Fiction logo

The Old Run-Down Barn

Wilmington's 4th of July Celebration!

By J.W. BairdPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I grew up in a quiet farm town called Wilmington. I remember running through the fields of flowers on hot summer days.

Racing with friends down the dirt roads on our bikes, and swimming in the pond found in the backwoods behind our home.

We would chase the butterflies during the day. And watch the fireflies light up the night skies.

It was almost July. I was looking forward to watching the fireworks and celebrating in our small town at the holiday festival.

Two weeks before the big event a storm came raging through our small town. It blew down trees and tossed around flowerpots.

The news spread around our little town quite fast. The holiday festival was going to be cancelled if we could not find a new venue.

I hopped on my bike and pedaled as quickly as I could. I stopped when I came up to the old run-down barn that sits on McLloyd’s old lot.

The lot had been sitting there abandoned since McLester McLloyd had passed away. No family came to claim his land.

I ran up to the old run-down barn filled with sheer bliss. Had I found it. The venue needed for this year's holiday festival.

The old run-down barn needed a lot of work, and we had a short amount of time left to get it ready.

I told my mom and dad as soon as I got home. The next morning, they called the town's mayor and shared with him the good news.

The next few days half the town came out to fix up McLester McLloyd's old run-down barn.

There was some new wood laid down for a dance floor. There was even a built-in area for us to set up food and drinks.

After some lights were put up, and a few decorations hung, a big sign was painted that read Happy 4th of July!

A few of our neighbors finished putting a finishing coat on the outside of the barn. Everywhere I looked people had huge smiles across their faces.

We were all so proud that we came together to make this year's holiday festival the best one yet.

The night went on without a hitch. There was a huge turnout, it looked like the whole town of Wilmington was at this year’s event.

I arrived just before they brought out the huge cake. It read Happy 4th of July! The cake was decorated with red, white, and blue candy stars.

Everyone was dressed in their best summer outfits. The kids ran around McLester McLloyd’s old property while screaming with excitement.

Every year we hold this potluck where each family brings a dish to pass. There were hamburgers with several different types of cheese to choose from, and condiments galore. There were chips and dips, a variety of salads, and tons of desserts.

The one day each year our families allowed all of the kids to drink soda, or kool aid. Some kids looked more forward to it than others as their parents only allowed them to drink juice or water.

We stuffed ourselves with food until it felt that our tummies would explode. There were so many activities to choose from to keep us busy until nightfall.

Some played volleyball, or kickball while others made crafts at a special stand that gets set up each year. I always tried to make my parents something special to give them on their birthdays.

This year I hand crafted my mom a necklace made out of wire and a beautiful crystal stone that I found along the seashore. I created a masterpiece for my dad made out of different colors of sand. I cannot wait to see their faces when they open up this year’s presents.

The hour finally arrived it was time for the firework show to begin. I made sure I got the best seat. It was right down in the center of the front row!

Series
Like

About the Creator

J.W. Baird

Who Am I?

I keep asking myself. I spent half of my life as a single mother. Pushing myself to be the strong independent individual that I have always been. My kids have grown and my life seems turned upside down.

I now search to find myself!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

J.W. Baird is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.