Fiction logo

The Runaway Train

traveling story

By Adriane KirbyPublished 2 years ago 14 min read
Like
The Runaway Train
Photo by Brian Suman on Unsplash

Hello, my name is Dakota. I am so confused! I am hoping you can help me figure out what is going on. It started out being a normal day for me . I got up, went to work, had dinner with my girlfriend Destiny. And then I kicked back and settled down on my couch to enjoy the rest of the evening. Watching my favorite program on TV and I guess I fell asleep. That is when things got weird, and actually weird is not the word for it. Somehow I woke up on this train. I have no idea how I got here or where I am going. I don't even know how long I have been on this train. To make matters worse it seems every time I wake up there are different people on the train, and that is when I am lucky. There have been times I have woken up and I am all by myself on this train. I can not see anyone but I can here foot steps and dishes clattering in the back, but I can not find anyone else on here. So whenever I wake up I am waking up to a completely different situation or I am completely alone.

Sounds weird doesn't it. How would you feel? Frankly I am scared to death. I don't have any bags with me , I can't find my ticket and I have no recollection of even getting on this train. And yet right now here I sit on the train by myself. I can here people walking around, sometimes I think I hear voices but I can't see anybody. And the train just keeps going, I have no idea when or where it is going to stop. Some of you may not believe me, or you guys may think I have lost my mind. But I am telling you I am thinking I may be stuck on this train. I am not sure what to do. Is there anyway you can help me? I am going to start by telling you what happen the first time I woke up and found myself on this train.

As I told you before I feel asleep watching television on my couch. I woke up and here I was on this train. I looked out the window and noticed that I was traveling on the train through what looked like a prairie. Outside the window I noticed a man on a horse wearing a mix of wool pants and a military uniform that looked like it came from the civil war era. He looked like he was on a mission. Riding his horse as fast as he could across the country side. I looked around the train and at my surroundings and I noticed a man sitting across from me. He was wearing matching waistcoat and trousers. He had noticeable side burns and a mustache. I looked at him up and down and remember thinking that he looked like someone from the 1800's. I still could not believe that I was on the train. " Who are you and what am I doing here", I asked him. "My name is Coy", he replied. " And I would not have any idea what you are doing here", he said. "Then what are you doing here" I asked him. Coy sat there studying me. He looked me up and down. His brown eyes gave me a cold stare that seemed to go straight through my soul. He had a stern look on his face and did not appear to be in the mood to be friendly. " You sure do ask a lot of questions", Coy snapped. " For your information I am traveling west which is where I am planning to settle." "What are you doing on this train, he asked? " I don't have any idea why I am on this train." I replied. Coy laughed out loud. "You must of had to much to drink and then decided to go on a trip." I was annoyed at the assumption. " Look the last thing I remember I was watching TV on my couch," I snapped.

At that moment a pretty women came and sat by Coy. She had amazing blue eyes just like my girlfriend Destiny and she looked a lot like her with the same blond hair. She seemed happy and was wearing a great big smile as she sat down. " Who is this she asked,"? "I am Dakota," I replied. Who are you and what are you doing," I asked her. She laughed " My name is Dolly, I am traveling with my husband." " Where is this train going I asked her, I need to get off." We are traveling west," Dolly replied to me with a curious smile on her face. " Are you going to settle there," she asked. "NO! I am not going to settle there," I snapped at her. I am not suppose to be here. I need to get back to where I was,". Dolly's eyes widen in surprise at my reply. She turned to Coy, " Wow what is his problem," She asked. Coy laughed some more " Me thinks he has had to many sips of that whiskey", he replied to her. I grew angry at his laughing. " Stop laughing", I snapped. I need off this train right now. I told you I am not suppose to be here. I need off now." " Calm down boy!". Coy replied. "You get off now and you will be in the middle of Indian territory,". " I am sure they would like a fine scalp like yours," Coy said as he smiled at me. I sat back down and felt so tired. I watched Coy and Dolly talk and laugh with each other as we sat on the moving train that seemed to have no plans of stopping any time soon.

So now I am here all alone again. I just woke up from what seemed like a bad dream. But it is not a dream because I am still on this train that is speeding as fast as it can down the tracks. I can here people talking, their voices are like whispers and I can hear foot steps. But I can not see a single person on this train. I can't figure out if I am here all alone or if there are people on here with me. I really want to go back home and see my girlfriend Destiny. I miss her so much. Her eyes are as blue as the sky and her hair is a wavy as the sea. I can't spend much more time on this train. It seems like I have been riding this train for days now. There has to be a way off. Isn't there anyone on here that can help me. I can hear you but I can't see you. If anyone is on this train please come talk to me . I need to get off.

I find it very strange that I am waking up to the song Jailhouse Rock. I don't remember setting my alarm to that. I just sat up and I am coming to terms, with the fact that I am still on this train. It is still speeding down the track and we just went through a city with sky scrappers and highways. I have listened to the song Jailhouse Rock that is now playing on the train about 3 times already and it is starting to get on my nerves. I don't have any idea where I am going. "Hello". I here someone say. Before me stands a women wearing a dress with a big skirt. She has red lipstick and cat-eyed sunglasses. She has amazing blue eyes and blond hair just like my girlfriend Destiny. " Who are you and what are you doing I ask her,". She replies" Well my name is Blanche, and apparently I am going on a trip." " How do I get off this train". I ask " The same way we all get off the train," she laughed. I am getting mad at her laughing" Stop laughing and tell me where this train is going", I snap at her. " You don't have to be rude," Blanche replied. " I am going to Delaware," she said. " Where in the hell am I going," I asked her. Blanch sat down beside me and said " You are going where your ticket says you are going." " What does your ticket say?", Blanche asked. " I don't have a ticket", I told her. " Then what are you doing on the train", she asked me . I shouted to her " That is what I am trying to find out!" " Can you help or not"? " I don't understand why you are dressed like that", I said. You look like a 1950's want to be.

