Fiction logo

The Power of Painting in Year 3,000 Part 11

Part 11

By Patrick OlesonPublished 2 years ago 15 min read
Like
Original Illustrations by Patrick Oleson

“Okay human, you’ve shown me that you got what it takes to fight this disaster head-on. I see that these stone shards are helping your party inflict damage. If you let me borrow your heart-shaped locket with the shard in it, I can assist you. Besides, I really don’t care for these Cona Vights. This monstrosity will disrupt the balance in my lake,” the water-nymph said.

I replied while taking short breaths, “Wow! Okay that sounds good to me. You must be the water-nymph that granny Italia was talking about.”

Ca’alrok was slowed down by 3.14 but resumed charging this way.

“I do have a name you know. You can call me Holli. The reason why this lake of mine is frozen is because my desire was always to be the coldest. With a frozen lake like this, I get to enjoy all my time away from these actively bothersome nuisances. This pain in the neck is really interrupting my slumber though, so I will help you destroy this annoying alarm clock. I really do enjoy my rest. I like to nest in the ridges at the bottom of my lake, like a rat. Although I don’t know any mammal that can withstand my temperatures… perhaps I was a rat in my past life? Oh well, that is besides the point. Now let’s go crush this nuisance like an ice cube,” Holli the water nymph proudly said.

I kept revving my Pat Pat engine taking in as many miniature breath’s as I could and handed Holli the necklace. I started slashing as many times as I could following suit with the inhales, pushing my body past its limit. The instrumentals in the music built up to a climax and icicles formed around me.

I’M SUPPOSED TO FIGHT!!!

The chimera was right in front of me now and I unleashed a fury of marks.

~I LOVE YOU BABY! AND IF ITS QUITE ALRIGHT I NEED YOU, BABY TO WARM THE LONELY NIGHT!~

The onslaught of marks kept slashing at the beast and every mark froze as well.

I NEED TO KEEP FIGHTING!!!

The adrenaline was rushing, the Pat Pat engine kept revving and I kept slashing; this time all of my inhales and marks were coming out faster than before.

~I LOVE YOU, BABY TRUST IN ME WHEN I SAY!~

3.14 tuned into the integers that counted my breath and shot at the beast’s back at the same speed.

~OH PRETTY BABY, DON’T BRING ME DOWN I PRAY! OH PRETTY BABY.~

We started to overpower the chimera to the point where it could not move an inch. I started to catch my own breath now, and I inhaled even faster than before. I slashed and slashed and slashed. Steam rolled off my body as I continued to break the laws of physics, slashing at the speed of sound.

The frustrated and paralyzed chimera roared, “ARRRRRGGGGGHHHHHHHHH, I WON’T LET YOU TAKE ME DOWN!!!”

~NOW THAT I’VE FOUND YOU, STAY! AND LET ME LOVE YOU, BABY LET ME LOVE YOU!~

Jo shouted at the top of his lungs, “GENERAL!! WE’RE SUPPOSED TO BE WORKING ALL TOGETHER!!”

Immediately I recalled all the friends I left behind, in order to accomplish the needs of the future. All my day-ones, baby-girl, and everyone at my job.

3.14 kept shooting at the beast in peril, while I was lost in my thoughts.

I started remembering all the tools I used to get the job done and everything that I learned with people I met during my 8-year career at the Bakehouse Art Complex. The music continued as all the familiar faces flashed through my memories.

~YOU’RE JUST TOO GOOD TO BE TRUE. CAN’T TAKE MY EYES OFF OF YOU. YOU’D BE LIKE HEAVEN TO TOUCH. I WANNA HOLD YOU SO MUCH. AT LONG LAST, LOVE HAS ARRIVED~

Faces of my day-one best friends were summoned as ice forms. All the tools that I remembered using, were summoned as icicles. This must be thanks to Holli’s help.

~AND I THANK GOD I’M ALIVE. YOU’RE JUST TOO GOOD TO BE TRUE. CAN’T TAKE MY EYES OFF YOU~

I stated calmly, “I gotcha captain.”

I made two marks and grabbed hold of them. The two marks formed into gigantic versions of the tools that I used the most. A broom and dustpan at a size even bigger than the chimera. Haha, leaves were always my biggest enemy. I remembered once more that moment I saw Jo fight for his life.

