Fiction logo

The Snow Globe

The world is how you perceive it to be.

By J.M. PowellPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
The Snow Globe
Photo by Ric Matkowski on Unsplash

We drove up the snowy, winding road towards the cozy A-frame cabin. It was as if I had entered the magical world of the snow globe I had kept next to my bed all my life. It is one of my most prized possessions. When I turned twelve years old, my grandmother gave it to me when she took over caring for me when my parents passed away. The world is how you perceive it to be is engraved on the bottom. There is a beautiful cabin on a hillside inside the snow globe.

As we came to a stop in front of the cabin, I noticed the cabin looked exactly like the one in my snow globe. I turned to look at my grandmother next to me with a puzzled expression.

“This is my secret getaway that I own. I come here from time to time to unwind so I can come back to the world stronger.”

“It’s amazing. What are we doing here?”

“I thought you might like a weekend away for Christmas.”

In the window, a Christmas tree was sparkling so invitingly.

“Okay. That sounds great.”

“How about you make us some hot chocolate while I start a fire.”

“Alright.”

We sat down in the chairs near the fireplace a few minutes later.

My grandmother asked, “How are things with you?”

“I feel like I don’t get to do enough of what matters to me most. I love to write but I find it hard to find time with life’s responsibilities. It weighs heavy on me.”

“Believe time will be available and it will find its way to you.”

“Okay. I’ll try my best.”

“Let’s head to bed. Merry Christmas. I love you.”

I woke the next morning to find presents in my stocking and under the tree. I went to my stocking first. I found a letter inside from my grandmother.

Dear Mia,

The time has come to pass on to you something very important. This may come as a shock but right now we are inside the snow globe I gave you. In here, time pauses and resumes at the point you entered the globe when you exit. This is why I seemingly never took time away by myself to the cabin even though I mentioned that is what it is for when we arrived. You were unaware of my vacations since time stops for those inside here. We are a family with magical powers dating back centuries. The power of the globe is yours now too. Use it wisely. It can be destructive if used improperly.

Merry Christmas!

Gran

My jaw dropped and I blinked to look at the page again to see if I had actually just read what I read. Sure enough, the page looked the same.

It felt like a Christmas miracle. Now I would be able to follow my dreams with writing. I vowed not to take it for granted. For as long as I could remember, I had wished for simply more time.

By Євгенія Височина on Unsplash

“Mia? Are you here?”

“In here.”

My grandmother had aged a bit when she entered my room. Her wrinkles had deepened and more of her hair was gray. How long had I been here?

“I’m going to have to take away your powers until you learn more control.”

“What? No! Please don’t!”

“You’ve been in here seven years since the day I told you about it. That is way overboard.”

She took out her wand and cast away my power with a wave and without another thought.

By Ali Inay on Unsplash

I was back in the car with my grandmother seven years ago. She appeared younger the way she did then.

“Please let me go back.”

“You were too selfish with it. I thought you had been ready and I wanted to help you have the time you desired. I was wrong.”

“How do I earn back my powers?”

“Learn to be grateful no matter your circumstances. I know you can do it.”

By Gabrielle Henderson on Unsplash

It took me several years to find my way to that state of gratitude. I didn’t speak to my grandmother for a long time. I couldn’t understand why she would bring me back to this miserable life working a job I hated to survive. Then one day she wrote me a letter. That was when the tide changed forever.

Dear Mia,

Human beings need lessons. We get them from struggle. That is how we learn understanding and gain something to pass on. Every time you are down, look for the wisdom that can be gained. Remember, the world is how you perceive it to be.

Love Always,

Gran

By Mathilda Khoo on Unsplash

Fantasyfamily
Like

About the Creator

J.M. Powell

You can make anything by writing. -C.S. Lewis

My passion is to spread what it means to love.

My published books of poetry: Quantum Leap Overmorrow

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.