Fiction logo

The Power of Painting in Year 3000 - Part E

Raging Bull Challenge

By Patrick OlesonPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 8 min read
Original illustration from Patrick Oleson

Augusto's face lit up delightfully after hearing that a Cona Vight went down after eating some of the chocolate cake.

"This is fantastic! You have completed the other half of the research. Now none of us have to risk our lives in order to figure that out," Augusto said.

In a grumbly manner; I replied, "Yeah, well that's fantastic for you…"

"This really is great news, Pat. Mrs. Hardware was helping me build gear that could hold the Ikuutuu Imola. So if you were unable to battle, one of us could step in. I will be the first to try our products of course. Oh that's right! Speaking of Mrs. Hardware, why don’t I introduce you," Augusto stated.

I followed Augusto into the entrance of a workshop that looked like a giant wooden bee.

Meanwhile; a voracious, lightning-fast pterodactyl picked up 3/5 of Corvak all around the world and brought them back to a desolate Washington D.C…

It seems that 1/5 of Corvak was missing.

The pterodactyl screeched and yelled aggressively, "WHERE IN THE DARKNESS IS THE OTHER PART OF ME?!?!?"

Figure 2 snaps what would be her teeth and replied with a bellicose attitude, "AS USUAL, YOU PROBABLY JUST GOT LOST!!"

"OH SHUT UP, YOU! I WAS TALKING TO MYSELF NOT THE SLIGHTLY GRAY PEANUT GALLERY," Corvak immediately remarked.

"WHY I OUGHTTA… EVERYONE KNOWS THAT MY DARKNESS IS A SHADE DARKER THAN YOURS!! BESIDES IT SOUNDS LIKE MAYBE THAT FRACTION OF YOU MIGHT BE GONE FOREVER," figure 2 immediately snapped back.

Corvak gasps and replied, "Why Corvella! You can't be suggesting that I was defeated…"

Figure 3 finally looks at the two arguing siblings and pays attention.

Corvak brings his tone down and said, "If I were me… I would just send out a particle to transmit information, but I haven't received anything! When I passed by, I also couldn't sense myself in Australia…"

Figure 3 finally speaks up, "Oh…? This means that the humans must have figured out a way to destroy us."

Figure 1's curiosity was piqued, "What exactly are you implying, Vincent?"

Vincent replied, "Think about it brother. The humans always figure out how to survive and they've created weapons of mass destruction in the past. I say we sniff out the problem before it gets out of hand. I'd like to propose that I bring my whole self, ⅖ of Corvak and ⅓ of Corvella to ensure that we have no more casualties."

Figure 1 sizes Vincent sizes up and down; then states, "Okay Vincent. I'll agree to your plan on one condition: NO FUNNY BUSINESS."

Vincent bow's in response, "As you wish, Ca'alrok."

Vincent transforms into a dragon, while 2/5 of Corvak and ⅓ of Corvella hop onto his back. The fluctuating dragon Sonic booms through the sky and within a matter of seconds he was floating over Australia.

"WOAH I DON'T THINK I'VE EVER SEEN YOU MOVE SO FAST," Corvella shouted.

Vincent pushes out thousands of tentacles that have the thickness of human hair and feels out the continent.

"Why you're showing us all sorts of new tricks today, Vincent. What are you doing exactly," Corvella questioned.

" These are sensors, they're going to help us find our targets. Ah, I sense movement by an old barn... Corvella, why don't you take care of the problem and I'll send 3/20 of myself as backup," Vincent replied.

"Thanks, but I don't need your help. You can watch if you'd like," Corvella snarkily suggested.

Corvella jumps off and shapeshifts into a harpy.

Moving faster than a rocket she heads towards the barn and shouted, "BOMBS AWAY COCKROACHES!!"

3/20 of Vincent follows in silence.

⅕ of Corvak jumps off the dragon while the other fifth stays on.

Ad interim…

A loud, buoyant voice yelled out, "HEEELLLOOOOOOOOO BOYS!!"

Moving forward into the space I saw what looked like a gundam/ transformer robot mixed an old lady? With a bumble-bee design to top if off too!

The old lady seemed to be looping up a 150-ft extension cord within a matter of seconds; she yelled out simultaneously "ALL YOU NEED TO DO IS FOLD IT; LIKE THIS AND THIS AND THIS AND THAT AND THIS AND THIS AND THIS AND THIS!!!"

At the end of that sentence she wound up the cord perfectly.

I applauded her, "Good job! I've never seen anyone achieve that so quickly,"

"Thank you my dear boy. My name is Mrs. Hardware and some people call me Queen Bee. You may call me whichever you prefer," she stated.

"Well Mrs. Hardware, I'm going to get straight to the point. My grandma's chocolate cake defeated part of a Cona Vight, so this confirms all of our hard work. Let's continue to make my," Augusto explained and was then interrupted.

"Don't worry I finished this already," Mrs. Hardware stated as she handed him a button shield.

"Amazing!! I see that you finished this during that moment of greeting earlier. I think it would be wise for Patrick to get an upgrade as well," Augusto said in excitement.

"Hand me those brooms of yours boy," Mrs. Hardware stated.

I gave the brooms to her and a plethora of gizmos/mechanical arms came out of her robotic armor and they began changing the shell of the brooms.

As one part of her started working on my brooms, she turned to me and showed me a photo of her family. She said enthusiastically, "Look boy, this is my family; they took this photo for a family reunion but both my son and I missed our flights, so we couldn't make it. I used to be an artist, so I drew myself as a bee in the photograph. After all, I was always the Queen Bee even before the spell changed the world. Organizing is my specialty and tool-making is my hobby/ superpower."

Look boy this is my family (original illustration by Patrick Oleson)

Of course I had to ask, "So who's, who in the photo?"