FIGHT!

I’M SUPPOSED TO FIGHT!!!

A fat chunk of darkness split off the chimera and slung itself to the trees.

“VINCENT!!! I KNEW YOU WERE UP TO NO GOOD,” Ca’alrok yelled out and got interrupted by the music.

3.14 cranked the volume all the way up. The instrumentals built all the way up to the second climax. My broom and dustpan marks froze; turning into solid, glowing ice. I placed the dustpan right in front of Ca’alrok and the beast tried throwing a furious barrage of blows. His pursuit was pointless, my weapons were impenetrable. Ako gathered enough strength to stand up again. He stabbed the heel of the beast with one of Charlie’s claws and froze him in time.

I MUST FIGHT!!!

I took a deep breath and shouted vigorously, “YOU CAN TAKE MY BREATH, BUT YOU WILL NEVER TAKE AWAY MY POWER TO FIGHT!!!”

~I LOVE YOU BABY! AND IF IT’S QUITE ALRIGHT, I NEED YOU BABY! TO WARM THE LONELY NIGHT I OVE YOU, BABY! TRUST IN ME WHEN I SAY!~

I spun 360 degrees with the ginormous broom-like mark, slamming it down onto the beast and swept him into my dustpan of light-frost. 3.14 turned her guns into a giant cannon again and blasted the biggest shockwave of light she could muster. The beam was directed towards my “leaves in the dustpan.”

The beast let out one more pain induced roar, “ARRRUUUUGGGGGHHHHH!!!!!!!”

I slashed the dustpan towards open space and the beast came flying out. The Ca’alrok chimera started bubbling up from the inside.

~OH, PRETTY BABY. DON’T BRING ME DOWN, I PRAY. OH, PRETTY BABY~

“NO! THIS WAS NOT SUPPOSED TO HAPPEN. UUURRRGGGHHH!!! CURSE YOU AND YOUR SORCERY! TEAMING UP WITH ALL SORT OF SPIRITS,” Ca’alrok shouted in demise.

The bubbling mass of darkness floated close to us.

~NOW THAT I’VE FOUND YOU, STAY. OH, PRETTY BABY. TRUST ME WHEN I SAY. OH, PRETTY BABY…~

Ca’alrok shouted once more, “IF I’M GOING DOWN, THEN I WILL TAKE YOU WITH ME!”

The bubbling mass started moving erratically and the bubbles in its shape started oozing all over the place.

Uh-oh. Looks like this guy still has some fight left in him too. We no longer had any energy to run.

An abysmal dragon rushed through the space and sniped itself right into the bubbling mass of darkness. Our party choked up once again and lost our capability to breathe.

“WHAT TREACHERY IS THIS VINCENT,” The bubbling mass shouted as it was getting absorbed.

Vincent sucked the chimera aftermath into his body.

“Ahh… Thank you humans. I could never have accomplished this, without your help. I also enjoyed the show, that music made everything quite entertaining. It is unfortunate that I must do things in such a back-handed manner, but… there was no changing my sibling’s minds. It is a shame that they were enslaved to such lowly desires. To rule another means you are ruled, yourself… No, you see. My desire was always linked to something greater than that. The only way I can accomplish it; is if I acquired more power and thanks to you, I was able to absorb much more than necessary. As a token of appreciation, I will leave you all alone today,” Vincent the grand abysmal dragon stated.

Vincent flew up into the sky as high as possible and split himself into 70 different pieces and they all beamed out to different locations.

We finally caught our breath again. I sat up and noticed that there was a little bubble of darkness left behind.

“Oh crap,” I said in reaction.

“THIS IS NOT THE END, RATS! I WILL SUFFOCATE YOU BY FLOATING RIGHT NEXT TO YOUR FACES,” a remnant of Ca’alrok shouted.

Ranger popped out of some bushes and his fangs were illuminated. He let out a huge bark and dashed straight towards the little bubble.

The bubble shouted in remorse, “AH NO GET AWAY FROM ME, YOU ACCURSED ANIMAL!”

Ranger bit the bubble and cracks of light started to form on its surface.

“NOOO-, “ Ca’alrok was eaten and swallowed up before he could finish his death-cry.

“Good boy Ranger,” I hollered out.

