Fiction logo

The Querent

Golden Summer

By Bonnie MishaPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
post apocalyptic

We don’t have many flowers now?

No

Why is that?

Bees do their job differently

Yes but flowers don’t exist for bees

You have no real understanding do you?

Of what?

Universal forces

Can I start with bees and work up?

Unlikely

Silence

So how are bees doing their job differently now?

It’s about intelligent design

What about it?

The design is different

So are bees different?

No

Their work is different?

Slow but we got there

So how is their work different?

They don’t forage as much

You mean fly about?

I mean forage

I don’t know what that means

You wouldn’t, it means search widely

So they don’t need to search widely anymore?

Brilliant

Why?

Intelligent design

So things are now more intelligently designed?

Safe retort

So bees work more intelligently now?

Yes

What made them more intelligent?

Did I say they were?

I thought so

The way they work is more intelligently designed

So how did that happen?

Intelligent re-design

So they’d be faster?

No just more efficient

Has anything else been re-designed?

Yes, it’s a continual process

So are we being re-designed?

Yes

Have you been re-designed?

I have always been intelligently designed

What about me?

Silence

So am I a candidate for intelligent re-design?

Unlikely

Why?

There’s a threshold.

You mean I don’t pass the intelligent threshold?

Well put

That’s not an answer

It’s a reasonable response

So I’m intelligent enough to know I’m not intelligent enough?

Well put again

Well can you tutor me?

I am

No I mean help me over the threshold

Would you know it if I did?

I’m sure I would

How?

I’d feel more intelligent

Do you feel intelligent now?

Not really

Why?

Well because you don’t like me

You do realise those factors are not connected?

Yes but I try

That’s not an intelligent response

See, you don’t like anything about me

Disconnected again

I’m sure I’d grow better if you liked me

Blame re-assignment

But you don’t know how it feels to be me?

Thankfully no

Silence

Why do you want me to like you?

Because I’d feel happier

So you have dependent happiness?

Yes

Do you think that’s positive?

Probably not

Silence

I like you as much as I’m able

Thank you. Is that a lot?

Now you’re pushing it

I’m feeling better

Pushing is not growing

So I need to grow to raise my threshold?

That’s one variable

Can I grow one variable at a time?

You’re mixing the variables

I want to grow

That’s like you wanting bigger feet

Why do you want to grow?

To improve my threshold

So you think you can raise your threshold?

Yes, with your help

Well suppose you were a bee

Old bee or new bee?

Any bee you want

Ok so I’m being a bee

What would be most important to you?

My Queen

Ok, so you’ve chosen an old bee

When you leave your hive, what is most important?

Finding flowers

What specifically?

Pollen I guess

So what would you want to re-design?

How I find my pollen

How might you do that?

More sensors?

Keep going

Maybe an inbuilt map

You have one

What’s the other part of this dynamic?

You mean the flowers?

Yes, what could flowers do?

Grow brighter, taller?

Think easier

Radiate something

Reasonable

What?

Energy

What might this do?

Signal something

Am I near my threshold?

You’re not even out of your hive

So it’s not the bees but it’s the flowers that have changed?

No both are now intelligently designed

So flowers signal and bees know where to go?

Yes

So does this work with humans?

Yes

That’s why you’re here

So who did the signalling between us?

Think back to the bees

So you radiate an energy signal?

Yes unfortunately

So I find you without foraging?

Yes.

So do I collect pollen?

You are

What do I do with my pollen?

Whatever you want

So is my pollen wisdom?

That would be a stretch

So is my pollen growth?

Check your feet

Silence

Do I get signals and forage?

Yes

So should I focus more on signals?

Yes

Will that help my threshold?

Maybe

Will some part of me always be a forager?

Yes

So I can’t turn that off?

No

Why?

Intelligent design

But I don’t have enough of it?

We’ve been though this

Do I get sent signals?

All the time

I just don’t pick them up?

Rarely

Is it my threshold thing?

Yes

Should I focus on picking up more signals?

Your choice

I’m getting a signal now. It’s very clear. I’m excited.

Interesting

Where’s it coming from?

A marigold

Script
Like

About the Creator

Bonnie Misha

children’s author/designer - books, games, toys

http://www.sashaandfriends.com

little aussie battler series

children’s fantasy - faerie & elementals series

animation - bicky and boo - series

historic manuscripts - WW2 - s w pacific command

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.