Fiction logo

The Rescue

He was my last job. But little did I know, he was to be my biggest mistake.

By JanePublished 2 years ago 9 min read
Runner-Up in New Worlds Challenge
4
The Rescue
Photo by Josh Kahen on Unsplash

Nobody can hear a scream in the vacuum of space, or so they say<

>Thank god. I can't help but think you screamed like a baby when your ship crashed.

Rude. But not far from the truth<

I smile as his chat responses light up the screen casting a green glow over me. The vibration of the communicator I was clutching had become a comforting feeling this past week.

My fingers move swiftly across the keyboard as I type out my response, now a well practiced movement.

>I knew it. Are you gonna cry when I finally get to you?

I might do. You're my saviour, after all.<

My angel. You may work for the recue services, but to me you're straight from heaven<

As I read his response I could hear his voice, even though I had never heard it. It sounded soft. Welcoming. Warming.

>I think I just died of cringe.

Don't pretend I'm not your favourite...wait, what do you call us? Rescuees? Stranded ones? Incompetent idiots?<

>The last one has a great ring to it.

I'll ignore that<

But I bet you have never had as much fun talking to someone you're rescuing<

I also bet you're smiling right now<

I absentmindedly chewed the side of my cheek as the words filled my thoughts.

Am I wrong?<

>No. You're not wrong.

I tore my eyes away from the glow of the communicator and looked up to the planet I was approaching.

The red glow was mesmerizingly beautiful on the backdrop of the stars. But I knew not to be seduced.

Each planet I had ever visited had a secret. Something nasty hiding in the dark, waiting for next unsuspecting human to crash land, or perhaps some naïve explorer hoping to find an amazing discovery.

Usually their bodies were never recovered.

So, are you here yet? Sort of running out of emergency supplies...and I love my food, so...<

>Nope, still about an ten minutes away.

I swear you said that an hour ago. I'm gonna complain to your boss<

My fingers grip the plastic as I consider my reply, while resting my booted feet up on the control panel.

>Good things come to those who wait

Guess what? I'm impatient<

Actually, you know what I really need when I get off this planet?<

>Do tell me

A long, hot bath ...wine ..candles<

>That sounds like a date?

You like dates in the bath? Lemme note that down real quick<

My mouth twitches into a smile.

>Not usually for a first date

I paused, my fingers hesitating over the keyboard for just a moment.

>But I could make an exception

Hey I meant to ask...<

Can't your bosses see this chat?<

I frowned.

>Yes, technically. But that's okay.

Oh?<

>I'm thinking you'll be my last rescue mission anyway

The plot thickens<

I shuffled in my seat, the air around me suddenly feeling a little more suffocating than usual.

Has it been so bad talking to me you just thought , hey, screw this job, never again<

I let out a small sigh, my fingers tensing.

>I've been thinking about it for a long time. The whole lone ranger rescuer life isn't for me anymore.

I get ya. Say no more<

The next few minutes seemed to pass at an unbearably slow pace. Minute by minute. Second by second.

My eyes scanned the red planet I was now creeping towards, and had been for the past few days.

I thought about him. Stranded. Sat amongst the wreck of his utility ship. Stuffing the last of the emergency rations in his mouth.

I couldn't help but imagine him smiling as I approached. His rescuer.

Waving me over, his smile turning into a playful grin.

All those chats we had making it seem like we already knew each other.

I felt close to him. This stranger. This man.

I felt a pull. A desperate pull towards him.

I hoped he felt the same way too.

Landing sequence commencing.

The ships A.I startled me out of my thoughts. My hands grabbed for the communicator, adrenaline rushing through my body.

>Joe, are you still at the same co-ordinates?

Yup. I don't fancy exploring this hellhole of a planet<

>Good. I'm landing. Get your things together. I'm getting you out of there.

I place the communicator down in its holder, for what I hope is the very the last time for a long, long while.

I move quickly to the landing seat and buckle myself in. Without thinking, I squeeze my eyes shut almost like a reflex as soon as I hear the last buckle click into place.

I braced myself the best I could for the rapid decline of landing. I could never quite get used to that drop in my stomach, even after years of rescuing those in need.

My fingers gripped into the seat, nails scratching the fabric, knuckles turning white.

The sudden, startling jolt came then as my small ship landed.

