Fiction logo

The Moon King and the Wyldling

Jessica Baird

By Jessica BairdPublished 2 years ago 18 min read
1

“Alistair!” I heard Fexus shout and wheeled around as my sword connected with the sharp tendrils of a Bount. The oversized and boney dog-like creature hissed at me angrily and I parried a second attack from it.

“Fex!” I called and the mage conjured a fireball. As I dispatched the beast, my men were finishing with theirs.

After the battle was over the remaining and wounded Bounts retreated into the black shadows of the Wyld Wood, and my men gathered in a tight pack. We set up our protective border around our small camp, and the others went to work preparing food or treating wounds. Fexus cast healing mists over our rank, and collapsed onto his bed roll. The man was asleep in an instant.

“Thank you, friend.” I patted his shoulder and sat beside him. Sir Gallan sat beside me and handed me a portion of meat and bread. “It feels good to win one, without losing anyone, I mean. I think we're understanding these demons better.”

“Well we need more mages on the front, your majesty.” Sir Gallan said bluntly. “Fexus is becoming over exhausted. He won’t last.”

“I know. Let's send a messenger owl to the Veil. We are defending their builders, the least they could do is lend a hand.”

“You're right.” The knight nodded. “any word from Wyldking Baedron or the clans?”

“Not one. I assume they're keeping to themselves.” I sloughed off my gauntlets and bracers. “it's to be expected. Those Wyldlings can be cowards.” I said in distaste, thinking of my last interaction with the orange haired king. If it didn't concern him or his clans, then they would not aid us, he had made that clear.

We rested another day, and worked toward erecting stronger barriers before we saw any of the horde of Bounts. We cleared the field and started to lay logs to mark where the walls would go for the new fort according to Fexus’ instruction, but the peace did not last. It was not long before the monsters caught us off guard and though we were exhausted, we held our ground. The battle was gruesome and a few of my men were wounded. As I sliced through countless monsters I felt like the wave wouldn’t end.

A bount had me pinned against a boulder, and I could feel my strength fading when at the eleventh hour a cacophonous ringing blared across the field. From the trees, dozens of warriors flew.

On wings of light from their ankles they dove toward the Bounts, dismantling them quickly. At their point was a small woman with a longbow. She quickly shot a glowing arrow and it sliced through the Bount I was locked with. As soon as the monster was ash, she landed in it’s place, and glared up into my eyes. I noticed only then that all of the warriors who landed across our battle field were women.

The woman before me looked impatient. “They're weak to light, you moron. Aren't you the Moon King from Eudiorion? A light mage?” She scoffed.

“You can’t call me a Moron- and we thought fire-” I growled at her. I was struck in the moment by her elven features but her sharp tone pulled me from my admiration.

“only for its light.” She rolled her sapphire eyes. “My huntresses and I will assist you until you finish your work for the holy land. Then you will leave here. It is your presence that has stirred the ancient demons from their slumber.”

“You're blaming me and my men for a problem that started months before we got here? Not likely. Who are you anyway?” I sheathed my sword, but kept my hand on my hilt.

“Princess Corrin. Daughter of Wyldking Baedron.” She thrust her chest proudly like any soldier would and offered me her hand.

“A princess? Really? That monster of a man Baedron has an Itty bitty-” her sharp eyes stopped me from going on. I took her hand to kiss it as I would in court but she only shook mine firmly and dropped it.

“I'm not that small and I could kill you with one arrow from my bow a hundred metres away.” The Princess said quickly. She seemed unnerved.

I couldn’t help but smile at her amusing expression before I heard Gallan. “Sire! Fexus has fallen!” Immediately I rushed to where they stood and knelt beside my friend. He had not been injured by any of the Bounts. Instead blood drained from his nose and mouth and he was gasping for air.

“What have you done to him?” The Princess dropped to her knees beside him immediately and placed her hand gently on his chest. He eyed her shakily and then me, as if to ask me who she was.

“This is Princess Corrin. Fex I am so sorry.” I took his hand.

She glared at me. “Let him go- we can heal him- quickly before he bleeds out-” I let Fexus’ hand go reluctantly, and she pushed me back. Two other huntresses came to form a triangle around his torso and all of them joined hands. They closed their eyes and began to hum. As the sweet lilt of their voices reached my ears, I was drawn to the ground to pause and listen.

I closed my eyes as if their magic was healing me as well, and almost drifted to sleep. I had never witnessed such a sweet and soft spell like theirs before.

I was unaware of the amount of time that passed by us but when I opened my eyes, it was night and from the grasses around us fireflies danced in elaborate patterns, and Fexus was enveloped in a gentle green glow; the women were still sitting around him, but their song had stopped. As I looked around the field, all my men were on their knees, as I was, and the women warriors stood guard.

I stood and whistled and Sir Gallan bounded toward me. “What is happening?”

“They’ve healed us all, sire. I have heard of this sort of magic- like what mothers use to soothe babes. It's sweet- even smells nice.” He was in awe. SIr Gallan wasn’t in the habit of using complicated spells, but he did appreciate those who could.

“These women would be strong allies. I am… impressed.” I whispered to him. “And the Princess. She’s fiery.”

“You would like her-” He guffawed. “You like the little feisty ones.”

I punched him in the shoulder. “Let's set camp as the men come to.”