Ranger ran towards me with a big, stupid smile on his face.

I petted his ears lovingly and said, “where the heck were you hiding… When we were all fighting our hearts out over here, huh?”

Well, I have to say… I am worried about this Vincent situation but I’m real glad that this all over for now.

Holli appeared before me, again.

“You have some interesting weapons of choice there. So, it seems that in your past you were good at cleaning up messes…right? Now that I’m done helping you, I was wondering if you could help me with a messy situation,” the ice-bearing water nymph asked.

“I sure am tired, but you know what? We couldn’t have done this without you, so sure let’s hear your situation out,” I replied.

Holli stated gracefully, “Well… I can hear a plethora of bodies of water crying. There’s a certain beloved creature that may have thought of sacrificing his life too soon. If we work together, I know that we can get there quicker and perhaps freeze him in solid ice before he gives up.”

“Okay, sure! Let’s get on with it,” I stated with a smile.

Granny Italia came back to her senses and walked up to us.

“I knew it wasn’t just a myth! So, you’re the water nymph of this pond,” Italia said excitedly.

“Yes, I know about you too Italia. I’m not quite sure about the nickname you’ve given my pond but… It certainly is befitting,” Holli said in response.

Italia gave everyone a gentle hug with her healing tentacles and that action brought everyone back to almost normal. Holli and I used our powers together and flew off to the coast of Honeybun Waters.

As I flew off… a certain, hiding Belcheezius click-clacked away at some buttons furiously. Massive jet-like structures popped out of his levitating device.

“Oh crap, oh crap, oh crap… What in the name of ding-dong-ditch have I gotten involved with? There’s no way I’m going to let these crackpipes stink my diaper up! I’m going to splat out of here faster than you can say diarrhea! It’s not even worth going for a headshot now, I can’t tell if these noobs even know what they’re doing… but I sure don’t want to be catching THAT end of the stick. Smell ya later crap-stains,” Belcheezius softly retorted to himself as he retreated quietly.

Meanwhile… at the coast of Honey Bun waters, I landed softly on the sand with a water-nymph sitting on my shoulder.

…Oh?

Is this the God of the Sea?

Holli broke the ice, “Quick we need to freeze him. It’s the only way to rescue him for now and then we push him into the ocean, he will eventually thaw out in there. Fish out of water… He must have really loved his battling friend.”

“OH! WHAT? You’re saying the God of the Sea swam to the shore and decided to sacrifice himself because of CJ?! This is just too manly, I can’t even. Hey, by the way… How did you know about this,” I asked out of curiosity.

Holli replied while giant icicles formed around me, “As a water nymph, I can listen to and conversate with all bodies of water. The oceans were definitely abused quite a bit, back when you humans were over-populated. Throughout the years I have listened to them cry. In terms of the present moment, Honeybun Waters especially is bawling. No, it’s way too soon for this creature to go. Please help me make a mark that will help save this creature’s life.”

“Yes ma’am,” I said in response.

I went for a long slash, samurai style. The mark blasted off straight to the God of the Sea and froze him.

Holli smiled and stated, “Good. Now can you make a mark that will move him back to the sea? He will naturally thaw out over time, and when he does… he will at least be at home, and able to breathe.”

I pulled out my second Okuutuu Imola powered broom and pointed them both at the opposite direction of the water beast. I started to swoop the brooms in the air spinning at 360 degrees, and then did a somersault in the air. The mark continued pouring out of the brooms throughout the consistency in my movements and a giant spiral-like mark formed.

I slashed at the mark and said, “Go. Move him out to the sea.”

The mark uncurled and started flying about, extending itself. It started to look like the dragon from “The Never-Ending Story” and it picked up the frozen God of the Sea, putting him on it’s back. The mark flew off to the distance and dove into Honeybun Waters.

Holli flew around me like a little fairy and said, “Thank you for that. Shall we go back?”

I nodded.

We flew back to Snow Cone Pond and saw everyone gathered around what was left of CJ.

Oh my lands, I forgot that he had sacrificed himself… we really couldn’t have made it this far, without him. It seems that 3.14’s pear effects haven’t worn off yet. She was crying out tears of pink and gold integers.

“He didn’t have to go this far… I mean we could’ve sought another solution. Always throwing himself recklessly into battle and becoming a shield… such an idiot! I miss my king,” 3.14 sobbed.

