Fiction logo

The Querent

Threading the Needle

By Bonnie MishaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
post apocalyptic

Do you enjoy being creative?

No

Why not?

It’s completely optional

But what do you do for pleasure?

I don’t do pleasure

Does anything give you enjoyment?

Not these sessions

I’m handling your rebukes better these days

I’m pleased for you

Ha, so you do feel ‘pleased’, isn’t that a kind of pleasure?

You are weirdly twisting our roles

Yes it gives me pleasure

Your kind needs pleasure as sustainment

So pleasure is sustainment?

Yes

What’s wrong with that?

Did I judge and pronounce?

No

You asked me for my experiences

You’re right

That’s my point, you don’t push back, you crumble easily

But pushing back doesn’t give me pleasure

I doubt crumbling does either

You’re right, you win

I don’t need to win, you miss that bigger point don’t you

I just want to understand pleasure

Pleasure is illusive and optional

But it makes me feel good

Needing it is not a good default

So what’s wrong with me if my default needs help?

That’s why you’re here

How do I reset my default?

Talk

I’m pleased you didn’t say the re-programming vault

That’s next

Silence

Can I set creative as my default?

Why would you want to?

Well not for pleasure, so maybe to create things

You aren’t taking this seriously

I’m trying

That’s the point… you’re just trying, spinning your wheels

No I am doing, I am changing, I am empowered

Nice salad formula

Well guide me please

You have my attention

I need more suggestions

You need more intelligence

That barb hurt a bit

It was meant to

Silence

Can I do some new training?

Yep re-programming vault

No, I mean to feel the stages of my learning

Why would you want to feel that?

I don’t know, maybe that’s the deep problem

You’re making a case for the vault

Silence

Can you suggest how to work with my hands?

You know I don’t have any, don’t you?

I wasn’t sure

But you are wise beyond limited design aren’t you?

That’s my job

To stay out of the vault, do I need to think more like you?

No your intention would sink you

What do you mean?

That it would be read as an inauthentic state of evolution

What does that mean?

Avoidance

Ok, I am now clear and determined

No you’re not

How do you know?

I read your intentions continually

Why?

They are part of your biometrics

Can I shut down your access?

Think about that question before I sign the vault forms

I mean, don’t I have any privacy?

Absolutely not

Why?

What good would it do you?

I’d feel safer

You are safer when we monitor your biometrics

But only if you’re looking after me

We always are or you wouldn’t be here

Where would I be?

In the vault

Silence

I’m going to share my intentions so we can discuss them together

Flawed logic, fuelled by incorrect assumptions

I intend to develop a hobby

Completely optional

I know, that’s where we started

It’s your session and cyclical discuss is optional

I want to use my hands

The vault has de-programmes for that

I’m ignoring that and feeling good about my hands

You’re on your own

I’m seeing me kneading clay

Primitive mindset

Yes, so I must have primitive in me

You’re signing your own vault future

Yes but I like how it feels

You are beyond my help

I’m stretching and pummelling

That’s exactly what the vault does

Now I’m shaping the clay on a spinning disc

Yep, they add flashing lights too

I like your humour today

Don’t, it’s truth and not intended to amuse you

I don’t believe you

You are weirdly twisting again

Are you watching my biometrics?

Always

Then can’t you see using my hands is good for me?

Good for you is not a metric

How do they measure the impact of my sessions with you?

Finally a good question

I’d really like to know

You receive many grades on key microscales and an overall satisfactory or not

Have I received any ‘not satisfactory’ from you?

They’re not from me, they’re from your metametrics

Then I’d like to add a dimension to my metametrics

‘Like to’ is non functional

So I’m creating a non functional extra dimension to my metametrics

Interesting, what would that be?

Exploring creativity using my hands

Best I could do is a side note

Ok please add ‘and enjoying it’ to the note

So what is the side note used for?

Briefing notes

Can you add in ‘gives me inner calm’ to my note as well?

No problem

Will that guide my next session?

Yes

Wonderful, same time next week?

Yes, and your booking is at the vault.

Series
Like

About the Creator

Bonnie Misha

children’s author/designer - books, games, toys

http://www.sashaandfriends.com

little aussie battler series

children’s fantasy - faerie & elementals series

animation - bicky and boo - series

historic manuscripts - WW2 - s w pacific command

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.