The sudden stillness unnerved me. I always missed the slow rumbling of the ship when it stopped. The heartbeat was gone.

I shook off the feeling. I had a task at hand. A face I wanted to see in person. A stranger I so desperately wanted to meet.

I unbuckled myself and stood up to gather my worn out equipment. The company didn't provide the very best but it was useable all the same.

Pulling my suit on, I quickly zipped every zip and clasped every clasp. I wondered how many times I'd done this. Prepared.

Why did this time feel so different?

I carefully pulled the oxygen breather over my mouth, fixing it firmly to the back of my head. I grabbed the communicator eagerly, placing into carefully into my suit pocket.

Standing at the exit port, I took a second to settle my thoughts. My chest took in the cool oxygen from the mask, adjusting to the feel of it entering my lungs.

My fingers then twitched a little as I pressed a code into the door lock. It was a sequence ingrained into my memory. I couldn't wait to forget it.

The metallic door slid open with a loud creak, exposing a small chamber. I stepped inside carefully, closing my eyes quickly as the ship's A.I prepared my fragile human body for exit onto the planet.

I always hated the noise it made, scanning and beeping and intruding for just a little too long to be anything but uncomfortable.

Finally done, the exit port door made the click sound I knew all too well.

I clutched the metal of the door with gloved hands, forcing a bar upwards with a satisfying clunk.

My fingers gripped the lever. The last step. I cautiously pushed open the door.

Acheron. So called because of the many thousands of intertwining and glistening lakes that were embedded in the planet like veins. No-one really knew what lived in these lakes. Perhaps no-one cared to find out.

As long as I stayed on the red, flowing sand I was likely to be okay. Likely, I reminded myself cheerfully.

I looked down then and double-checked I had brought my stun gun. It was a comforting feeling when my fingers brushed against it on my belt.

My eyes looked to the beacon, the piercing red light violently flashing against the backdrop of stars. Taking a deep breath, I began my careful journey towards it, my fingers gripping the stun gun ever tighter as I navigated over the fine, red sand.

My feet gave way a few times, jolting me to attention and sending my heart racing each time.

It was eerily quiet.

I finally reached the beacon just as the wind beginning to pick up. I really was not prepared for a sand storm.

I hastily pulled my communicator out of its holder, my now slightly shaking fingers prodding ungracefully at the screen.

>Where are you? I'm here?

An almost instant reply appeared on the screen.

I'm at the beacon!<

My heart quickened, looking around but seeing nothing in the vast desert. No wreckage. No bodies. Nothing but red.

It was then that I noticed a small black box, nestled in the sand. It looked out of place. It looked inviting. I didn't trust it, naturally. But what else was I to do?

Placing the communicator back in the holder, I cautiously made my way toward the box.

I stood near it for a few moments, then carefully knelt down. My fingers brushed against metal, cool to the touch even through my gloves.

The lid of the box sprang to life, opening in one smooth action.

I peered in. It looked like the inside of a computer. Various wires intertwined together, snaking around various flashing lights and components.

I instantly recognise something. It's a communicator chip. The type used in my own communicator.

I press one of the flashing buttons, a feeling of panic starting to overwhelm me.

A small screen silently slid open up above the buttons. I looked back at my reflection in it, the black onyx glass distorting my face.

I watched on, my breath hitching in my throat, as words began to appear on the dark screen. I look to the buttons but there's not even a keyboard attached.

Are you coming to get me or not?<

I'm starting to worry<

Hello?<

My communicator vibrates angrily with each line that is typed. I pull it out of the holder and look. He is messaging me. The exact same messages...

Then, when it's quite too late, I understand.

It's an A.I. It's not real. He's not real.

My hands frantically reach for my stun gun, fear taking over my body.

It was then I felt a sickly warm breath on the back of my neck.

Whispered words slithered directly into my ear.

"Looking for someone?"

Before I could turn around, I felt my legs buckle beneath me. A blinding pain danced around my head. I fell into the red sand.

A shadow draped over me. I reached out my hand, desperate now, but it was no use.

Darkness closed in and claimed me.

End of Chapter 1.

Sci Fi
4

About the Creator

Jane

I spend 99% of my time day-dreaming about fantasy worlds.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Kat Thorne2 years ago

    Great story, really interesting!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.