Fiction logo

The Season Of Rebirth

Not the end, but a new beginning.

By Jaye Ruggiero-CashPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
8
The Season Of Rebirth
Photo by Simona D'Auria on Unsplash

I sat at the window, watching the snow adorn the trees as it fell. The world was quiet and blanketed in white, all the color gone away. It looked like a blank canvas of sorts.

How fitting for this phase of my life, I thought.

People say winter is the season of death, and I’d experienced plenty of death. More than my fair share. Not just of people, but relationships too. It felt like everything in my life had been dying for the last few years.

But then a thought hit me: Was it really death? Or was it rebirth? I liked that idea a lot better.

I sat with this thought for a while as I sipped my tea, still admiring the snow and the quiet outside. I noticed I felt calm… calmer than I had in a long time. It made me realize, I forgot what calmness felt like. I wasn’t used to it after all the chaos. But even though it felt somewhat foreign, it felt right. And it felt good.

I felt at peace for the first time in years. All those things and people that weren’t good for me no longer weighed me down. I could breathe.

I sipped my tea again, and smiled softly as the snow continued to fall. It looked magical, and it made the world feel beautiful to me again.

From then on, I would always think of winter as the season of rebirth, not death.

Stream of ConsciousnessShort StoryMicrofiction
8

About the Creator

Jaye Ruggiero-Cash

Writer | Poet | Musician | Actor | Model

Lover of all things arts & humanities

Gluten-Free Foodie

"When we are shaped by the sounds and shades of truth, the colors never fade."

Join Vocal+ with my link

Follow Me!

Instagram

TikTok

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Caroline Jane2 months ago

    Love this. ❤️

  • Colt Henderson2 months ago

    Beautifully done

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    A lovely perspective 😊 I think of it as the time for hibernating, slowing down... in preparation for rebirth in spring 😁

  • Manisha Dhalani3 months ago

    This is really good, Jaye. I don't get winter where I am and yet I could imagine your point of view and perspective so well.

  • This was crazy good

  • Holly Pheni3 months ago

    Very poignant and fulfilling message! You've got a new subscriber here. Lovely.

  • Ashley Shiflett3 months ago

    This was great!! ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.