Fiction logo

The space ship

Submission to the green light, summer fiction series

By Leslie StromPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 9 min read
2
The space ship
Photo by JOSHUA COLEMAN on Unsplash

It was a nice cool late evening, autumn smells in the air, the leaves falling, and the feeling of the light cool breeze on my face while sitting in the hot tub. I close my eyes to soak it all in, I think to myself how grateful I am for so many things.

Something bright in the sky quickly make my eyes open and an object looked like a meteor was going through the ozone layer lighting up the sky. As I was watching it fly through the sky I jumped up thinking it was going to land somewhere close. It zipped by me and I lost sight of it behind the trees.

I ran into my house and yelled to my husband, “a meteorite just hit very close to here. Let’s go check it out!”

He let out a big sigh, stretched his arms and said, “it’s midnight honey let’s check it out tomorrow.”

“No honey, I’m getting dressed and either you are coming or not, but I’m going to check it out right now. I heard that a piece of meteorite is worth a pile of money.” I sprinted to the bathroom, hung up my bathing suit and got dressed very quickly. I picked up the keys to the car and asked if he was coming.

“It looked like it passed the Johnsons farm, over the hill.” I said leaning forward looking in all directions. When we got to the top of the hill we saw a green glow past the field, in the trees. We stopped the car and ran towards the green light that was fading by the second. I looked at my watch and it read 12:20am. We reached the trees and saw 5 figures of people walking around a disc.

I looked at my husband, he looked at me and yelled “RUN.” We turned around and felt a gravitational pull towards the space ship. I tried to yell hoping someone would hear but all the farm houses were to far away. We were getting closer despite our struggling. I was so afraid I thought I was going to pass out!

A small alien approached us, and pressed a button on his mask, immediately he started to talk. “You cannot run, hide, or escape, you will be joining us on our journey when we fix our ship,” and walked away. His mask and suit looked exactly like we are led to believe, but I was surprised that it was some sort of a space suit.

I looked at my husband with tears in my eyes and told him that I was sorry. He also had tears in his eyes and said, “as soon as the gravitational pull lets up you need to run. I will try to fight them off.”

“NO!” I pleaded, “we are stronger together.”

“Heather, it is the only way. We need to get out of here and fast, I have a very bad feeling.”

We heard the engines turn on, the sound was barely a whisper. I tried to turn and look at the ship, it was about the size of my house, a few bright lights equally spaced around the rim of the sphere. Four men walked into the opening and waved at the alien walking towards us.

He reached for the button again and said, “we are boarding now, but we only have room for one. You miss, you are coming with us because our data showed that you are pregnant. I touched my stomach, my eyes went wide, and shook my head no.

“No I’m not, I shouted, we have been trying for two years and we cannot conceive.” My eyes still wide with tears running down my face looking at my husband.

He said, “no take me, leave her and my baby alone. I can offer you secret information if you take me. I am an officer in the navy on a break , anything you want, I can provide a lot of intell. Please, please let her go.”

The Alien pressed the button and laughed. He said, “we know all of the secrets of the government and military from around your earth.” Looking at him shaking his head. One of his three fingers touched another button on his suit and sprayed some kind of web around him, and soon we couldn’t see him, he was in a green cocoon. The alien grabbed my arm and lead me into the opening of the ship. I was unable to run, looking at my husbands cocoon and cried. I was worried he was going to die.

Inside the space ship were glass walls separating what looked like cells. There were animals in them, each one had farm animals. One had a bees nest, and another had plants, hay, and all sorts of vegetation. That was the biggest cell. Once we passed that section of the ship there was another opening with more cells. Each cell had a different embryo, with a table and computer and an alien. The umbilical cord was attached and they were all floating in a big glass bowl. Each looked like a fish bowl.

I felt sick to my stomach as we approached an empty cell. In it was a large glass empty bowl, a desk and a computer. The alien shoved me in and told me to sit in the chair and buckle in because we were leaving in 5 minutes. He also told me to put on a space suit and helmet that looked like his. Closed the door and left.

I looked around, ran to the door and pounded on the glass screaming. A few of the aliens looked at me and sat in the chair and buckled in. I reluctantly put on the space suit, helmet and gloves. The gloves had three holes so I put on the gloves like Mork and Mindy show. Then Buckled up.

Thankfully I did because in a blink of an eye we shot straight up, I felt some vibrations and passed out from the G-force. When I awoke the aliens were out of their suits sitting in the desks looking at the computer screen. They looked like me, but short, and albino. Their skin was white, no colour in their eyes, and white hair.

Everyday at the same time I got food, always had water but it was room temperature. When they entered my room they would back me up and the web from their sleeves kept me still so they could put more things in my room. A couch, a small rug, a sink, and a camode. They would empty and clean everything. There was no talking, no eye contact. Then they would open the locked computer put probes on me for heart rate, blood pressure, and weight.

I was getting more tired by each passing day, and my belly got bigger and bigger. I estimated that I was about three months into my pregnancy, my stomach was bigger, the aliens would get excited when they heard my babies heart beat. One day, the aliens( 4 of them) came in, stabilized me and put me on a stretcher. I learned not to fight anymore because if my threats, screams, fighting would end up with a jolt similar to a taser.

I looked around as we were passing by more and more cells. My head was dizzy and I felt like I was going to get sick, then darkness.

When I woke up in my cell I was horrified. There was a baby in the bowl, it was very small. I felt my stomach and new then it was my baby. I passed out because I was hyperventilating. I yelled, screamed and no one came, they would bring my meals but refused to eat. They needed to tube feed me when I got stabilized for a few days. My baby was getting bigger each day, I could see the little hairs all over the body, the fingers and toes. The baby would move closer to me when I sang to him.

Then, one day I felt a kick in my stomach and passed out again. I realized that I was a human incubator. Every three months there was another baby, each one looked similar but my baby from my husband looked like me and him. There was three fishbowls with my babies, and I became very sick.

I was told to put on the space suit, and strap into the chair. I was confused because they brought me out of my cell, past the farm animals and into a small room. They buckled me up and the ship took off fast, like I remembered from three years ago.

I woke up in the bushes down the road from the Johnsons. A car picked me up, I was stumbling down the road, coughing, sick. The car dropped me off at my house, I walked into the kitchen.

My husband cried when he saw me, as I fell into his arms. He said that I was gone for 12 hours. He hugged me, and said, “I’m so happy you and our baby are safe.”

I looked at him with tears in my eyes, touching my stomach and had a flash of our baby in a fish bowl. I started to have a panic attach. Then fell again into his arms and said, “they took him, they took him away from us, he is gone.” Crying and sobbing we both fell to the floor. He had so many questions that I could not answer. The flash of our baby growing in the fish bowl lead me to the conclusion that they kept him for research, possibly cloning.

I looked at my watch and it said 12:30 pm, the very next day when they abducted me. I knew that I was gone for so much longer, everything was so unclear, my dreams haunt me each night. I had so many questions, but realized that they would never be answered. Doing research on aliens and my husbands understanding from the navy we uncovered some truths. One was, in space time travels quickly. For every 3-5 years it is only minutes on earth. Two, never approach a glowing green light.

Short Story
2

About the Creator

Leslie Strom

Hi, I come from a small town of 2,500 in Northern Ontario Canada. I love camping and fishing, which we have access to many beautiful lakes. I also knit, crotchet, sew, read and write. Our winters are very long and cold so crafting is a must

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.