Fiction logo

The Robbery

The night that changed my life

By Thambisa SitholePublished 10 months ago 3 min read
Like

THE ROBBERY

It was Monday morning at school when I was called to the principal's office to receive the worst news of my life, news that changed my life completely, I went to the principal's office and when I got there were two cops male and a female they came to tell me that my parents had a car accident on their way to work and they died on the spot, at first I didn't believe it but when they showed me their bodies at the mortuary I broke down in tears I felt like I got hit by a truck. After the funeral that's when life became difficult and unbearable, my parents had money and we lived a luxurious life I never lacked anything but when they died it was like they died with their money. They didn't have a will and they had lots of debts, Due to that the banks that they owned took the house and the cars even their accounts were blocked, It was a very hard time for me I had to move to my uncle's house in the township, but no one lived there my uncle died two years before my parents' accident.

I had no choice but to drop out of school and look for a job so that I could feed myself. Finding a job was very challenging because I didn't have any qualifications, I was doing my first year in college when my parents died, and all I had was a matric certificate which was not enough to get a well-paying job. I searched for a month and a half but luckily, I got a job at a retail store downtown. The money wasn't enough but at least I can be able to feed myself.

The store was a very good store a lot of people loved it, people like their clothes and buy for themselves and their families. So the job I got was a cashier job and I can tell you that the store made a lot of money every single week. I've worked there for two months with no issues but then a robbery took place at the store three people came in although they hid their faces I could tell that they were two males and one female because of their voices and they were carrying big guns I'm talking about AK-47's they shot the guard who was standing at the door and made everyone sleep at the floor with their faces facing down except for me I was told to put the money in the big plastic bag I was so scared I was even shaking.

While I was putting the money in the plastic bag one of the customers was busy talking to the police and they didn't even notice it, but I did, and I didn't say anything because if I had told them they would have killed the customer, so I kept quiet and continue with putting the money in the bag. When they were about to leave the store, they came face to face with the cops, there were cops everywhere surrounding the building they tried to run but unfortunately, the two men got shot by the cops and died on the spot. The female caught two bullets and was found dead on the road a very long distance from the shop. The mysterious thing was the money wasn't found with any of the robbers in fact it was not found they kept looking for it but no luck. So back at the store, the cops interviewed everyone.

To be continued.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.