Mrs. Hardware replied genuinely, " These 2 girls are my beautiful daughters and that handsome man right there is my husband. He was always working so hard and he even felt regret for not being able to be by my side when he was taking care of his father's land. Alas, that never bothered me! I love him so much that no distance would ever separate our connection. MY HUSBAND IS MY HUSBAND, NO MATTER WHAT!!! Besides now that I've gained these abilities, I do everything for him. I will make sure that my husband never has to work a hard day in his life ever again. On another note, here's your newly upgraded weapons."

I received the hi-tech steel coated brooms that had slots for a powerful stone and expressed my gratitude with exhilaration, "Thank you so much!!"

3.14 interrupts all of us, " something is off on a mathematical wavelength. My numbers are telling me that we need to go back to the barn."

Augusto joins our party while Mrs. Hardware stays behind and we start rushing back to the barn.

Simultaneously…

⅓ of Corvella lands right in front of the barn. 3/20 of Vincent hides in a tree.

Corvella proceeds to the entrance and meets Charlie.

"Why hello there, scrub. Do you happen to know where ⅕ of my idiot brother is," Corvella vexingly questioned.

Charlie smoothly replied, "You're asking the wrong person that question but it seems that you've arrived right on time. I've been preparing my whole life for this day. I would watch my step if I were you, these webs of mine are juiced up with the same stuff that slayed your brother."

"YOU DON'T GET TO SPEAK ABOUT MY NINCOMPOOP FAMILY. HOW COME YOU'RE NOT SCARED OF ME? YOU SHOULD BE SHAKING IN YOUR BOOTS BY NOW," Corvella yelled out aggressively.

Charlie effortlessly remarked, "Losing my breath does not scare me because you will never take away my time."

Corvella furiously charged after Charlie but immediately felt stinging sensations from the surrounding spider web.

"OUCH!! WHAT IS THIS," Corvella shouted as scars of light started to glow where the web touched.

"I held the Okuutuu Imola when I created this web," Charlie replied.

Corvella grew more impatient and began to extend more limbs. The shadow-like harpie now had tentacles. Corvella started to move sporadically and bounced around the room so quickly that she seemed to be everywhere at once.

All of a sudden a villager named Gloria popped up from the secret entrance.

"Ah, thats right. This moment also happens today," Charlie stated calmly.

Corvella shouted in belligerence, "AHA!!"

The jet fast harpy popped up behind Gloria and held her hostage.

The tyrant on the scene yells out, "ONLY YOU CAN TAKE YOUR TIME AWAY, RIGHT? IF YOU PROMISE TO DO THAT, I SWEAR ON ALL LEVELS OF MY DARKNESS THAT I WILL SPARE HER LIFE!!"

"Okay. Just let her go and I will do it," Charlie said assuredly.

Corvella slowly complied.

"NO CHARLIE, " Gloria cried out with little breath in the tank.

Charlie stabbed herself in the center of the spiral body marking. Corvella started cackling. Gloria ran away as far as possible.

Corvella walks up to Charlie, avoiding the webs and holds her up with her tentacles, while slashing away with her arms. The proximity sucks her breath away. Charlie looks down at Corvella in a belittling manner.

"Don't worry I knew my time was up today, but if I'm being honest your's is up as well. If I were you, I would prepare myself for the greatest catastrophe, " Charlie said with all the strength she could muster up in her last couple of breaths.

Corvella stayed silent and sat down on a haystack close by.

Concurrently, CJ transformed himself into a massive all-terrain ATV.

"COME ON AND HOP INSIDE POPS WE'VE GOT NO TIME!! WHEN NINA SAYS SOMETHING LIKE THAT ALL HELL BREAKS LOOSE," CJ shouted.

The vehicle blasted through the forest.

Ako looks quite concerned, I thought.

Within a matter of minutes we made it back to the old barn. It seems that a mutant harpy-like creature was waiting for us to show up.

"WELL, WELL, WELL LOOK AT WHAT THE RAT COUGHED UP? I DID KEEP MY WORD ON LEAVING THAT VILLAGER ALIVE BUT NO ONE SAID ANYTHING ABOUT LYING IN WAIT FOR THE CAVALRY," Corvella shouted threateningly.

"Pat, pass me the Okuutuu Imola please," Augusto stated.

I gave him the stone and subsequently inserted it into a slot on his button shield. Augusto firmly held the shield in his right hand and a barrier of light was cast around us. None of our breaths were getting affected by the deadly creature.

"It seems that all the vermin have picked up new tricks," Corvella said in a sinister manner.

She began a flurry of slashes at the barrier with her tentacles.

Ako walked towards a lifeless Charlie while clutching his fists.

"No… My dear sweet Charlie... You told me one day it would be okay to use your limbs as much as I wanted, but I didn't think it would go down like this… The ancestors will protect your soul, may we find each other again in another life," Ako stated sadly.

The next second shook my soul. It was the first time I had ever seen Ako completely open his eyes.

original illustration by Patrick Oleson

"Augusto, break the Okuutuu Imola into several pieces and give me one,"

Ako said as he started a fire and chopped some pieces of Charlie off from the body.

Ako threw some special ingredients into the fire along with pieces of Charlie. Augusto broke a piece off the stone and threw it to Ako. Ako caught it and swallowed it immediately.

Ako shouted with all his might, "DEAR ANCESTORS LEND ME THE POWER TO PUNISH MY ENEMIES!!!!"

Ako picked up two claws of Charlie's and surges of energy emanated from his body like yellow/black tattoos. A raging bull with massive horns formed from the energy and horn-like dual blade daggers extended from his hands.

Adventure

About the Creator

Patrick Oleson

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Patrick OlesonWritten by Patrick Oleson

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.