Fiction logo

The perfect person

a dream man

By Shannon ManningPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
The perfect person
Photo by Christian Wiediger on Unsplash

I can control anything, but my emotions. That is how I will start my speech. But before I can write, I must sleep. For a girl of seventeen years old, I seem to have life down packed. Good grades- check! Good Family- Check! And a Fairly decent part time job- check! I was on track to having a great career and going to a great school. The only thing wrong in my life was you. I had never known love or made time for. I was so self-absorbed in my own success that when you came I lost all control. Emotions overtook me and I felt trapped in someone else’s body. I was a puppet with someone else pulling the strings. And this all started, the summer of 2014.

There I was bright-eyed looking with eager expectation on the bright future I had in store. First ever generation to go to college. I was going to let nothing hold me back. Walking through the halls on the last day of school, I walked solo because for four years, I was all I needed. High school boys had no depth, not the depth they could share on my level. They were more concerned with prom king, football games, and drinking. All of which, no offense, was beneath me. I had a different path in life, and I would not let that be led astray, by anyone. That was my hard core belief, until we marched to that graduation center and I locked eyes with you. It seemed that in that moment we were the only two souls in the center.

“Handsome valedictorian,” my classmates whispered, as every girl in the room had her eyes focused on you.

“He’s from the downtown school”

“I’ve never heard a high schooler speak so eloquently,” the girls were amazed.

Although I was astounded, I kept my joy inside- which I do best.

When you were done, a standing ovation. I hoped that you would soon stay for my turn, my speech to woo you.

As I walked on the stage confidence oozed out, as I delivered a speech even Martin Luther King Jr would be proud of, but alas no cheers, no joy, only one applause, and that was from you. I just knew you were different. You were not a regular high-schooler, but you, like me had depth. We shared a connection, these children could not understand.

“Hello,” you actually walked over to me and spoke, I could not breathe.

What is this sensation. I have never not been in control. Am i ill?

“Hi, “ I said with a faint smile.

“Some of us are going to the carnival after graduation, I loved your speech would you join,” he asked.

How was it so simple? Is this what it is to be asked out? Something so random, you don’t even plan, you can’t even understand?

“I’d love to,” my mouth almost drooled. Play it cool!!!!

Moments later we were walking to a carnival, speaking about truths on a deeper level than I had even known. Revealing you emotions, and thinking and thoughts, I was captivated by a force unheard of.

I must shed these teenager emotions. I have a future.

“What do you like to do, “ he would say.

I’ve never known someone my age interested in what I do.

I would rattle off some topic, and the smile of approval you offered was the only acceptance I was looking for.

We approach the bull riding machine, you stared at me, and said you would win me a stuffed animal.

Win me? I’ve never had anyone, rather or needed anyone to win me anything, get a grip on yourself, Stacey.

You rode that bull with all your might.

I guess he is kinda cute. I do like that way he tries to impress me.

After ten minutes, he was done and I had the biggest prize, no girl around had ever had- a stuffed giraffe.

“I won that for you,” he panted, “because even though life may be challenging, like that bull, we keep riding it together, to get that victory.”

My heart melted, as he used profound quotes. I knew that I finally found what ever girl seemed to be searching for- someone to talk to- someone to relate to- someone to be theres.

The best day of my life.

As we walked hand in hand, I knew that my life would be different now. No more can I control what life throws at me like the bull, but I can always pull the reins in and come off victories.

Life may give me love, friends, and happiness, sadness and even despair.

I thanked him for teaching me that.

I woke from my dream, with my speech in my hand, ready to show the school how wrong I had been, and I think my dream man for that.

Fan Fiction
2

About the Creator

Shannon Manning

I am a literary advocate. I never really honed in on my writing until this pandemic. I believe the best writing can come from times of trial.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.