Fiction logo

The Prince's Bellow Final

Kander's Ending Monologue

By Ace MeleePublished 5 months ago 4 min read
1
Art AI-Generated by Dream Wombo, edited by Ace Melee via Picsart

Script adjusted to Vocal's format. Characters are Quaive, Eris, and Kander.

----------------------------------------------------------------

QUAIVE: K-Kander!

He winces to him. It takes him a second to see what he has done, firmly regretting it. He doesn't say anything or go anywhere to help his brother or father- too shocked to move. Luckily, the shock was minor. Quaive stands back up. Kander is unable to apologize. His father stands up.

A tense staredown happens between Kander and Eris. Eris looks stern, and Kander is emotional. This time, Kander doesn't win this battle. He closes his eyes and steps away from the throne. He opens them, and the torches turn back on in a flick.

KANDER: (Mumbles.) Sorry... (Speaks louder to his father.) Perhaps, you are right all along. I must control it; no one should see me like this, not even you.

He walks out of the room, ashamed. Quaive reaches out to him, feeling sorrow for his brother.

QUAIVE: (To Eris.) I've never seen him like this. Maybe, you should've kept him as king, Dad, and let things play out. It was only a matter of time until people focused on another controversy, drama, or something viral.

ERIS: It was not easy for me to decide. I hated doing this to him. (Deeply inhales, swallowing his emotion.) I don't want him to blame himself if Tremis falls over this. I'd rather let it fall on me. (To Quaive.) I don't want it to fall on you either, Quaive.

Quaive doesn't say anything, but his eyes gaze at the floor.

CUT TO:

INT. KANDER'S ROOM

Kander slams the door of his room.

KANDER: Why did I have to lose it all?! What did I do to deserve this?

Kander sees a photo of him with Haelo on his bedside table. He picks it up, sets it on fire, and throws it at the wall, breaking it. The fire goes away. Haelophes's side of the photo has fully burned, while his side still has leftover heat. He sobs.

KANDER (CONT'D): Is it the darkest veil that people can only see? The empire has seen me since my birth. They loved me, admired me, and were proud to have me heir to the throne. A scholar told me, ‘You're the finest Prince of Tremis.’ But when I become tainted by evil disguised in sweetness, all of it disappears! A tyrant is not what I seek! A throne is not that I seek! It’s just a chair in a big hollow room. I seek the prosperity of the empire and myself. Gods, Lords, Angels, please hear my cry and remove the curse! Lift the veil to see the good in my (Beats chest.) beating heart! I, son of Feira, Angel of Tremis, please beg the gods to help remove her burden from her soul. You know I was fooled by the demoness, not in love with me. I did love her, but I thought she was a siren. I’m too weak to revoke the curse because I am only a mortal mage. If you are here, please, help me.

Silence. Kander sighs.

KANDER (CONT'D): Can’t hear me from the Heavens? Perhaps, the legends are false. The Mutant Century- the Celestial Era- when the eternal angels, the gods, and the devils fully ruled the world is long gone. I will have to live with my curse forever- no respect from people, no longer an heir. I wish my brother, Quaive, best of luck. My faith is still there for him while my faith in my cure is bleeding. If a god can’t hear me far away, they can hear me close-up. Possibly, they already know. I’ve been blessed with luxury and praise all my life. They gave me another challenge-- a cruel one at best. I do what it takes to earn the hearts of Tremis again. Time will be my only prayer.

Thunder rumbles from a nearby storm. It can be heard from Kander's room. He looks out the window, seeing the dark clouds from the west. He can see the lightning. If the gods didn't answer, nature did; the darkness is still approaching.

TO BE CONTINUED.

Art AI-Generated by Dream Wombo, edited by Ace Melee via Picsart

ScriptFantasy
1

About the Creator

Ace Melee

Hello, everyone! Creative writing is an essential asset for me since it frees my imagination from getting hit by the barrier of the skull. It hurts when it's locked in and roars when oppressed- it was destined to soar.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.