Fiction logo

The Reign Of Moira Fenriz

Chapter One

By Talisha HuntPublished 2 years ago 12 min read
Like

Chapter One

Void was the first thing that came to mind as I began regaining consciousness. An empty bottomless pit of darkness surrounding my senses. I felt as though I was an astronaut drifting silently through the cold emptiness of space.

Voices began drifting through me like a soft fog enclosing my mind. Sending hushed murmurs into the void as if they were searching for a purpose.

I felt a tingle in my fingertips followed by a slight twitch of my wrist. Light piercing my eyelids causing them to flutter slightly as I started waking up and reclaiming movement in my limbs.

My eyes opened, adjusting to the warm glow of the cabin I was in. It was small, compact and made of a dark oak wood. Across from the cot I was in was a fireplace. Burning brightly, enveloping me in a bubble of comforting warmth.

A small plain wooden bedside table next to my head. A candle, a pearly, white, long feather, and a thick hard-covered book were all sat upon it. Not far from the end of the bed was a square table with only enough space to fit four.

Alongside that was a thick sturdy door. The only area left was to the right. A corner between the fire place and door was a petite, crammed kitchen.

In that small area stood a young boy, his clothes loose fitting and slightly torn. His fluffy hair the same dark chestnut as the plump woman who stood beside him with an apron wrapped around her dress as she washed dishes.

They spoke in obscured whispers with their back to me. Only a few words reaching my ringing ears. Guards... royal... palace

Despite the headache and continuous pitch that rang out through my eardrums, I pushed back the thin sheet covering me, sat up, and reached out to the book that sat on the bed side table, my fingers grasped the spine pulling it back towards me.

I winced and jumped to my feet as the sound of the candle hitting the wooden floor vibrated through the cabin.

Both heads turned towards me, pairs of amber eyes widened to the size of golf balls, staring at me as I stood there, slightly swaying, with a book clutched in my hands ready to be swung in defence.

"Where am I?" I questioned, my voice coming out shaky instead of stern.

"I'm Dariya" the women said with a steady hand stretched towards me whilst she pushed the boy behind her with the other.

'This is my son Mathias. We have no intentions of harming you. How about you put the book down and take a seat at the table with us so I may explain?" Her arm spreading wide to motion at the table while keeping her protective stance in front of her son.

I slowly lowered the book keeping a tight grasp on it and slowly shuffled to the nearest seat at the table. Dariya took the seat to my right, Mathias in front of me.

"What's your name sweetheart?" Dariya asked with a warm smile on her face.

"Moira, my names Moira Fenriz" i spoke with fake confidence, the name came to the front of my mind like a whisper, the rest was blank. I tried pulling forward memories to figure out where I was from and how I got here, but nothing it was like fishing in an empty sea.

"Do you know where you're from Moira?" Her head tilting slight trying to catch my eyes.

"I don't remember" I said my lower lip trembling and my breath shortening, coming out in small gasps.

Why can't I remember anything? I don't know who I am or where I'm from. How did I even get here and what am I doing here?

"How did I get here?" I asked, my eyes slightly widened at the alarming thought of having no memory but my name.

"We found you just outside of the forest behind our home. You were in nothing but that shredded little dress you have on now. The only belongings you had was that long white feather clutched tightly in your hand." She said as her face pulled into a slight grimace pointing to the feather on the bedside table.

I glanced down to see I was indeed wearing a short, dirty, torn up dress that looked more like a rag or possibly a pillow case. Mud was smudged up and down my legs as though I had engaged in a mud fight.

"Would you like something to eat? Some bread maybe?" Dariya questioned softly making a move towards the kitchen.

"No thank you" Not only did I feel no hunger, I had the feeling they were scarce on necessities.

I played with my fingers on top of the table, shifting nervously as I repeated myself.

"Thank you" I emphasised locking eyes with her "for helping me and letting me stay in your home"

"Honestly it's no problem at all" she insisted placing a hand on Mathias's shoulder giving a squeeze "we don't get much visitors so it's nice to have some change"

I gave a small smile before looking down again. The ringing in my ears had disappeared and my headache had lessened.

"Mathias could you please get some wood from outside? The fires running low" she patted his shoulder before walking towards the glowing fire.

Mathias cracked the door open, leaving just enough space for him to slip through. The white light peeking through burning my eyes. I hadn't even thought to ask what time it was, I had just assumed it was night. A gust of icy cold wind sweep through, as he pulled the door shut behind him, sending shivers up my spine, goose bumps rising on my skin.

What sounded like thunder rumbled through the cabin walls followed by shouts from somewhere outside. Mathias rushed back inside.

"Mother they're here" he announced puffing slightly. His nose tint red from the cold, his cheeks flushed.

"Here sit down with Moira" she rushed over pushing him down into the seat "it will be fine"

"What's going on?" I demanded sensing their negative emotions towards whatever was out there. My left palm pressed firmly against the table, ready to push myself out of my seat at the first sight of danger, my right hand still clutched the book.

Three loud bangs sounded against the door followed by yells to open up the door. Dariya dusted off her apron and stepped forward to open the door. Planting a wide smile on her face.

The door swung open to reveal two men dressed in black armour, dark swords attached at their hips, their hands resting on the hilts. Masks that resembled fencing masks covered their faces revealing nothing of what they looked like.

"Good morning gentlemen. What can I help you with?" Dariya asked maintaining her cheerful facade.

