Fiction logo

The Moral of Fairy Tales

Micro fiction about the villainy of time

By Alison McBainPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
The Moral of Fairy Tales
Photo by Jake Thacker on Unsplash

When I was the same age as the heroine, I had no questions about an incontrovertible fact: bad guys are always old.

But time waved its magic wand, and the images I saw before me inverted like film negatives. Now, the villain appears in the mirror I look into every day.

So, what the hell? With a shrug, I pick up the poisoned apple in my gnarled hand and store it safely in my basket. When the moment of truth arrives, I know what I will do. With a lifetime behind me, I certainly have no regrets.

Fantasy
1

About the Creator

Alison McBain

Alison McBain writes fiction & poetry, edits & reviews books, and pens a webcomic called “Toddler Times.” In her free time, she drinks gallons of coffee & pretends to be a pool shark at her local pub. More: http://www.alisonmcbain.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)about a year ago

    Nice one 😉❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.