Fiction logo

The Shift CHAP.2

The Unveiling

By Alexander WashingtonPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 7 min read
Like
The Shift CHAP.2
Photo by John Silliman on Unsplash

The voice makes him stumble back; he braces his hands against the wall. "This is just a dream! All I need to do is wake up!" His thoughts scream. Scrunching his eyes closed he tells himself to wake up, when he opens his eyes, he sees that he is still in the bathroom. He looks up seeing that the face is still in the mirror, it grins back at him shrugging.

>>Sorry kid, but I'm here for good.

"I don't want you in my head though!" He shouts inwardly.

>>Hey, if you want to blame anyone blame your mama! She is the one you want to shout at, I didn't do nothin!

"What do you mean she is the one I should be yelling at?" Regasulus questions the new voice.

>>Just go ask her.

"Okay." Regasulus says as he heads down the stairs. He sees that his mom is making her coffee, she doesn't notice him at first. After a few seconds he leans against the wall and mock coughs into his fist, she jumps sky high. "Why are you so quiet when you walk?" She asks, while clutching the front of her shirt mimicking a heart attack. "It's a gift." He says dryly. "What's wrong?" mom asks. She walks over and presses his chin with her finger to get him to look down, she is '5 1 while he is '6 4. So, he is required to look down at her.

"Oh, it's nothing. It's just a little gift named Zircon." He says through gritted teeth.

At the name Zircon her face pales to a dangerous level. "What's today?" She says, panic rising high in her voice.

"It’s the 16th of January, exactly one month after birthday." He was starting to get worried; his mom never forgot the date.

"I can't believe I forgot!" His mom sits down at the kitchen table, she puts her face in her hands her shoulders start to shake hard.

"Mom, why is today so important? Also, who is Zircon?" Regasulus asks, as he rubs his moms back to calm her down.

"You need to go to school, I'll tell you after." His mom says.

"Fine." Regasulus says. He learned the hard way that one does not argue with Ruby Cain. He walks away from his mother, snags his keys from the hook on the wall and heads toward his truck. As he drives to school, he turns up the radio, hearing his favorite song. As he turns a road his Bluetooth sounds off, alerting him that he received a message from DIAMOND." Can you pick me up today? My mom is already gone for work...I'll pay you back for gas." His car reads off to him. He groans as he hears the gas offer. He already told Diamond that he would pick her up anytime and that he didn't need payment. He replies with a message saying that he'll be there in 5-minutes, no payment needed. When he arrives at her house he pops the locks, hopping out of the truck to open the right-side door for her.

"Your always such a gentleman!" The pink haired, green eyed girl remarks while she exits her home, locking the front door.

"I always try." He says flashing her a teasing grin, earning him a delightful giggle. "You look amazing today!" He says looking at her slim jeans and ocean blue crop top.

Her face turns a light shade of red. "Why thank you kind sir!" She returns his teasing grin making him laugh. He helps her into the truck, shutting her door. Heading back to his side he makes a leaping bound into the big metal beast.

"Do you want to stop at that coffee drive-thru? I could use a nice shot of espresso." Regasulus asks her as he starts to back out of her driveway. "Ya' know that sounds good! Mind if I use your mirror to do my make-up?" Diamond asks politely.

"Sure, but you look beautiful without it though." He says sneaking a peak at her increasingly red face.

>>Wow you really like her, don't you? Zircon says, Regasulus can practically feel Zircon's smirk, if he can smirk that is. He hushes him with a mental swipe of his hand.

"Ya' know your right, I am!" She says rewarding him with a glowing grin. A few minutes later he pulls into the drive-thru ordering her a chocolate mocha with extra sugar (she's already hyper. So, it's worrying), while getting himself a caramel espresso with a double shot of caramel. He pulls up to the window handing the money to the cashier. They get their drinks and head to school.

"Ughhhh, I can't believe I have detention for the next 3 days." Regasulus grumbles to Diamond, remembering his mother’s comment halfway to school.

"What do you mean? Yesterday was Sunday, and last I checked you were a good boy on Friday." She says looking genuinely confused.

"But I threw a tray at Brayden, and I got in trouble for it.... I thought?" He says, starting to get worried, what happened last night?

>>I'm always here if your curious about anything, I probably have the solution to your problem. Also, your 'bout to miss your exit. Zircon says with his slick, sarcastic voice.

"Hush you, I'll figure it out from mom! Not from you! You freakin mind mon-!" Regasulus yells in his head at Zircon.

>>Look kid, I'm just trying to help. Take it or leave it! Zircon growls cutting off Regasulus. For the first time, Zircon sounded mad. It actually made Regasulus back-off.

As Regasulus got over, taking the exit off the highway he feels a hand on his leg. "Reggie, what's wrong?" Diamond used the nickname she gave him for when he got mad.

Now it's his turn to be confused. "What do you mean? I'm fine." He speaks.

"Oh! Well, you looked distant, also you started scowling. And if you could strangle a steering wheel, I think you killed it." She says with concern in her voice. Her hand had moved from his leg to his shoulder. Her thumb lightly moved in a circular motion on his now tense pressure points. She's also right about his steering wheel death grip, his knuckles are as white as a new sheet of paper. About 7-minutes later he pulls into his parking spot, in front of KNOX High school. He quickly hops out of his truck, jogging over to the right side of the vehicle. As he opens Diamonds door, she practically leaps from the truck. His arms shoot out, wrapping around her slim frame. Her arms wrap around his neck, her force makes him spin, so that he doesn't topple over in a heap of limbs.

"Nice catch! That mocha is hitting me hard right now!" Diamond says in a scarily girly voice. "Oh, that's right! I still owe you for my drink. Oh, my ride too!

"Look you don-" he starts, before he is cut off by arms wrapped around his neck, and lips pressing into his lips.

"You said no to money! Sooo, I gave you that instead!" She says, a crazy cute grin plastering her face after she dropped back to the ground.

"I-I-I-I-I-" Regasulus sputters, Diamond starts to laugh. He was stunned! He just can't believe she kissed him!

"Hey starry eyes!" Diamond says, standing on her tip toes to tap his cheek. "You think you could also give me a ride to work after school too?"

"Yea, sure." Regasulus says still in shock.

"Now that that's settled, walk me to class!" Diamond playfully demands, snatching his hand into hers.

>>Wow! That was not expected. Zircon says, forcing the young man to remember he still had a new brain roommate.

To be continued...…. Chapter 3 coming soon!

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.