Fiction logo

The Mystery of Love

Releasing rage is one of the most excellent methods to restore love.

By Ayman BaroudiPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like

Mr. Adams ordered the best available lobster, big enough to accompany his bottle of wine and cooked with love to compensate for sleeping alone that night.

“Won’t Mrs. Adams join you for dinner tonight?” The waiter Sofia asked with a hidden smile.

“No, she left me for good.”

“Good.”

“Good and bad.” Mr. Adams looked at Sofia, “ Would you mind rush serving my dinner? I’m hungry.”

“You’re always hungry.”

“Yes, and forever,” Mr. Adams sighed.

“Nothing lasts forever.”

The head waiter looked at Sofia, boiling in anger. The restaurant is full of regulars waiting to order their dinner. Still, Sofia’s been chatting with Mr. Adams like she’d nothing else to do.

“Sofia, Please we talk later. Now I’m hungry.” Mr. Adams said patiently.

“Do you think eating more Lobsters would end your constant hunger ?”

“Sofia, Listen, I’m here to eat, not to listen to your voice of wisdom.”

“You eat and eat, and the more you eat, the more you want.”

“Sofia, stop it. I had enough of you; all I want now is my dinner.”

………………

………………

Mr. Adams started eating with a good appetite; he emptied his mind from anything but eating and enjoying his dinner.

“Do you like it?” Sofia, who was watching him with a hidden smile, asked him.

“It’s good.”

“Yes, it’s a good Lobster gratin. It’s full of butter, milk, and cheese.”

“Good.” Mr. Adams took a long sip of wine.

“Mr. Adams, can you count how many Lobsters you’ve eaten during your lifetime, how many cows, how many… .”

“Sofia, stop it. Just get away, get away from here.”

“Can you count how many Mrs. Adams you had in your life?”

“Stop it.”

“How many Mrs. Adams you’ve destroyed in your life?

The head waiter couldn’t be patient anymore. He came up to Sofia and ordered her to stop disturbing Mr. Adams.

“I’ll not stop,” Sofia dared to shout at the head waiter and turned to Mr. Adams. “Can you remember I was once Mrs. Adams? One of your Mrs. Adams, and now I’m just Sofia. A poor Sofia, who serves in Holy Crab Restaurant.”

“It’s history. Why you open all that tonight?”

“Because the last Mrs. Adams has gone and the new one not arrived yet. Because tonight you’re alone, and I have got a chance to talk.”

Mr. Adams had enough of offense; he left two hundred dollars at the table, “The rest is your tip.” He told Sofia and left the restaurant.

………………..

………………..

Mr. Adams drove all evening around the city wondering, ‘Why am I what I’m? Why do I ruin everything up at the end? I’m a good man. I work hard, and I don’t play around. Every time I got married, I wanted to build up a family, and I gave a lot to make my ex-wives happy. But in the end, I always spoiled everything and ended up with another divorce.’

Mr. Adams remembered how his father smashed his mother’s nose once. ‘I also smashed Sofia’s nose when I lost my temper.’ He remembered how his mother used to be depressed and reflected her anger on him and once broke his arm. ‘I also broke my last wife’s arm when I got angry.’ He thought.

Mr. Adams was now starving. He passed many restaurants while touring the city, but he wanted to return to Holy Crab Restaurant.

He remembered Sofia’s hard time during their failed marriage and how he fought not to pay her a penny when they divorced.

‘Yes, she was right when she exploded on me tonight.’ Mr. Adams thought, and for the first time in his life, he decided to say sorry and admit he’d never been a good husband.

In the parking of Holy Crab Restaurant, Mr. Adams found Sofia looking for her car, “Sofia,” She turned. Her eyes were red and wet. And her face was decorated by the blackness of the mascara and her tears.

“What happened?”

“Dam you. It’s your doom face, which can do nothing but jinx me and spoil my life,” Sofia screamed. “The boss fired me because I argued with you and let you leave without eating your diner.”

“Tell him to go to hell.”

“I’m the one who will go to hell. I’m the one who should now find a new job to survive.”

“Come, we will go somewhere to eat something and talk.”

“We talk about what?”

“I don’t know. But we will talk frankly and faithfully.”

“Frankly, you’re the worst man under the sun.”

“I know. And that’s why I need you to give me a second chance to be a good husband having a good family and life.”

“You want me back to smash my nose again?”

“You do not need to worry. I’ll buy you injury insurance for a million dollars.”

Sofia wiped her tears and looked at Mr. Adams.

“Sofia, you don’t need to give a long thought,” Mr. Adams said, and his face reflected his goodwill. “I become mature.”

“Me too. I have become mature enough to know what we break; we can’t fix it again.”

“Let us have a trial period.” Mr. Adams begged Sofia.

“It’s too late. I’m ok with my new boyfriend, and I wish you to find a woman who loves you, and you prove you deserve her love.”

Sofia drove her car away. Mr. Adams stood still for a while, ‘no way I give up, even if she’s ok with a boyfriend, I must fight to get her back.’ He jumped into his car, pressed down on the accelerator, and took off at the maximum speed. ‘I’ll follow Sofia even if she drives to the end of the world,’ He determined. ‘That’s her car,’ He passed Sofia’s car over and waved to her to pull over.

“What do you want?” Sofia screamed at Mr. Adams when she got out of her car.

“I want you, even if I pay my life to get you back.”

“Are you drunk? What rubbish you try to say.”

“I tell the truth.”

“Why did not you say it earlier. When I was your wife!”

“Because you were never frank with me. You’d never objected, never screamed, and never released your rage on me.”

“Then, I’ll do it now, right now, and would tell you frankly to go to hell.” Sofia shouted and got back to her car and took off.”

Mr. Adams jumped back to his car and chased Sofia. By a miracle, he avoided having an accident. Sofia pulled over and got out of her car, “Are you mad? I’m going to call the police.”

“Call the police, call the UN, I’ll never give up,” Mr. Adams said and pulled Sofia to him by force.

“Stop, stop. You have no right to touch me.”

“I have got the full right because I’m in love with you.” Mr. Adams insisted. Sofia struggled to free herself like a cat caught in a trap, but Mr. Adams’s muscles were more robust than her will. So, she gave up and surrendered to the manhood strength of her stubborn offender.

Slowly, Sofia’s body became softer and softer between Mr. Adams’s arms and radiated specific heat. Mr. Adams’s received well the message of Sofia’s body. He dared to kiss her more and more till she responded well to his lips. And they went into a long soul kiss with a non-announced agreement that they were going to open a new page in their lives.

Love
Like

About the Creator

Ayman Baroudi

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.