Fiction logo

The possession

Faithless

By K-jayPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 6 min read
1

Dr Maria Fisher sat in the office of Father O'Neill waiting for him to explain why she had been invited here. The email she received had been vague and provided just enough mastery to spark her curiosity.

What do you know about what we do here Maria?

Maria looked the man questioning her directly in the eye,like she was taught. As she did she examined him. Father O'Neill was a stern looking man. He had little to no hair, and what was left clung to the side of his head, graying. He had visible bags under eyes from many sleepless nights, and permanent wrinkles in his forehead from stress or worry, or both.

This building is owned by the Catholic Church dedicated to treating afflictions of the mind.

You are correct. We tend to patients with mental illnesses. We believe the patients in our building to be beyond the scope of modern medicine and modern diagnosis.

What are you saying Father?

Plainly put we believe our patients to be possessed. Maria almost laughed, but thought better of it.

I'm sorry, possessed?

Do you believe in God Maria? Do you have relationship with Christ?

I do not. Is that a requirement?

No. Quite the opposite actually. It's good you don't. It makes you more skeptical and serves our purpose.

Okay. So how may my skepticism serve you.

We want you to evaluate a patient. The fact that some people may use possession as an excuse to avoid criminal justice is not lost on the church. We want you to evaluate a few of our patients and give us your opinion. Starting with this girl. You are the best psychiatrist in the country. Will you help us in this regard?

Maria looked at the file for Rosalynn Anderson that Father O'Neill handed her.

I'm always willing to work with new patients. So yes Father I will assist the church in this regard. May I see the girl?

You may but I must insist on shadowing you.

It says here that she murdered her mother and father. Surely you have taken precautions. Is shadowing necessary? Oh...you think the girl is still dangerous?

To someone like you, I believe so.

Someone like me?

A non-believer.

You really believe this girl to be possessed?

Yes I do. Unless you can convince me otherwise.

Take me to the girl.

Father O'Neill lead Maria to an examination room with two chairs and a singular table. Handcuffed to the table was the patient. Father O'Neill entered first.

Rosalynn there is someone here I would like you to meet. This is Dr.Maria Fischer. I would like you two to speak today. Is that okay. The girl nodded her head silently.

Hello Rosalynn. As Father O'Neill said, I am a doctor. I just want to talk. Lets start with how you are feeling.

I'm scared.

I understand. Meeting new people can be scary.

I'm not scared of you. I'm scared for you. You are not like father O'Neill.

What do you mean Rosalynn? In what way are we different?

You'll see. She is coming.

Rosalynn began to shake violently. Her eyes rolled to the back of her head. She dug deep,long scratches into the table. When she finally stopped she stared at Maria.

Rosalynn are you okay? Rosalynn answer me.

Rosalynn is not here.

Okay? Then who are you?

I am Elizabeth.

Well Elizabeth,where is Rosalynn?

She's in a pit of demons. Being robbed of her virtue no doubt.

Maria felt uneasy. She dealt with personality disorders before. She even saw a few with aggressive personalities, but this was different. Personalities were developed to protect not harm the host.

Well Elizabeth,tell me about yourself.

You could not begin to comprehend anything about me you dumb bitch. Just know I'm here to do my masters bidding.

What master? What bidding?

Get me out of here and you'll learn all about it. I like you Maria. You don't have the stench of the people who usually troll around this place. None of them ever want to play with me.

Rosalynn stopped talking and leaned over the table. She gestured with her index finger for Maria to come closer. Maria leaned in close to Rosalynn.

Do you want to play with me? Rosalynn whispered into Maria's ear. I know your secret,you enjoy the company of other women. Take me from this place, and I will show you eminence pleasure.

Rosalynn then tongued Maria's ear. Maria jumped back wiping her ear. She stared at Rosalynn in shock. How could this girl know that about her?

Rosalynn laughed. Maybe I'm wrong about you. You are a prude just like the others. Rosalynn continued laughing.

That is enough for today Maria. Follow me.

Father O'Neill led Maria into the hall and shut the room door.

Well?

Well what?

Do you believe me now, that the girl is possessed?

I believe she suffers from sever psychosis. I believe she has multiple personalities and suffers from childhood trauma, but I'm not ready to sip the Kool-Aid just yet.

My child,what well it take to make you believe.

More than one meet that's for sure. After all you brought me here to be skeptical right?

I would like to stay here tonight and speak with Rosalynn again first thing in the morning.

As you wish. We will set a place for you.

Maria awoke to the sound of a strange, sweet alluring voice. She got up out of bed and followed the sound to its source... Rosalynn's room. Maria stood in front of Rosalynn's door bathed in a soft green light that was coming from the room. Inside the room stood the most beautiful women Maria had ever seen. On the bed was Rosalynn, sound asleep. The women beckoned Maria into the room. Maria could not resist. She obeyed the strange woman.

Maria I know of the turmoil you feel inside, I know of the pain. I can take that away. I can give you pleasure. I can give you peace. And Most importantly, I can give you vengeance. The power to punish those who wronged you. Your father who hurt you. Your mother who never accepted you and neglected you. Align your will with mine let me in to your vessel, and know glory.

Maria nodded silently to the woman through teary eyes. As soon as she did Maria felt her body and mind being invaded. She no longer had control of her body. She could not see the woman, but she could feel her presence.Maria felt herself slipping into nothingness. She drifted off. She heard a voice like before,only not so sweet. You dumb slut! Because of you countless lives will suffer starting with those you love most. Because you gave yourself so easily I offer you oblivion. Consider it a mercy you don't deserve.

The next morning Father O'Neill stood in Rosalynn's room staring in horror at the scene before him. Rosalynn was murdered. Written in blood on her wall was the word 'Goodbye'. The only consolation was that the poor girls soul may finally have peace.

Father, we went to find Dr.Maria but she isn't there. Should we search for her?

No need, I fear Dr.Maria is long gone... far beyond our reach. We should have never allowed someone with no faith to walk these halls. This information should be enough to continue funding for our cause, but the coast is heavy. May God have mercy on our souls and Maria's.

Horror
1

About the Creator

K-jay

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.