Fiction logo

The Runaway Train From Hell

I Don't Know How I Got Here

By Carol TownendPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
7
The Runaway Train From Hell
Photo by Ankush Minda on Unsplash

"Am I awake?"

"Where am I?"

I'm sure that I never boarded this train, or did I?

No, honestly. I know that I fell asleep in my comfortable bed with my radio on last night.

I remember because my husband made me a warm cup of hot chocolate and placed a nice bunch of roses on my bedside table. I drank the hot chocolate and then fell into a peaceful deep sleep in the comfort of my own bed.

Am I sure...? I ask myself while rubbing my eyes. I am awake but still really tired, or at least I think I am.

"Don't move!"

A man standing at the conductor's seat shouts.

I look around myself, terrified and confused by my surroundings. I want to scream out loud.

I have no idea how I got here.

The man drags the conductor from his seat, and I stare in horror as I realize that he is dead. The man must have seen me as he comes over to me and starts asking questions.

"What is your name?" The man asks me.

"My name is Cleo. Why am I here? I ask.

The man gives me a dirty smirk.

"All will be revealed if you do as you are told," he tells me.

The train is just chugging, and it seems to be going nowhere. I have been sitting here for what feels like days? months? Years?

I have no idea how long I have been on this train. I have no recollection of time at all. Time feels like it is just slipping away.

I see a ticket inspector collecting tickets. The strange thing is he appeared out of nowhere. I didn't see him board the train!

I search my pockets frantically, realizing that I have no ticket.

It makes sense because I'm not supposed to be on this train; I am supposed to be asleep in my bed.

Maybe I am asleep and this is all one big nightmare.

The train doesn't stop, not even to pick up any other passengers. There is no light outside and we don't appear to be in any place at all.

No buildings, shops, or scenery; just a vast blackness.

The man at the front of the train drags another man from his seat. He held a gun to his head and asks

"Where are you going?"

The man replies

"Nowhere."

"Good call Douglas, and you better believe it." The evil man replies, then drops Douglas back in his chair.

I am aching to go home.

I actually wonder if I am still at home and if this is one bad nightmare. I think the man read my mind because he turns to look at me and gives me an evil grin that shows two gold teeth at the front of his mouth. He shakes his head before saying,

"Nope, you can dream darling!"

The train just chugs along. Three more men storm the train, however, they don't come through the door. They appear to come through the walls.

"Are you all ghosts?" I dare ask out loud, though I know I shouldn't ask at all.

A loud snigger erupts from one of the three men.

"Do you hear that Carl? She thinks we're all ghosts!"

I ignore the snigger, and I ask

"Is this the train to hell?"

Just as I ask that question, the train suddenly speeds up. I look out of the dark window, expecting not to see anything. I gasp in horror as a fire tunnel opens up in front of the train. The train suddenly speeds up to full speed.

"JUST STOP!!" I scream, but it is no use.

Laughter erupts all around me, and dozens of blurred bodies of people zoom past me. My life flashes before my eyes.

I see my Aunt Rosa, my mum, my dad, Uncle James, my brother Jorden, and my dog.

Suddenly we go through that tunnel of fire.

Once we are through the tunnel, the fire stops. I am surrounded by vampires, fire demons, zombies and other monsters.

I am on the runaway train from hell.

I still don't know whether I am awake or asleep.

The ticket inspector I saw earlier heads my way, though he is not alone. He is with a vampire.

"Can I see your ticket?" he asks.

"I don't have one!" I reply.

"Look, girl! Nobody gets home without a ticket. You will remain here in hell with the demons if you don't have one." The inspector tells me.

The inspector disappears into a cloud of dust. The vampire takes a seat beside me.

"I need your ticket or your blood girl!" The vampire tells me.

I sit quietly.

I know what vampires do, and I'm terrified. However, I do not have a ticket though this ugly mutt is not getting my blood.

"What century is this?" I ask

"It's the 18th century, human!" the vampire replies.

I am confused.

"I know I am from the 21st century, and today's date is the 26th July 2022." I bravely tell the vampire.

The vampire laughs at me.

He proceeds to tell me my clothes are weird and that my hair is ridiculous. He then leans over to sniff at me, and the next thing I feel is two pins piercing my neck. I must have fallen asleep at this point because when I awake I am ravenous for blood.

I feel like a vampire.

I try to gauge my reflection in the mirror, but to my horror there is none.

Wake me up from this nightmare

There are three vampires and two demons sitting with me now.

"I just want to go home!" I say.

The demons laugh loud and they say to me,

"You are home."

I guess I'm no longer asleep. I am awake and the spell has been cast.

I am doomed to spend the rest of eternity on this runaway train from hell forever.

Sci Fi
7

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Kendall Defoe 2 years ago

    All about the vampires, isn't it? Still, I quite like this...and iwould ignore the tale of Dr. Price/Prince/The Artist Formerly Known As... in that other comment! 😬

  • Wow this was phenomenal! Such a gripping story and very suspenseful. Loved the ending!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.