

  • Love the way this story is wrapped around the unexplained! :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.