Fiction logo

The story of divorce

Chapter 4

By wjnwPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Maybe it was because I didn't speak for a long time, Zhou Yizequan took me by default, and his face turned completely cold.

"Just pretend that nothing happened today."

He dropped the sentence lightly, got up, and walked out.

I watched his back and watched him walk away.

He walked steadily, neither crooked nor swayed, completely different from the drunk who needed my help just now.

When I realized something, my chest became more congested and stuffy, and I even had difficulty breathing.

So, is he pretending to be drunk?

After that night, my fragile relationship with Zhou Yize dropped to a freezing point.

He just didn't go home, and there was no explanation.

I have always known that this marriage, in addition to its name, Zhou Yize, gave me a lot of respect.

He will always wear the wedding ring in his hand.

Everyone around him knew that I was Mrs. Zhou.

No matter how late he was at work, he would go home.

I remember that time when I fell asleep on the sofa, I woke up to find that I was covered with a thin gray blanket, and the cool and pleasant smell of the blanket permeated the tip of my nose.

His mind moved slightly, and his eyes glanced casually, just to see Zhou Yize orderly cooking supper in the kitchen.

The mist stained between his cold brows, gradually thinning and becoming clearer.

Aware of my sight, he just looked up at me and didn't have much reaction.

But when he came out of the kitchen, he was holding two sets of tableware.

After eating, I consciously cleaned up the dishes and reached out to pick up the plate, Zhou Yize stood up, took the plate in my hand, and said lightly,

"It's not convenient for you to touch cold water today, I'll come."

I opened my mouth, The phrase "how do you know" stuck in his throat, and he couldn't say it in the end, he could only stare blankly as he packed everything up and walked into the kitchen.

It seems that since then, my relationship with Zhou Yize has gradually changed.

However, these days, I curled up and sat on the sofa, and the projected movie was played over and over again, but I never waited for the familiar figure.

Finally, I couldn't help calling Liang Shan, who was in the same department as Zhou Yize, who had been our wedding best man before.

I talked round and round, but Liang Shan still understood my intention.

"Brother Yi Ze has had a lot of surgeries in the past few days, so he just stayed in the hospital, sister-in-law, didn't he tell you?"

I tightened my fingers on the phone and didn't speak.

Liang Shan let out an "uh", trying to dissolve the stiff atmosphere with a brisk tone,

"Sister-in-law, don't think too much, maybe he wants to surprise you!"

My breath stagnated, "Surprise?"

"Yeah, Yesterday I went to his office to look for him, and I happened to see that he was holding a jewelry box with a necklace in it, which should be for you. The pendant is a silver six-pointed star, so beautiful..."

After hanging up the phone, I was stunned for a long time. An indescribable emotion filled my heart, spreading to every corner of my body along with the hot blood.

Is what Liang Shan said true?

In a trance, the picture of him deliberately pretending to be drunk that night and calling Yang Yi's name to test my reaction suddenly came to mind.

And that gentle and lingering kiss mixed with a touch of alcohol...

family
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.