Fiction logo

The princess and the pirate

Just the start of another story

By Justice CavazosPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Fairy tales. The stories that give girls false hope. The ones that go “Once upon a time” and end with “Happily ever after.” With god mothers granting every wish and animals do your chores, how can one expect everyone to learn to do it on their own? How can we expect people to stop believing that their prince will come, that they can do it themselves. I will warn you now, if you are looking for a story that ends with the prince getting the princess you’ll need to keep looking. This is definitely not that story. However, it does contain a price, princess, and a fairy godmother. Wanna hear the funny part? It all starts with a kiss….

“How do you expect to find a husband if you continue to do things like this?” My father bellows at me, I sigh knowing what’s to come. Holding up a pair of ice skates, he looks at me in disgust. “You are 21 now, and a princess, how can you be so friendly to the commoners?” I just stand tall and look him in the eye, I’ve learned long ago that’s how this ends quickly. “ And to see you kiss that common boy, I should have him beheaded for even looking at you!” He storms a few feet away, his back to me. With a sigh that shrugs his shoulders, he turns back. “Galerie, you have to stop this, you are no longer a child. You must see this by now.” He walks towards me and takes my hands in his ,”It’s time you married, settled down, and stop these actions.” looking into my eyes, he pleds. I start to laugh, I can’t help it. Father and I have had this discussion more than enough times. “So you’re setting me up again, is that it? Let me guess, some prince from far away whose only purpose is wed me to wear a crown and order people around.” I take my hands from him and turn away. “ You think that’s all i am? A girl who can be wed to anyone just because it’ll be good for your pocket or theirs? A girl who has to follow a man around and do what he says without any thoughts of her own? You’re trying to turn me into Kathreen, of which of whom i am not.” The last part i say with a sneer, knowing it would get a rise. Sure enough, fathers face is as red as a tomato when i turn back to him. “Don’t you dare speak about your mother like that! She was a fine woman, now go up to your room and change, your guest will be here shortly, THAT’S AN ORDER.” With a swish of his robe and clamming of a chamber door father has left me in the ballroom alone.

WIth a small sigh and a weary smile i head to my room to do as i am told. Out of the shadows a figure appears, quietly stalking my every move, not a sound or whisper is heard as it follows me through my chamber doors. The figure creeps up close to me, closing in on my turned back. As i hear the doors close i slowly turn and gasp. “Jesus Seg, you scared the heck out of me.” I saw to my servant of 20 years and he smiles sheepishly. Sorry madam, i didn't mean to, you’re father gave me strict orders to watch your every move from now until you marry”

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.