Fiction logo

The slice of life

Tye’s birthday adventure

By Emmanuel Bryant Published 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
  1. The start of something new

Today was not only my 13th birthday 🎂, but also my first day of High School. I had so much anxiety from the night before that I almost forgot about my the big one Three. Not my G-ma though! I call her that instead of the traditional Grandma . She always makes my birthday’s special! It’s been just me and her since I was 5 years old. This morning She had that feeling something wasn’t right. What can I say she wasn’t wrong. Over the summer, I pick up some pounds and zits working at The local Bakery. 13 pounds up and 13 zits oh the irony. “What’s wrong baby?” She asked with concern. “G-ma do you think I’m handsome?” “ Boy look in that mirror! I see your dad’s beautiful dark brown eyes and my daughter’s gorgeous smile. I’m gonna have to beat the girls off with a stick” we both laugh she always knew how to make me feel better. “ Today is your special day , now go and seize the day!!! I packed a special birthday surprise in your lunchbox” As I run and catch my bus 🚌 I had no doubt my day will be alright. My first day as a freshman this is the start of something new!

Something to look forward to

As the bus arrived at school, I could not help but to have a stride in my step. G-ma’s words “seize the day” kept ringing in my head. “Dead poet society” is a movie we both love ❤️. As I make my way to English I pass by a group of girls who giggle and whisper as I pass by. This makes me feel like an ogre 👹. I chalk it up and take my seat up front. English has always been my favorite subject and one I excelled at. I have to give give props to my Uncle Ned for giving me his collection of comics. It helped my vocabulary and expand my imagination. My English teacher Ms. Height was around 5’2 and had curly dark brown hair. She smiled as if she wanted to be there. “So class I want everyone to stand up and introduce themselves” “Alright young man let’s start with you” Dammit why did I have to sit up front. As I stand up I can hear more giggles from the girls before. All I could think of is “seize the day” “ok my name is...” “Speak up young man” Ms Height exclaimed “My name is Tye Jaxson and I love to write ✍️ and read comics like X men and Generation X. Synch from Generation X is my favorite mutant. He has the potential to be the first Omnipotent African American character in the Marvel universe.”As I look around, I can see the blank stares from my Geek word vomit. I quickly sit and put my head down on the desk. Ms Height gleefully replied “Excellent Tye and thank you , you have an exceptional vocabulary ! “ Does anyone know what Omnipotent mean?” As I continue to lay my head down for being a geek. I can hear a voice of hope. “ Yes young lady” Ms. Height says “Omnipotent means someone or something that is all powerful, I mean synch is cool ,but Husk is my girl! She is an incredible metamorph from a huge family of mutants.” My ears raise up and I turn around. I see a girl who stands at 5’6 and has 🍯 honey brown eyes, raven black hair and a pecan sandy cookie complexion. She obviously plays sports ⚽️ and is a Butter pecan Rican Goddess. Her name is Star ⭐️ Rivera and she smiles at me. She has a smile like Alyssa Milano from “ who’s the boss” I already loved English now I really had something to look forward to.

Lunch is a piece of cake

As I arrive at the table , I am starving like Marvin!! I open up my Thundercats lunch box and I see to my surprise a slice of chocolate Twinkie cake with a note attached and some specific instructions... (to be continued)

Adventure
Like

About the Creator

Emmanuel Bryant

I am a proud uncle who loves God,Family,movies, and music. I like to write and I love to talk to folks on my podcast “special delivery show 🍀”

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.