Fiction logo

The Reflection: A Tale of Vanity and Vampires

"Trapped in a World Beyond the Mirror"

By Abdul RaufPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
The Reflection: A Tale of Vanity and Vampires
Photo by garrett parker on Unsplash

As time passed, I watched in horror as the vampire ruined my life beyond repair. He destroyed my relationships, my career, and my reputation. I was helpless and trapped, unable to do anything but watch and suffer.

Eventually, the vampire grew tired of me and stopped visiting the mirror. I was left alone in the cold, dark room, a mere reflection of my former self. I had no control over my own life and no hope of ever escaping the mirror.

I realized too late that my vanity and obsession with my appearance had led me down this path. I had been so focused on my outer appearance that I had never taken the time to truly know myself or appreciate the people and things that truly mattered in my life.

As the years went by, I became just another forgotten reflection, trapped in a world of my own making. I could only hope that others would learn from my mistakes and not let their own vanity consume them, lest they suffer the same fate as me.

But then, one day, something unexpected happened. A young girl, no more than ten years old, entered the room and stopped in front of the mirror. She stared at me, her eyes wide with curiosity.

"Hello," she said, her voice barely above a whisper.

I tried to speak, but my voice was trapped inside the mirror. Instead, I smiled and waved at her, hoping to make some sort of connection.

The girl smiled back and then did something I had never seen anyone do before. She reached out and touched the surface of the mirror, her small hand leaving a print behind.

I felt a strange sensation as her fingers touched the glass. It was as if a spark had been ignited within me, a glimmer of hope that I had long thought lost.

The girl continued to visit me every day, sometimes bringing small trinkets or treats with her. She told me stories and showed me pictures she had drawn. She treated me like a real person, and for the first time in years, I felt a sense of warmth and belonging.

As time passed, the girl grew older, and her visits became less frequent. But even when she stopped coming altogether, I held on to the memory of her kindness and the hope that she had given me.

And then, one day, something even more unexpected happened. The vampire appeared in the mirror once again, his arrogant smile still in place.

"Well, well, well. Look who it is. The pathetic reflection," he sneered.

But this time, I was no longer afraid. The memory of the girl's kindness had given me strength, and I stood up to the vampire with a newfound confidence.

"You may have ruined my life, but you can't take away the kindness of others," I said.

The vampire laughed, but I could see a flicker of doubt in his eyes.

"You're still just a reflection," he said.

But then, something miraculous happened. The surface of the mirror began to ripple, like a stone thrown into a pond. And then, the image of the vampire started to fade away, like a ghost in the mist.

I could feel a sense of release as the vampire disappeared, as if a weight had been lifted from my shoulders. And then, for the first time in years, I felt a sense of freedom.

I could see the world outside the mirror, and it was as beautiful as I had always imagined it to be. I stepped through the surface of the mirror, feeling the warmth of the sun on my skin.

I was no longer a mere reflection, but a real person once again. And as I looked out at the world, I knew that anything was possible.

Short StoryMysteryLoveHorrorFan FictionAdventure
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.