Blanche sat across from me staring at me for the last couple of minutes. " Well look at you, you appear to have lost your mind", she replied." What do you mean I look like a 1950's want to be?", she asked. " I mean you are dressed like it is the year 1950," I replied to her. Blanche laughed " That is because it is the year 1956, how else am I suppose to dress?" " That is impossible", I shouted to her. " Well dear, what year do you think you are in?" Blanche asked. " I am from the year 2022 that is where I am suppose to be.", I said. Blanche stood up and laughing really hard and replied" So you are from the future, you think you are on some kind of time traveling train. That is so funny." Stop laughing at me, I am telling you the truth, I said. I feel asleep on my couch in the year 2022 and somehow I woke up on this train and I don't know how to get off. Can't you understand what I am saying. How am going to get off this train?', I asked her. " When it stops I don't see why you can't get off.," Blanche replied " But I am sure you will still be in the year 1956, there is no getting around that" Blanche said in a matter of fact way. " No!", I shouted. "I have to get back where I belong.", I exclaimed. Blanche stared at me in amazement. Her beauty was unspeakable she looked exactly like my Destiny with her long flowing blond hair. She sat down slowly and said " Look let's say I believe you, what then?", she asked. " Then you will be able to get me off this train and help get me back to where I belong," I said. "I have been marching for Civil Rights across the country. You can get off the train with me. But I don't know how I would get you back to the year 2022. However anything is possible.", Blanche said. Blanche talked to me about her marches for civil rights and I talked to her about what the world is like in 2022 for what seemed like hours on this forever moving train. I found myself frustrated and annoyed at the fact she did not seem able to come up with a solution for getting me back home.

I am just waking back up and I believe something has happened again. There is no sign of Blanche anywhere on the train. And looking outside the window I am seeing a strange world. For one thing, there are no roads. The cars that pass me by seems to be flying instead of driving. And it seems this train is actually being driven by itself. Looking outside my window everything looks so strange. Instead of walking ,people seem to be flying through the air. The buildings are in shapes I have never seen before and seem to be made of a materials I do not recognize. Nothing seems to be attached to the ground but the buildings are hoovering about it. There doesn't seem like there is a lot of gravity or sun. The sky is gray and you can feel the wind shake the train. And you know something this is the fastest train I have ever been on. I am certain it will not be stopping any time soon. I want to go back home, there has to be someone on here that can help me. All of a sudden I see a women come towards me. She is not walking, she appears to be flying in the train. " What is going on"? I asked her. She looked at me perplexed and said, " I am going to sit down, what is going on with you"? " I am never going to get off this train", I said. "It can seem like that. I am sure you will get where you are going shortly," she said. " But I don't know where I am going, I don't belong on this train," I said. " Then why are you on here?", she asked. She got up and moved towards my seat. She was really beautiful and looked a lot like my Destiny. She sat down and looked at me with her bright blue eyes. " Why are you not walking?". I asked. " People have not walked in 200 years. What are you talking about?", she asked. " What year am I in?", I asked her. She looked at me like I was crazy and replied. " We are all in the year 3022." " What is your name?", I asked her. " My name is Astra.", she replied. " I don't belong here, get me back where I am suppose to be.", I demanded. I looked out my window and noticed a world I did not recognize. There was no trees or grass. There was barely any sunlight and the wind howled louder than the train. Dust blew all over everything and at times it is hard to breath. " What are you talking about"?, Astra asked. " I am from the year 2022.". I told her. " Cool!" You are like some type of time traveling dude. How do you do it," she asked. " I don't know how I do it. I feel asleep and woke up on this train. I want to get off but I don't know how." I told her. " Gnarly!, Astra said with great enthusiasm.

Astra had more energy than anyone I had been around in a long time. Being around her was like being around a young child. And she was extremely beautiful her eyes, as blue as the sea. And her haired glowed in the darkness. And she had no solution to my problem. " So what are you going to do now?", she asked. " I want to go back home." I said. " Well maybe you should just click your heels 3 times, there is a story like that you know.", Astra said with a smile. " You are absolutely no help.", I told her. "Welcome to the future, nobody has helped any body for centuries. But good luck to you and best wishes with all that traveling.", Astra said. Astra moved around all over the train with great speed and with no purpose. She actually spent an incredible amount of time doing much of nothing. I grew so tired just watching her.

So it has happened again. I just woke up and found myself on this train. I am all by myself. The train seems to be moving faster all of the time. I don't know where I am going to wind up next. This is completely terrifying. I have no idea how to stop this train or get off the train and go back home. I miss my home and my normal life. I think at times I here people walking and talking but I can not see them. I wonder if they can see me or if they can here me. There has got to be someone that is able to help. I can't be stuck on this train forever. Is there anyone that can help. Where am I even going. I am stuck on this train wondering if anyone can hear me. I want my life back. I am desperate for help. I am desperate for anyone's help.

Adventure
Like

About the Creator

Adriane Kirby

Living the dream here in Texas.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.