Fiction logo

The Necklace

Promise of Oblivion

By Bex JordanPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
4
WARNING (Photo: @UmaSabirah)

It sparkles as I turn it in my hand, the scarlet jewel coming to life in its bright silver setting. The pendant burns from within, and I find myself unable to pull away. My face falls slack as I draw it closer, studying the glittering facets of the fist-sized stone. I know I shouldn't put it on--I'd heard all of the warnings. Unthinking, I slip the heavy chain over my head, feeling the weight of it settle against my chest.

The world opens up. Everything goes black.

Short StoryMysteryHorror
4

About the Creator

Bex Jordan

She/They. Writer. Gardener. Cat-Lover. Nerd. Always looking up at the sky or down at the ground.

Profile photo by Román Anaya.

Instagram: @UmaSabirah

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Test12 months ago

    We like it! If you had given an historical clue like Egyptian or Sumerian or Aztec or something regarding the pendant, it might have created more atmosphere. But it is certainly intriguing.💙Anneliese

  • Nice one❤️‼️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.