Fiction logo

The Story Of An Angel

What’s your reason…

By Alexis Dean Jr.Published 10 months ago 2 min read
Top Story - September 2023
24
The Story Of An Angel
Photo by Ramez E. Nassif on Unsplash

Grandma once told me that angels are special spirits and the guardians of our world. Their true home is at a very distant destination surrounded with astonishing unfathomable wonders. Many books call that Heaven, but she didn’t give this place a name. She couldn’t quite describe what it looked like with words, but as I watched her stare blankly and smile I could feel the joy radiating from her face. It was the joyous smile I had whenever I finally pieced together images of what I could remember from my dreams, but with the intensity of a past memory you’d desperately hold so it doesn’t slip away again.

Within the divinity of the angel’s birthplace, Grandma said their truest form glows and is a breathtaking sight for a person to witness. But, when they visit us, they have the power to become the shape of any creature on Earth. It’s their most helpful and necessary skill. This way, the only opportunity to truly know if you’re in the presence of an angel is to see wonder in even the ordinary. Or, of course, if they trust to reveal themselves to you and tell you the most important secret. She said an angel’s ultimate duty is to protect and love different living things that they are assigned to assist, until their assignment is complete. This assignment may take a brief moment of redirection, or it could take years of nurturing and connection. It’s ultimately not their decision. Only the living can determine how long they are needed. And then, they return home.

Instead of asking her why she was telling me all this, I asked her what’s an angel’s most important secret. She looked deeply in my eyes and smiled. Her hand touched mine, and I felt an energy I’ve never felt from another. An energy that I feared would disappear after we shared our last goodbyes, but I still feel it around me whenever my entire body is shivering from the grief of her loss. Grandma held me and said,

“The secret is to treat every thing like it was brought to you from a higher place. We’re all here for a reason.”

Young AdultShort Storyfamily
24

About the Creator

Alexis Dean Jr.

Alexis “L.E.X” Dean Jr. is a clean Hip-Hop artist, poet, and educator from Milwaukee, WI. As a writer and music artist, he focuses on the importance of educating through his words and stories...

IG: @DreamsStartYoung

DreamsStartYoung.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Carol Townend8 months ago

    This is a very good story, with a moral that I think most of us can relate to. I loved reading this, it is very well written.

  • Luis Flores8 months ago

    Very inspiring. Thanks for sharing.

  • Ogundipe Murphy8 months ago

    Woooo! Lovely piece.

  • Darkos8 months ago

    Such a beautiful story Thank you for sharing and Congratulations on Topstory !

  • Saftaz8 months ago

    True! We’re all here for a reason.

  • Naveedkk 8 months ago

    Congratulations on top story,

  • I think your grandmother and I would have been dear friends. 💙

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Great work!

  • Cendrine Marrouat8 months ago

    Alexis, this is a profound story, I enjoyed reading it very much. The ending reminded me of what I experienced caring for my grandmother during the last months of her life. Thank you for the reminder!

  • Sarah D8 months ago

    Beautifully written and the ending was lovely. We really are all here for a reason. Thanks for this. Read mine? https://vocal.media/fiction/zoe-delaney-s-strange-dream

  • Alexander McEvoy8 months ago

    This was a very moving piece :) Thank you for sharing

  • Test8 months ago

    Such a stong and emotive piece. 🤍 Congrats on top story!

  • Novel Allen8 months ago

    Grandma sounds like my mother, bless her soul. We are brought up hearing about angels, some of us live with them here on earth if we are lucky. I was lucky to live with one, so glad you were too. Just read your 'Life goes on....). poem. Congrats on your TS.

  • Judey Kalchik 8 months ago

    we should always be ready to entertain angels unaware.

  • You write powerfully. This was beautiful 👌❤️✨

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.