Fiction logo

The Soft Side

An Unconventional Love Story

By Rick Henry Christopher Published 3 months ago 6 min read
15
Designed with Starry AI, Word, Photoshop

This is my first attempt at a Romance story. In my Vocal goals for 2024 I stated I would write a Romance story. This is it, it's not a hot and steamy story. But it is a love story. Whether I succeeded or not I guess is up to those that read this.

On with the story...

The Soft Side

“I don't know what I'm doing wrong Kaycee. I'm here at the gym working out five days a week. I eat fewer calories than I burn. I keep track of my fat intake and still, I can't get under 190 pounds.”

“Look at it this way Charlene, 2 years ago you weighed 250 pounds. You've lost a lot of weight. Give yourself some slack.”

“Yeah, but I've been stuck at 190 for seven months now."

“There are alternatives, have you considered surgery?"

Charlene's attention shifted to the rowing machines. "Speaking of alternatives, who's that? He is drop-dead gorgeous."

"That's Dylan. He recently relocated from Santa Barbara. He's the brother of one of my co-workers at Home Depot.”

“I’d kill for a man like him.”

“Well, let's go talk with him, Charlene.”

“Oh no, Kaycee. I'm not his type.”

“How do you know that?”

“Look at him. He's so masculine and hunky. I'm sure he goes for those Barbie types. Anyway, good old huffing and puffing Charlie over there is more in my league.”

“Don't undersell yourself, Charlene. Charlie's a pretty good catch. He's rolling in the dough, to the tune of three hundred and fifty thousand a year. Plus, he's a real sweetheart.”

“Yeah, he is a nice guy. He asked me out last week.”

“What did you say?”

“I told him I'd think about it.”

“Silly, Charlene. You March on over there and talk with Charlie. Let him know you'd be up for some coffee one of these afternoons.”

On her way over to Charlie, Charlene walked by Dylan and gave him a nervous smile.

“You’re lookin' good Charlie. All this working out is working out for you.”

“Hi Charlene, how's things going?”

“Oh, I'm doing well. I've been doing a lot of overtime lately.”

“Same.”

“I was thinking it might be nice if we got that cup of coffee sometime.”

“Last week I would have been up for that. But since then I’ve started dating someone new.” Charlie motions toward a 20-something girl and they wave at each other.

“Well Charlie, you're moving up the dating ladder. She's got a cute bikini figure.”

“Yeah,” Charlie responds.

“Okay, well it was nice talking with you.”

Charlene walks back toward Kaycee, and Dylan smiles at her, saying, "Hi."

"Hi, how are you? My name's Dylan," he continues.

Shocked that he said anything, Charlene's response is stilted. "Oh, hi, um, Dylan. I'm Charlene.”

“Is that your boyfriend over there?” Dylan looks toward Charlie.

“Oh no, no, he's just a friend.”

“Well, I'm new in town and I really don't know anybody.

“Welcome to Orange.”

“Thank you.” Dylan proceeded hesitantly, “Maybe we can meet for lunch tomorrow.”

“Oh, wow, Yes, sure that would be nice.”

The Lunch Date

“I love this restaurant. My best friend, Kaycee, and I come here often. Their albondigas soup is to die for.”

“Well maybe we'll skip the albondigas soup, I don't want to have to call 911 on our first date,” Dylan injects humor into his voice.

As their lunch arrived they continued a polite conversation.

“I work at a mental health facility for teens and children.”

“Oh really,” Dylan responded with interest.

“Yes, I work with teens on the Spectrum.”

“My little brother is autistic.”

“Little brother? How old is he?”

“He's 16.”

“He's young. What are you about fifteen years older?

“Oh no,” Dylan chuckles, “I'm 23. I grew the facial hair so I could look 30. You get more respect that way.”

“Yeah, I guess so.”

“I run my own business. I sell imported rock and roll t-shirts and other memorabilia mostly from Japan and the UK. One of the local distributors refused to sell to me, he didn't believe I was 23.”

“Oh really?”

“Yes, when I'm clean shaven I look 15.”

“Oh, I guess that could be a problem, Charlene pauses, “I'm 36.”

“I figured you might be in your mid-30s.”

“That doesn't bother you that I'm so much older than you?”

“No. Does it bother you that I'm so much younger?”

“Well no,” Charlene shrugged, “not really. I mean maybe a bit. But not really.”

“You sound unsure about this.”

“Look at the situation. You're 13 years younger than me and look at me,” Charlene gestures with her hand across her body.

“What do you mean look at you? You're an attractive lady.”