"Just going around for our weekly check-ups miss" the first one spoke in a low wispy voice "the other commoners sent us here. They say you've got a castaway hiding out?"

If I hadn't heard his voice my first thought would have been wondering if they could have been statues. They both stood there straight like an arrow without as much as a sway in the wind.

"No, you don't understand, she's just a young girl who ran away from home and got lost in the woods" she gave them a reassuring smile as she spoke "I'm just letting her stay till she gets back up on her feet"

"Ma'am you do understand the consequences of lying to him?" She shrunk back sending a hesitant glance towards Mathias and i.

"Is this her?" They asked, without an answer they marched in to stand before me.

I rose to a stand keeping hold of the book.

"What's your name girl?" The second one asked

Their voices caused the hairs on my arm to stand up. From the on edge air surrounding this situation I decided that there is a chance it was safer to give them a false name.

"Kathrine" I lied. I felt Dariya's stare on me as I maintained eye contact with the guys mask in front of me, standing my ground.

"Kathrine, as you are a potential castaway you are being taken to the court to be questioned. Refuse and you will be apprehended with any method we see fit. Do you understand?" The first one sternly questioned. Which sounded more like a statement than an actual question.

"I'm not going with you. You have no right!" I explained stepping backwards

They must have been ready for an attempt to escape as they lurched forwards the second i moved. Grabbing at my wrists they tied them together with a silver rope, which seemed to tighten and knot itself, while I tried pulling and thrashing away from their grasps.

They grabbed hold of the end of the rope dragging me along behind them as they walked towards the entrance. My eyes shot to Dariya's to plead for help. She stood behind her son, both arms over his shoulders holding him against her own body.

Her feared expression was enough to not have me seeking more help from her. I allowed the two men to pull me out of the cabin towards a set of horses.

Scattered around Dariya's cabin were various others. Everyone stayed inside their home peeking through windows. My feet and hands began to grow numb from the cold air that encased me as soon as I had stepped out of the cabin.

One of the men hoped onto the chestnut horse and pulled a blanket from a satchel attached to his saddle. He chucked it towards the other man and I, in one hand he caught the blanket while the other stayed firmly wrapped around my rope. The blanket was laid out around my shoulders in an effort to keep the cold from nipping at my exposed flesh.

"Where are we going?" I enquired as he too began to mount his tall white horse. I was facing the horses when he grabbed hold of the rope binding my wrists and somehow pulled me up onto the horse, seated in front of him.

"Ascela" he said before we began a steady canter off into the woods.

Hours had passed and a dull ache was throbbing through my body. Hours had passed since we left. Despite having woken not too long ago I was fighting the urge to rest my head back and drift off.

Finally a path of stone led us towards large city gates. Two more guards stood at the posts, They opened it for us nodding as we trotted past. The path turned into a bridge crossing over swirling dark water. It was a moat. The water surrounded a small island hold a city. A tall castle stood towering over the city.

People stared as we rode through. Glancing me up and down, taking all my features to memory as if they would need it later. W​e kept on the same path, taking us right up to the palace steps.

A​t the top of the stairs stood a tall, sharp, pale guy. Hair so dark shadows seemed to curl off it around his pointed ears. In fact everyone here had shape pointed ears. More guards surrounded him. At the foot of the steps where we hopped off the horses was a man. His robes were lined with gold, from top to bottom. His scruffy red beard covering the top of his outfit.

H​e extended his hand, "Welcome to Ascela" he said

M​y hand was swallowed by his as he kissed my knuckle before untying my restraints

H​is soft eyes told me to follow as he turn going up the stairs.

"​What's going on? Who are you?" i demanded as we approached the top of the stairs

"​Narius, Prince of the Faeries" Said the tall guy, shadows rolling off his shoulders as he stepped towards me, "Allow me to explain as i show you to your room"

P​ale fingers curled around my elbow as he guided me through the palace entrance.

"​Your name?" His voice sent shivers up my spine

"​Moira" I said, the tight grip of his fingers in my arm told me it was in my best interest to not lie to him.

"​Do you know why your'e here Moira?" he asked as we turned a corner into a hallway. Many rooms had passed us.

I​ shook my head as he glanced down at me. His eyes, and unnatural blue, pierced me.

"​A prophecy was given to me about a girl who would either be my ruin or my revival. It speaks of her being lost, possibly looking for herself. I've grouped together girls who fit this idea to put them through tests. You are now part of this group." His eyes held my gaze as he motion his arm towards a door. I hadn't even realised we had stopped.

"​This is your room. Everything inside is prepared for you. I suggest you get some rest because if you are the prophecy girl you will be given great reward just to assure your on our side." He drawled before stalking offf back down the hallway.

S​omething about him was mesmerising, I almost felt hypnotised. Unable to speak.

I​ walked into the room closing the door behind me while leaning against it. Unable to understand why i didn't resist more or at least question before following. The room was plain with dark colours. a big bed to the left and wardrobe and mirror towards the right, along with my own bathroom.

T​hey had given me my own ensuite. This prophecy girl must be very special to them.

"L​ies, they're lying to you Moira" Someone purred against my ear.

M​y neck snapped around so fast it felt like it would break. My heart felt like it was about to jump from my chest. I was sure someone had to be there, but my back was still against the door and no one would even have room to stand behind me.

S​o where had that voice come from?

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.