Fiction logo

The Southern Boy

The Southern Boy

By Tanea HillPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

The Southern Boy
The boy from the south wanted me to understand the importance of wheat, germs, and fibers. He wanted me to understand that without grass, nothing would flourish, nothing would blossom, and nothing would be sought after. I needed to understand the importance of the maker, not just the outcomes. Without the maker, we would have nothing he said!! He yelled, now put your clothes back on and cover your body before it’s too late!!. Cover your body before pestilence and decay enters you! I protested this reasoning! I felt youthful and sexy! I wanted to be a trophy! I wanted to be the girl who oiled her shoulders, and wore strapless dresses, while walking the backwoods of Tennessee. I protested against him and insisted that his reasoning was no longer justifiable. That I could be beautiful even during our walks in the backwoods of Tennessee. I imagined the dirt road being the Las Vegas Strip. I imagined the barn owls being Flamingos. I imagined the horses being racehorses. I looked into the hot sun on the Tennessee dirt road, and imagined lovemaking in the hay. Suddenly I was interrupted by the southern boy! Put your clothes back on and cover your body before pestilence and decay enters you!! I protested his reasoning, but he did not flinch! He felt my reasoning’s made no sense at all. That I was just a poor dame amongst the horses. That I needed again to be watched over and protected from pestilence and decay. The Southern Boy laid the blanket in the grass. He opened the crochet basket and asked me, when was the last time I had eaten. He looked me in my eyes and gave me a naughty stare. I insisted I had never eaten in my life. That I just wanted to be something special with my shoulders out. Suddenly a barn owl flew past and startled us. The Southern boy would not budge. He had insisted that I had eaten many, many, times before. I denied his theory, that he could check before our arrangements. That if my arrangement was not valid, then there would be no arrangement. The Southern boy looked me in my eye. I watched his pupil turn black. He began to discuss my acquaintance with Bill. Many times I have seen you at Bill’s under the sun and outside the porch he said. And ain’t no kids anywhere in sight. I protested his reasoning!!.That Bill had several acquaintance’s and had given birth to a baby girl whom I bathe, while he works on cars. The Southern boy moved closer. He squeezed my hands and pushed my pinky finger back. He yelled in my ear!! You have had many acquaintances, now tell the truth. I screamed, yes I was one of Bill’s acquaintances, but he made it right with another girl!! And I made it right with you!! No you have not made it right with me, because you won’t cover your body before pestilence and decay enters you. I have no pestilence or decay I said!! You can test my arrangements. Me and Bill only sat on the porch, we never laid down no place. He replied angrily, Bill has a lot of acquaintance’s who sit on his porch, and lay down too! Tell me, have you eaten? He squeezed my hand! No, me and Bill only sat on the porch, we ain’t never laid down no where. Alright then, no more prepping Bill’s baby, and no more lemonade afterwards. I protested and responded, I can’t leave Bills baby, he has to work on cars and bring home a loaf! Fine then, I will come along everyday. Would you like that! Of course I would like that. Ok then after we are done prepping BilI's baby, we will have lemonade on the porch, without Bill. Ok, and after that we will lay down together everyday for the rest of our lives. His pupil turned black as he placed a wedding ring on my finger. I opened the basket and began to eat the wheat crackers with cheese and tuna. When I looked to my left, I saw the barn owl watching.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Tanea Hill

http

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.