Fiction logo

The Search

By: Shane Blackheart

By Shane BlackheartPublished 3 years ago 4 min read

"Shane, you know you don't deserve a mate like that." I turn around to see my beta sitting on a couch with his mate, Cindy, leaning against him and laughing.

"So what? Your saying I deserve better?" I chuckle out at him.

A short but loud laugh sounds out of his mouth, "No, I mean she's too good for you. She deserves better than to have to deal with your arrogant ass." I start feeling her presence as she approaches from behind me.

"Levi I would watch your mouth before she hears it. She may just loosen another tooth or two." She walks in front of me, grabbing my right hand and wrapping herself in it. She then slightly leans against my chest with my right hand covering her stomach. She smiles as her angle-like voice starts to be released.

"So what am I not supposed to hear?" A smile creeps across my lips as I look at Levi.

"You might as well speak now. She already knows you let something fall out of that smart ass mouth of yours." She chuckles and nods in agreement.

Levi smiles at my mate, "Well, I was just telling your man here that you deserved better than to have to deal with his arrogant ass." I chuckle knowing that he doesn't know what I have gone through to get her into my life.

"Oh really? Then who do I deserve Levi? Someone like you?" She then takes a sip of a crystal clear liquid out of a cup in her hand. I look up to see a smirk across Levi's face.

"I don't know, we may just have to test that." Levi then grunts a bit as Cindy elbows him in his ribs, making me laugh almost immediately. I then take a sip out of Vannessa's cup. Straight vodka burns its way through my chest as I casually give her the cup back.

I then whisper into her ear, "That's my girl" which makes her grin out in satisfaction. I look at Levi to see him playfully glaring at Cindy. "Levi, this may be a party, but that doesn't mean you're going to get a chance with Vanessa." I move to sit on the couch across from Levi and Cindy. Vanessa then takes her place on my left knee.

"So. You two never did say how you found each other. You always say it's a long story." I then look at Vanessa with a smile as she does in return.

"So you want me to tell you now?" I raise an eyebrow at Levi.

"Yes, quite frankly I do. I would like to know why my asshole of an Alpha deserves such a stunning Luna." I start to smile as my thumb on my left hand rubs circles on Vanessa's hip.

"Levi. That better be a compliment. Otherwise, Vanessa won't be the one kicking your ass into the dirt in a few seconds." Levi's gaze then meets mine as my wolf comes forward, feeling his mate is being threatened.

He quickly realizes that the jokes are over, "Yes, of course. You know I wouldn't dream of taking her from you." A smirk makes its way across my lips as I pull my wolf back.

"Good. Now, you wanted to know how Vennessa and I found each other, right?" Levi's expression changes to a friendly smile.

"If you two don't mind sharing."

"Ok. Well, the first thing I'm going to tell you is why we say it's a long story." Levi and Cindy look at Vanessa and me with confused expressions.

"Shane, we thought y'all were joking about it being a long story." A smile then crosses my lips.

"Well, you're always telling me that I don't deserve a female like Vanessa. So tonight, I'm going to tell you not just how we met, but what I went through to get her."

Levi looks at his watch, "Alpha, maybe we should wait. At least until the ceremony is over." I think about his advice and nod as I pull Vanessa to lay against me.

"Ok, you two go enjoy yourselves. We will meet back at your house." As Levi and Cindy walk to the bar, Vanessa looks up at me from my chest.

"Are you sure you're ready to tell your story?"

"No, but they're our beta's. We can trust them." I then pull her hips to me and start to kiss her. Vanessa hums into the kiss and smiles. She then brings her right hand up and places it on the back of my neck as she kisses me back.

Hey Guys and Gals!!!

I've been writing this book for a while now but I'm still getting used to the present tense writing.

After figuring it out and actually trying it for myself, I can now say that I see why everyone uses past tense writing.

But, I'm not going to give up on it. I will continuously practice this writing style and I will master it.

Sincerely, DarkKnight512402

https://www.wattpad.com/story/218141754-the-search

Adventure

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Shane BlackheartWritten by Shane Blackheart

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.