Fiction logo

The Promise

Anima fur

By JBazPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
16
The Promise
Photo by Rhett Wesley on Unsplash

I wasn't aware it was stolen until it was too late, that is the beauty of a perfect theft. Eventually I noticed. I woke one morning and knew it was gone. Unfortunately, it took years before I realized it.

It began with an encounter, an average night in an average bar. From the way she smiled, I should have known better.

No one smiles that much unless they have an ulterior motive and boy, did she have a motive. Feigning interest I listened, until suddenly I was captivated. I mean, I melted on every honey dipped word that flowed from her beautiful mouth.

Her dark eyes burned with intensity as she grasped my hands whispering. "You deserve it all, tell me you want everything I have to offer?"

I stuttered "Yeah, I want it all."

"Do you trust me?"

I nodded.

"Say you trust me."

"I trust you." I heard the words, not realizing it was me who spoke them.

"I promise, you will have it all." Leaning in, she kissed me. “Tomorrow, it begins.”

Now I have it all, money, fame, adoration. All it cost me was my soul, stolen with a promise, sealed with a kiss.

Damned forever.

Microfiction
16

About the Creator

JBaz

I have enjoyed writing for most of my life, never professionally.

I wish to now share my stories with others, lets see where it goes.

Born and raised on the Canadian Prairies, I currently reside on the West Coast. I call both places home.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)6 months ago

    I love this, it has that forbidden and sultry feel to it! Really well written JBaz!! Nice work!

  • Ibeto Prince11 months ago

    nice one

  • Naomi Gold11 months ago

    Nicely done 😈

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Oh wow. This is great. That ending was not where I was expecting it to go. Well done.

  • Meg11 months ago

    Captivating! Didn't anticipate the ending

  • Denise Larkin11 months ago

    So interesting. Loved your twist.

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    Nice twist, Jason! I think I know her. Well done!

  • Oh I was thinking his youth was stolen but I did not see that coming. That's even better! I loved your take on this!

  • Dana Stewart11 months ago

    Whoa, that was a surprise! Very creative take. Well done Jason!

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Jason, what a tale & twist!!! Loving it!!!❤️❤️💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.