Fiction logo

The Snow Faerie

Life

By Ashley ShiflettPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
8
The Snow Faerie
Photo by Matt Forster on Unsplash

“This is it,” I said to myself in my last moments.

I closed my eyes and let my head rest against the snow covered ground.
The noise of the snowstorm surrounding me helped my body drift away.
As my thoughts dissipated into a void of my subconscious I saw her standing there.
Unexpectedly, she reached out her hand towards me. Her skin appeared as soft as the snow. I reached towards her but she began to glide away. She smiled and her body lit up with an encompassing radiance.
For the first time my mind felt at peace. Her silver hair shined brighter than anything that I could imagine. Almost in comparison to the sun.
Resting on her head was a crown of silver snowflakes that wrapped her body as it trailed down into a dress.
I thought that looking upon her would somehow hurt.
Instead It felt complete.
Somehow, I knew that this was meant to be.
It was how it needed to be.
I had no fear, and no regret.

She began to move closer until we were side by side. I felt a warm embrace as the snow enveloping her began to consume me as well. My mind's questions were no more. My pain was nonexistent.
I remembered nothing that came before. I just knew that everything was fine because she was here.
I am ready.
As she lifted my body next to hers she leaned in closely.
I closed my eyes and she whispered.
“Not yet”.

Fable
8

About the Creator

Ashley Shiflett

I have always had a passion for writing.

I hope to share my love for stories with everyone that I meet. I'm hopeful that in some way they will motivate you, help you smile, or even encourage you through a difficult time.

All are welcome!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • C. H. Richard3 months ago

    Oh I loved that ♥️ I could envision the beautiful snow fairy ♥️

  • Babs Iverson3 months ago

    Fantastic & loved it!!!💕♥️♥️

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    Crumbs, I was almost disappointed! I love the way you did this, make me WANT to go, and then...

  • Love the image and the story is wonderful

  • I was holding my breath the whole time! Your story was fantastic!

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    Oh my goodness. Great story. I love the ending.

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    I love the description of her outfit 😁👍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.