“From now on, you all can call me Nina. I think that’s what CJ would want,” Nina stated tearfully.

All of a sudden, music from her Antenna started playing. It was “Beautiful Girls” by Sean Kingston.

~YOU’RE WAY TOO BEAUTIFUL GIRL. THAT’S WHY IT WILL NEVER WORK, YOU’LL HAVE ME SUICIDAL, SUICIDAL. WHEN YOU SAY IT’S OVER.~

Nina’s tears poured out twice as much now.

She stated vexingly, “What’s going on!!! Why is this song playing… and out of all songs, this one?! I certainly didn’t play it and I don’t want to hear a song talking about THIS right now…”

“Haha. I just wanted to see you struggle for a moment there Nina,” a familiar voice said.

“What? That sounds like CJ,” I said.

The voice continued, “Don’t worry I haven’t totally left you guys all alone.”

Where is it coming from?

Nina looked really flustered now and continued, “WHERE ARE YOU? STOP PLAYING GAMES, YOU IDIOT!”

“Relax, relax. I’m telling you I’m right here,” the pear hovering over 3.14 said.

We all started looking at the Pear now, in wonder.

“That’s right. I exist as this now; I did always wonder how those integers inside your head looked like. Now I get to hang out with them all the time, and I can always throw myself into the groupings. Throw your calculations off even more, and this time I can finally fulfill my role. I can support you as much as possible, whenever you go off to battle. Everything I own is now truly yours,” CJ the glowing pear said.

3.14 replied, “My calculations did not predict that you’d be able to live on as energy within me? So, we can continue to exist like this?”

CJ said with a chuckle, “Of course we can. I have collected so much energy throughout the years that I honestly won’t kick the bucket until you do. Besides, I’ve finally given you the one thing you’ve always wanted. From now on, I’ll be inside you for the rest of time.”

Nina turned completely red and flustered, “HEY! WHAT THE DIGITS DO YOU THINK YOU’RE SAYING, HUH? YOU’RE LUCKY I CAN’T PHYSICALLY HURT YOU NOW!”

“HAHAHAHA! THAT’S MY GIRL. YOU SURE ARE LOOKING PRETTY HEATED,” CJ laughed in response.

It took a moment for Nina to recollect herself from CJ’s shady statement.

Nina turned to everyone and said, “Well technically since we’re together like this now, that makes us androgynous. From now on you will refer to us as a they/them.”

Jo replied, “Everything you say… Thank you, God. We’re working all together, peace and love!”

Hahaha, good old Jo. I’m so glad he’s here, I feel that I wouldn’t have been able to participate in taking that monster down if it wasn’t for his cheers. Classic Jo; always helping, even in the simplest ways. Ah that reminds me, there’s something I’ve been wanting to ask Ako.

I walked up to Ako and stated my question, “Hey Ako. I was wondering… what were your desires?”

Ako smiled and replied, “It should be obvious my Godson. My desire has always been to follow the will of the Ancestors and help the planet heal. Speaking of healing, the Cona Vights are not the only being’s that we need to take down, there are several other dangers out there that are hurting our mother rock. We will have to go out and slay them eventually, but for now… let’s go back and eat. We need to replenish ourselves after a grand battle like this.”

“Who want’s some cookies?!? I say we go for dessert first and dinner second,” Granny Italia stated.

Augusto said, “That sounds good to me, abuela.”

“That will be quite the sacrifice for our colons,” Ako replied.

I butted in, “Ugh. Everything is always sacrifice this and sacrifice that with you…”

Maxx joined in, “I could really go for a Big Mac, right about now…”

Ranger barked.

Holli waved goodbye, flew off to her frozen pond and said, “It’s time for me to take a nap.”

The Lion Sleeps Tonight by the Tokens played from Nina-CJ’s antenna as we journeyed back to the village.

~IN THE JUNGLE, THE MIGHTY JUNGLE. THE LION SLEEPS TONIGHT. IN THE JUNGLE, THE GIANT JUNGLE. THE LION SLEEPS TONIGHT. WIMOWEH, WIMOWEH, WIMOWEH, WIMOWEH, WIMOWEH.~

Adventure
Like

About the Creator

Patrick Oleson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.