Fiction logo

The Mystery Box

I never thought he would send this.

By Keri FunkPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

When I woke up that morning I figured it would be a normal Monday. Little did I know, this Monday would change my life forever. I got out of bed and headed to my kitchen for breakfast, when I heard a weird buzzing sound. I looked out my back door and saw a black drone flying over my house. I saw a small brown box hanging off of the bottom of the drone. I thought to myself "I didn't order anything lately." The drone circled my house again, dipped down low, dropped the box on my porch, and buzzed off. I stepped outside onto the cold porch to look at the box. "What is in the box and who is it from?" I wondered. The box was only about the size of a plastic mailbox so I knew it couldn't be anything too big. I bent over to pick up the box and as I saw the return address I froze. I couldn't believe who it was from.... my ex fiance. I wondered why he was sending me anything, we had called off things more than a year ago. I walked back inside with the box wondering "What and why would he send me anything?" When we called things off we both agreed we wouldn't contact each other, so why did he send me something? I cut open the box with my knife and inside the box was a white box with a red ribbon. I picked it up and could hear something sliding around from me tilting it. I opened the cute box and inside was a note. All it said was "I had to know" and that was all. Under the note was a sliver chain, and on the end of the chain was a ruby red heart encased by gold. It was very beautiful, but the note stayed in my mind. "What did he mean?" Under the necklace was a note it read "Dear user, congratulation you have been given a magical heart necklace. The way this necklace works is amazingly simple. You put it on and think of the person who gave it to you. If you love them, the heart will glow." I was hesitant at first to put on the necklace because, to be honest, I didn't know if it would glow or not. I had spent the last year trying to forget my ex. I couldn't believe he was trying to contact me. I kept thinking "If the heart does glow, then what do I call him to tell him?" I decided to wait and think if to put the necklace on. After lunch, I turned on my laptop and brought up the few pictures I didn't delete of my ex-fiance. I closed my eyes and with shaking hands, I put the necklace on. Once I had the necklace on, I opened my eyes, looked at the pictures I had up on my laptop, and watched to see if the heart started to glow. After about five minutes, my worst fear came true, the heart started to glow. I was so stunned I started to cry. After I stopped crying, I called my ex. "Why did you need to know if I still loved you?" I asked. He said, "Because when I bought the necklace, and put it on I thought of you and the heart glowed. And I wanted to know if it would glow when you thought of me." I took a deep breath and said, "Well the heart did glow when I put it on and thought of you." After that we decided to give us another try. We are engaged now and are getting married in the spring. I was never one to believe in magic, but after this happened I believe in magic now.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Keri Funk

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.