Fiction logo

"The Secret Admirer"

Jack and Sarah

By felix kioko kasingaPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like

Sarah's heart pounded in her chest as she read the note. Who could be sending her these letters? And why were they doing it anonymously? She tried to shake off the feeling of unease and decided to meet her secret admirer, despite her reservations.

As she made her way to the park, Sarah couldn't help but think about the possible identities of her mystery suitor. Was it someone she knew? Or was it a complete stranger? She had no idea what to expect, but as she got closer to the bench where she was supposed to meet him, she could see a silhouette of a man, his back to her. Her heart skipped a beat as she realized he was looking at something on his phone.

As she got closer, the man turned around, and Sarah's heart nearly stopped. It was Jack, her ex-boyfriend, who she hadn't seen in years. She felt a mix of emotions, from surprise to curiosity to anger.

"Jack? What are you doing here?" she asked, trying to keep her voice steady.

Jack stood up and gave her a warm smile. "Sarah, it's good to see you. I hope you don't mind that I arranged this little meeting."

Sarah felt a knot forming in her stomach. "What is this, Jack? Are you the one who's been sending me these letters?"

Jack's face fell. "I was hoping you wouldn't find out like this. But yes, Sarah, it was me."

"Why?" Sarah asked, feeling a mix of anger and hurt. "Why would you do something like this?"

"Because I love you, Sarah," Jack said, his voice filled with sincerity. "I've always loved you, and I regret the way things ended between us. I just wanted a chance to show you how I feel."

Sarah shook her head, feeling a mix of emotions. "Jack, this isn't okay. You can't just send me anonymous letters and expect me to forgive you for what happened between us. You can't force me to feel something I don't."

Jack took a step closer, his eyes pleading with hers. "I'm sorry, Sarah. I just wanted to try. I'll leave you alone now. But just know that I'll always love you."

As Jack walked away, Sarah felt a sense of relief mixed with sadness. She knew deep down that she could never be with someone who had such a dangerous obsession with her. She went back home, feeling grateful that she had uncovered the truth before things had gone too far. From that day on, Sarah kept a watchful eye on her surroundings, determined to never let herself be a victim again. Days went by, and Sarah tried to put the incident behind her. She went about her daily routine, but couldn't shake the feeling of being watched. She noticed a man following her on her way to work, and her heart raced with fear. She turned around, and to her surprise, it was Jack.

"Jack, what are you doing here?" Sarah asked, her voice shaking.

"I just wanted to see you, Sarah. I know I messed up, but I just can't help how I feel," Jack said, pleadingly.

"Jack, please leave me alone. You're scaring me," Sarah said, taking a step back.

"I'm sorry, Sarah. I just can't help myself. I'll leave you alone for now, but please know that I'll always love you," Jack said before turning and walking away.

Sarah went back home, feeling more scared and vulnerable than ever before. She couldn't believe that Jack was stalking her, and she didn't know what to do. She confided in a friend, who suggested that she get a restraining order. Sarah hesitated at first, not wanting to involve the authorities, but she knew it was necessary for her own safety.

A few weeks later, Sarah received another letter, this one different from the others. It was a note from Jack's therapist, informing her that Jack had been admitted to a psychiatric hospital and was receiving treatment for his mental illness. The letter also contained an apology from Jack, asking for Sarah's forgiveness and promising to never bother her again.

Sarah felt a mix of emotions. She was relieved that Jack was getting the help he needed, but also sad that things had turned out this way. She decided to write Jack a letter back, thanking him for his apology and wishing him well in his recovery.

Months went by, and Sarah slowly started to feel like herself again. She had moved on from the incident with Jack, and was even dating someone new. But she couldn't help but wonder what might have been if things had gone differently. She hoped that Jack was getting better and that he would find happiness and peace in his life. But most of all, she hoped that she would never have to go through something like that again.

Young AdultShort StorySeriesScriptSci FiSatireMysteryLoveHumorHorrorHistoricalFantasyFan FictionfamilyFableExcerptClassicalAdventure
Like

About the Creator

felix kioko kasinga

Felix Kioko is a Kenyan-born writer, currently living in Nairobi. As a student at Kenyatta University, my real passion lies in the realm of adventure fiction, where i explore thrilling worlds of mystery and excitement.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.