Fiction logo

The Quiet, At Last

After the fall

By Mark CoughlinPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
The Quiet, At Last
Photo by Erol Ahmed on Unsplash

The quiet I craved has come, finally. My world is buried in white, blinding white. The winds I sent have ceased and it has brought me peace. It is done.

Those creatures, the ones who dared to challenge my dominion, are gone now. They stood on their hind legs, covered My land with their machines and towers. And they multiplied, until they stacked up in their towers. They thought themselves gods, and even sought to control Me.

That was their final offense. I took it no more. I sent the storms to tear down their towers. I sent the water to destroy their machines. Some of them took to the ocean to escape My wrath. I sent the hurricanes to take them to their watery graves.

Serene is My world without the creatures who offended Me. After I destroyed their 'civilization', I covered My lands with rain. I washed away their carcasses and the remains of their machines. Then, My beautiful, cold snow I sent to freeze the world. Soon I will send the glaciers to wipe the land clean. They will crush what is left, and return it to the dust. My little friends who were prepared for the utter cold will hibernate until My world is clean.

Miles deep is the snow I dropped over the entire world, to entomb whomever might have remained in the bitter cold of eternal winter. Only this has given me peace. The peace of an Earth free from the machinations of Man.

MicrofictionHorrorFantasy

About the Creator

Mark Coughlin

Mark has been writing short stories since the early 1990s. His short story "The Antique" was published in the Con*Stellation newsletter in 1992. His short story "Seconds To Live" was broadcast in the Sundial Writing Contest in 1994.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Test5 months ago

    Very interesting captivating story

Mark CoughlinWritten by Mark Coughlin

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.