Fiction logo

The Poker Room Wall

A Witness to a Century of Secrets and Tales

By Finola bozlarPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like

If walls could talk, I'd have many tales to tell. I am the wall of the Poker Room, a place where secrets are kept and fortunes are won and lost. I've been around for over a hundred years, and I've seen it all. From the glamour of the Roaring Twenties to the depression of the Great War, I've stood witness to countless games of skill and luck. I've seen men and women of all walks of life come through these doors, each with a different story to tell.

In my younger years, I was adorned with elegant wallpaper and adorned with intricate carvings. The room was filled with the sound of clinking glasses, laughter, and the shuffling of cards. Gentlemen in three-piece suits and ladies in flapper dresses would gather around the green felt table, playing for high stakes and making deals that would change their lives forever.

But it wasn't always so glamorous. Behind closed doors, I've seen more than a few shady deals go down. I've seen men cheat, lie, and steal to get what they want. I've seen fists fly and blood spill over the cards. And yet, through it all, the games continued, and the room remained a sanctuary for those seeking adventure, excitement, and the thrill of the gamble.

As the years passed, the room changed with the times. The wallpaper faded, the carvings grew dull, and the laughter became less frequent. But the games continued, and the room remained a sanctuary for those seeking adventure, excitement, and the thrill of the gamble.

During the war, the room was all but forgotten. The doors were locked, and the only sounds were the occasional footsteps of soldiers passing by. But as soon as the conflict ended, the games resumed, and the room was once again filled with the sounds of shuffling cards and the laughter of victors.

In the 1950s, the room underwent a renovation. The wallpaper was stripped away, revealing my bare bricks, and the carvings were sanded down. The table was replaced with a sleek, modern design, and the room was painted a stylish shade of green. The games continued, but the players were different. They were rough-and-tumble men with a hunger for risk and reward. They were the type of men who would stop at nothing to get what they wanted, and the room was their playground.

As the years went on, I saw the rise and fall of many players. Some were brilliant, always a step ahead of their opponents. Others were lucky, always drawing the right card at the right time. And then there were those who were simply reckless, betting everything they had on a single hand. I've seen players come and go, some with pockets full of money and others with nothing but the clothes on their backs.

And then there was Jake. He was a regular in the room, always sitting in his favorite chair, smoking his cigar, and playing his cards with a quiet confidence. He was the type of player that everyone respected, and no one ever wanted to cross. But one night, everything changed.

I was a silent witness to the scene that played out in front of me. The room was packed, with players crowded around the table, each one eager to take on the legendary Jake. And then, it happened. The cards were dealt, the bets were made, and the tension was palpable. And then, just as suddenly as it started, it was over. Jake had lost. He lost everything he had, his money, his house, and even his dignity. He left the room, head held low, and I never saw him again.

In the decades that followed, the Poker Room continued to evolve, but the essence of the place remained the same. The games continued, the players came and went, and I stood witness to it all. I've seen the rise of new technologies and the fall of old empires, but the Poker Room remained a constant, a place where the thrill of the gamble never faded.

In my old age, I've grown tired of the constant hustle and bustle of the room. But I take comfort in the fact that I've played a small part in the stories of so many people. If walls could talk, I'd tell you of the laughter and tears, the triumphs and defeats, and all the secrets that have passed through these doors.

But for now, I'll simply stand here, silently observing, until the next tale begins to unfold in front of me. For as long as the Poker Room stands, I'll be here, a silent witness to the secrets and events that take place in front of me. If walls could talk, I'd have many tales to tell, but for now, I'll simply stand here, and keep the secrets locked away.

Young AdultHistoricalClassical
Like

About the Creator

Finola bozlar

〰️ Fiction (Horror/Thriller)

〰️ Non-Fiction (Nutrition and True Crime)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.