Charlene was thrown off guard by Dylan's comment. She smiled a bit.

“Well yeah, Dylan. Let's be honest, I'm fat and you're a muscle hunk.”

“Oh no, Dear Charlene. You've got me all wrong. The women I choose to date I choose because I see something deeper in them.

Again Charlene was thrown off guard when Dylan said date. She smiled in her mind but kept a poker face as she listened to him speak.

“Yesterday when you walked by me I saw a beautiful lady with humility on her face and grace in her walk. I was so attracted to you immediately. I was even jealous when you started talking to that other man. I knew that when you walked back I had to say something or I would never get to know you.”

Charlene melted at Dylan's comment and this time she couldn't hide her smile. She was beaming from ear to ear.

“That is the most beautiful thing any man has ever said to me. Thank you, Dylan.”

“You're welcome, Charlene. One thing about me is I am very in touch with my feminine side. I have a soft side and I'm in tune with my emotions, body language, and personality.”

“But, you're such a manly man. There's nothing feminine about you.”

“Thank you, Charlene. Yes, on my exterior I’m all man. But in my heart and soul, there is a sensitive little puppy who wants to lick your face.”

Charlene cracked up laughing at that line.

“Oh Dylan, you are so much fun. So let me put this together. You are a rugged 23-year-old man who looks 15 but hides it with a beard and mustache to look 30 and on the inside, you're a little female puppy dog.”

Dylan chuckles at Charlene's analogy, “Well maybe I'm not a female puppy but I do have an understanding and connection to my female side.”

After they finished lunch Dylan walked Charlene to her car.

“Thank you so much Dylan for a lovely afternoon. I had a great time.”

“I had a great time also Charlene. Can we do this again?”

“Yes, definitely by all means.”

As Charlene opened her car door, Dylan called out, “Wait Charlene.”

Charlene stopped and looked back at Dylan.

“Can I have a kiss before you leave?”

Charlene blushed and answered, “I thought you'd never ask.”

🩷🩷🩷🩷🩷

With Love, RHC ❤️

Short StoryLove
15

About the Creator

Rick Henry Christopher

Writing is a distraction to fulfill my need for intellectual stimulus, emotional release, and soothing the bruises of the day.

The shattered pieces of life will not discourage me.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/vocalplusassist

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Dasani Jones2 months ago

    I love the romance. Haha. Very impressive😏😘

  • Awkwardly beautiful & sweet. Ya done good, Rick!

  • Novel Allen2 months ago

    You are such a romantic Rick. Such a sweet story of acceptance and not forming opinions of others. Hope it works out, so many do not.

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    Gotta be honest, I had to google albondigas!

  • I'm 34 and I always feel so insecure when talking to younger men. I related so much with Charlene. Dylan was so mature for a 23 year old. He knows that age and size are just numbers. Loved your story!

  • Shirley Belk3 months ago

    I loved this story because it's the way we should all look to one another :)

  • Marie Wilson3 months ago

    A fun romance story - I'd say you aced it!!

  • Babs Iverson3 months ago

    Fantastic love story!!! Loved it!!!♥️♥️💕

  • Gerard DiLeo3 months ago

    Face-licking only on the 2nd date.

  • LOVED YOUR STORY ABOUT FIRST DATE. NOT ALL LOVE STORIES HAVE TO BE HOT AND STEAMY. THIS ONE ROCKS WITH ORIGINALITY REGARDING THE BEGINNING OF A FRIENDSHIP AND LOVE AFFAIR.

  • Aww, this was too sweet. First encounters are always a little clumsy and awkward. maybe this is your new thing, Rick! Great job.

  • Tiffany Gordon 3 months ago

    PHENOMENAL! Please do more Cousin! Your dialogue was Top Notch as usual! :) I loved Dylan's outlook; more men need to take a page out of Dylan's book! 😉😁 You deserve a🏅for this one! I want 2 see it become a TOP STORY. Congrats on completing your 2024 romance story goal. Cousin Tiffa is proud!

  • JBaz3 months ago

    You portrayed that shy, awkward meeting for her with a cool confident younger man that saw true beauty. I like this direction you took, it works.

  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    Well, I don't think this is bad at all. I think you get the essence of love starting out and the chemistry between Dylan and Charlene. The dialogue shows the sparks between them and it ends with a kiss and the promise of more. As a first effort into a genre that you're not really comfortable with, I think you've done well, Rick.

  • Lana V Lynx3 months ago

    This was fun to read. People can be so awkward in their first interactions with their love interest, you’ve rendered it well.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.