Fiction logo

The Ritual in the Woods

Magic Unleashed

By Silver Published 7 months ago 5 min read
2
The Ritual in the Woods
Photo by Sierra Koder on Unsplash

"In the shadowed woods beneath the pale moon's eerie light, 'Hear me, ye spirits of the night, gather 'round, for the time is right!'"

The chant echoed through the dense forest, its words laden with ancient power and a sinister promise. I had stumbled upon a hidden clearing where a witches' coven had gathered, cloaked in hooded robes, their faces concealed by darkness. They stood in a circle, surrounded by flickering candles with an otherworldly glow.

I had been brought here by a recurring dream that I had been having for weeks. I recognised this location as I often passed it walking my dog and felt it's mystical atmosphere. I considered avoiding it, but there was a nagging feeling and curiosity got the better of me.

My heart raced, and I instinctively hid behind a gnarled tree, trembling in fear as I observed the ritual unfold. The air grew heavy with foreboding, and a chill ran down my spine as the witches chanted in unison.

"By the magic that binds us tight, weave your darkness through this night. Envelop us in power and might, let our spirits take their flight!"

With each verse, the woods seemed to close in around me. The trees rustled, their branches forming grotesque shapes, and the moonlight grew cold and uninviting. It was as if the very elements of nature were under the witches' control.

As the incantation reached its crescendo, the witches extended their arms towards the sky, and a crackle of thunder and lightning erupted overhead, filling the clearing with an eerie, unearthly glow. The ground beneath their feet quaked, and the shadows danced with malevolent glee.

I watched in terror as the coven's leader, a haggard and ancient woman, raised a gnarled staff adorned with bones and feathers. She chanted a final verse, and with a flourish of her staff, the sky split open, revealing a portal to an otherworldly dimension. From the rift, ghastly apparitions emerged, their ghoul-like visages sending shivers down my spine.

The witches cackled with delight as they communed with the spirits, their sinister laughter echoing through the cursed woods. I knew I needed to escape this place, but fear had me rooted in place, unable to look away from the otherworldly horrors before me, and I still didn't know why I had been dreaming of this place.

It was then I felt witches' gaze had settled upon me, followed by a bone-chilling hand grip my shoulder. Whipping around, I came face to face with the ghastly leader of the coven. Her eyes, hollow and brimming with malevolence, bore into my soul.

"You're finally here sister," she said, her voice a haunting whisper. With a flick of her staff, I felt an invisible force lifting me off my feet, pulling me towards the maw of the otherworldly portal.

In that moment, I could only scream in terror as the darkness enveloped me, and the coven's cackles faded into the distance, leaving nothing but an ominous silence in its wake as I was sucked into the portal. As the darkness closed in around me, I felt an overwhelming sense of despair and helplessness. My voice, my very essence, seemed to dissipate into the void, leaving me with a deep emptiness.

Just when I thought I had succumbed to the abyss, a peculiar sensation overcame me. It was as if a dormant power, hidden deep within my core, had awakened. A warm, radiant energy surged through my body, pushing against the invisible force that sought to drag me into the portal.

With newfound determination, I focused my thoughts, desperately trying to push back against the inexorable pull. I whispered the words of the witches' spell that I had overheard, as though the incantation was imprinted in my mind. "By the magic that binds us tight..."

To my astonishment, the energy within me responded, and a burst of magical energy exploded from my outstretched hands. The force holding me captive faltered, and I was propelled away from the portal, crashing to the forest floor with a heavy thud.

I lay there, gasping for breath, disoriented and bewildered by what had just occurred. The coven's activities had awakened something within me, something that was undeniably magical. I was no longer just a bystander; I was now a part of this supernatural world and I was beginning to understand that fate may have led me to this coven today.

Shakily, I climbed to my feet, my eyes fixed on the witches who were now approaching me, their expressions a mixture of shock and curiosity. The coven's leader, her authority shaken by my unexpected magic, regarded me with a hint of apprehension.

"What manner of sorcery is this?" she muttered, eyeing me suspiciously.

The woods responded to me, like an old friend, the air crackling with energy as I channeled the magic within me. A swirling vortex of light formed above my head, and I felt a surge of power coursing through my veins.

The coven's leader, recognizing the energy at that moment, stepped back in awe. The other witches followed suit, their respect now tinged with a touch of fear. I had transformed into powerful witch in my own right and something they answered to.

I looked up at the portal and felt a need inside me to shut it. My new power whispered instructions as I extended my hand, and tendrils of energy reached out, closing the portal, which had been left unstable by the coven's meddling. I closed it, severing the connection between the two worlds and banishing the eerie apparitions back to the abyss.

The coven, now in disarray, stared at me whispering 'sorceress supreme'. I gazed at the moon, its pale light seemed to whisper secrets of my newfound destiny, and the coven leader looked furious as she approached me and bowed. She lifted her head and said: "you're the new coven leader". She handed me her staff and kept her head bowed as I stood there dumbfounded and wondering what the hell I was going to d0!

Fantasy
2

About the Creator

Silver

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Silver is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.