Fiction logo

The profiteer

Chapter 20

By Ann Published 2 years ago 6 min read

Li Shi Shi came down the stairs with a gentle, princely manner if he had tied his apron behind him.

She asked me something. I pointed to the bottle and whispered, "See if this is one of your old ones."

Li picked it up casually and looked at it. Chen saw her greasy hands and said disapprovingly, "Can you read it? Be careful!"

Li Shishi chuckled and said, "It's just a bottle of wind. What's the big deal?"

Chen's face changed and he extended his hand in a gesture of invitation.

Li, on the other hand, had put the bottle back in its box, lifted up his apron and wiped his hands, looking out at the weather as if he had been looking not at an antique but at a worm-eyed apple.

I questioned her with my eyes. She smiled and said, "It's true that it's from the Song Dynasty, but it was an ordinary item at that time. It wouldn't go on the big table." Chen was awestruck and said, "I can't believe that this lady is really an expert. Now that you have seen the things, please give me your price."

This time I can be confused, porcelain this thing I only know Jingdezhen and Erli Kiln, the latter is a place where we are rich in salted vegetable jars.

I pulled her to the top of the stairs and asked her, "What on earth is that?"

Li Shi Shi said: "At that time, there was a hollowed out cabinet in the side room of the family with wealth and status. You can also see that the top and bottom of the bottle were generally thin. When it was placed on the cabinet, it would shake slightly when it was touched by a wind, which was very interesting. You won't see it on the cupboard."

"It's a good idea to make that vase, but it's not the work of a master. If it's the work of a master, they usually have their names engraved on the bottom of the bottle, which can only be felt by hand."

"How much would this be worth in modern times?" Unconsciously I have put Li Shi Shi as a modern man.

Li Shi Shi, for difficulty, gritted his teeth and said, "First tell me the exchange rate of silver to RMB. "

How am I supposed to know that? I asked her, "How much do you charge for one jin of pork?"

"I haven't bought it, but it looks like it's 160 yuan a catty."

"Now it's 16 yuan a catty, but it's only 10 taels -- one or two ounces of silver, say, 200 yuan. How much do you charge for that bottle?"

"Twenty taels of silver."

"Four thousand dollars?" Puzzled, I said, why do I think a Song Dynasty bottle should not be so cheap? Is that more than one spittoon with an open lid?

I patted my head, only to find that I had taken myself to the ditch with the general equivalent of pork for half a day - I forgot to add the 1000 years!

This Master Li can't help me. She is still confused. I sent her away, sat back down on the couch, crossed my legs and pointed to the box. "Where does this thing sit?" Chen, increasingly deferential, said, "The seat is gone, but it's hard to keep it in such good condition."

I used the tone of "the owner has no surplus food ah" said: "that is no good - no seat it can only stay in the box, no use value you understand, just like badminton, no matter how good the racket you do not have a ball.

"That..."

"Besides, you're not made by a master. The rich man's house is furnished with all the right things, you know? Have you ever seen a lucky cat, a Garfield cat?"

Now even a fool should have seen that I had flashed the axe and revealed the grim face of the pawnbroker. Chen smiled and said, "It's useless to talk so much. You give me a price."

When Old Pan called me back, I went to a quiet place to pick it up and asked him directly, "How much do you get for a flask?"

Pan was surprised and said, "You have made great progress. It is not easy to know the name of the wind bottle. It has been extinct since the change of Jingkang. Old Pan asked, suddenly alarmed. "Did you get someone else?"

I smiled and said: "I want to ask another master also use you to give the price?"

"That's right." Old Pan hung up the phone.

Two million dollars is a good thing!

I walked back calmly, and then it occurred to me to look at the card named Chen. On the card, there was only the personal assistant and phone number, not even the affiliated company. I pretended to confessfully say: "Assistant Chen, my assistant and I have had a discussion, and we think this is not bad. The current market price is about 1 million yuan (not afraid to boast, the price is reduced by half first). According to the rules, 20 percent resistance is 200,000 yuan, and the annual discount is also 20 percent, which means that if you want to redeem it after a year, you have to give me 240,000 yuan. I can't lend it to you for nothing. If it's acceptable to you, I have a contract here..."

"Don't bother. I'll die. Two hundred thousand, as you said." Assistant Chen shook his head and smiled sarcastically, "200,000 yuan -- Manager Xiao, we don't have to say anything in secret, you and I both know that the market price of this item will not be less than 10 times that amount. The reason why we sell you 200,000 yuan is because you know the goods, and as a gift to your bank, in order to long-term cooperation in the future." Assistant Chen took out a stack of documents from his briefcase and said, "This is the transfer agreement and the official appraisal of the bottle. You just put the money into our account and I'll sign it right away."

As soon as I reached out, he gave me an account number. After a few minutes of fiddling on the computer, he also received the message. He was happy to sign all the signatures, shook my hand and said, "Working with you is very careful, but at least it was fun." I grinned and said, "Where? Where?"

That's how I made the $2 million sale! I get 5%, plus the 2% that's supposed to go to PAM, and I made $140,000 today! If you are usually not sure how ecstatic it, but now how happy not up - 140,000, and ten thousand enough to feed those people for a month, and I think of Liu Lao Liu hasn't calculated to buy them clothes, even if they really like "300" like only wear big shorts, that also have a lot of money!

In fact, there is another way for me to collect 200,000 yuan to make up Hao's money and blacken the bottle. In the past, I might have dreamed about how I would feel when I became rich, but now I don't think about it at all. Even if I have 2 million yuan, it's not enough for me to make money for half a year.

Although my little brother has mastered the four operations in theory, he often stands by the river where there are no wet shoes, for a long time in the river's lake where there is no chance of not getting a knife, walk in the night always have to meet a ghost - ten of the inevitable mistakes on so two or three, so I love to buy a dollar a catty things, and only 10 catty 10 catty. Let me use 2 million to do business, after a month to still have half, you call me a profiteer!

Fantasy

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    AWritten by Ann

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.