Sir Gallan pointed and I swivelled to see that there were already tents and small fires burning. Witchlights glowed all around the camp, illuminating most nooks.

“Gods above. That Wyldking was selfish to keep this to himself all this time.”

“My father doesn’t know-” Princess Corrin's bell-like voice made me jump.

“What?” I asked, confused. “He didn’t change his mind then?”

“No. I decided to come on my own. All these ladies are a part of my own court- we hunt together. And practice together, as you can see. We decided my fathers choice to forego assisting you hopeless lot was too cruel.”

“How's Fexus?” I attempted to change the subject from our abysmal efforts.

“I cannot believe you make him do so much magic by himself when you are more than capable from the stories I have heard.” She scolded me.

“I was assisting- with a sword-” I tried to argue.

“Magic is always better than steel out here.” The princess scoffed. “Always more effective.”

“I don’t know - the thrust of a blade through an enemy who then dissolves is pretty satisfying.” I sneered at her. I couldn’t tell what she made me feel, but it was confusing.

She glared a few moments before her eyes glittered copper. “Do not speak to me anymore if it does not entail strategy.” She turned to go, and took a couple running steps before her heels lit and fiery orange butterflies carried her into the air. Corrin took off into the trees, and another woman followed her.

“I have to get her to teach me that spell.” I marvelled.

Sir Gallan chuckled. “I don’t think that woman wants anything to do with you - I doubt she’ll teach you a spell.”

“She won’t.” Another woman spoke up. She was the same height as the princess, but her honey hair was twisted into a ball on top of her head, and she was much curvier than the little royal.

“Who are you?” I asked her. Sir Gallan’s mouth moved a moment, but no sound came out. I furrowed my brows at the man and then faced the woman again.

“‘Name’s Larana. I am one of Princess Corrin’s companions. I know her well.” She eyed the knight beside me. “Is he okay?”

“I don’t know-” I punched his arm. The Knight cleared his throat and turned away from us. “Tell me more about her. She seems to be… rebellious. And so strong willed.”

Larana snorted, “Thats an apt description. She does whatever she wants. She is the youngest daughter of the Wyldking and so has many more freedoms than her sisters who were forced into arranged marriages. They hate her for it and she doesn’t care for them. The king treasures her though. She looks much like her mother, who died a few years ago. Trust me when I tell you that she is the strongest woman you will ever meet. She's got courage enough for everyone here, and she's quite keen. Her wit will impress the highest minds.”

“You speak highly of her.” I noted.

“We are close friends. I have to tell you, you really made her angry.” Larana replied in kind.

“How?” I was curious what exactly ticked her off. I wanted to talk to her more, but if I kept angering her, perhaps I would lose that opportunity.

“You’re selfishness with your mage. Magic is stronger than anyone in the outside realms gives it credit for and she is so entwined with it she doesn’t even have to speak spells anymore. But you treat one man as if he is to work himself to death when you have the same ability and can help lighten the load. All of your men can use some magic, I bet. Here, I'll give you a spell to make your weapons more useful against the Bounts. Then perhaps you can get a moment of her time.” Larana winked.

She reached for my sword, and I stepped away from her. “Do not draw another’s sword.”

“Here you do it then.” Larana snapped. I pulled the blade and she grabbed the sharp metal quickly. She sang something as she ran her hand along the blade. The metal began to glow like the moon.

“Oh-” I gasped in delight. “This is amazing.” the light faded quickly though.

“The words are easy enough. It’s singing them- you have to sing like your sword sings when you draw it from its sheath.”

“Like this?” I attempted the spell myself and the blade flickered.

“Keep practicing your highness.” She giggled. Sir Gallan approached and watched me try again. He drew his own blade and did the same, and got it on the first try. Larana was impressed.

“What skill, sir-?” She waited for him to give her his name.

“Gallan - William Gallan.” He smiled gently. I furrowed my brow as I watched my oldest friend soften at the whim of a woman.

“William?” She tried his name and smiled. I was clearly outmatched to him for her attention, so I left them alone, and found a quiet spot to practice my song, on the outskirts of the camp.

After failing for the umpteenth time, I cursed and threw the blade on the ground. I hadn’t told anyone, not even Fexus, but I had lost my magical skill a few months back. I had been a ranked Mage, but the stress of the country, the call to aid by the Veil, everything happening so quickly around me, sort of stopped me up, and I wasn't able to feel grounded or connected any longer. My magic had become unstable and unreliable. It was unnerving, which didn’t help either.

“Why do you struggle?” Her already familiar voice rang out from the blackness between the trees. Princess Corrin had been watching me.

“It's a new spell.” I shrugged. “And I’ve never been a singer.”

I could see the butterflies at her feet before I could see her. She stepped back on the ground just out of reach. Her hair was wet, and stuck to the skin on her neck. I found myself wanting to draw it off her flesh, and replace it with my lips. The thought caught me off guard, and seemed to be visible outwardly, as Corrin flicked the hair off her shoulder. “Why are you wet?”

“I bathed. Do you not bathe after a battle?”

“Not normally. Its hard to put on and take off all of this.” I motioned to my armor.

She grimaced. “I’ll help you with the spell if you promise to bathe.”

“You want me to go out into the dark by myself to… where? And remove my armor and be a sitting duck? No thank you. I haven’t decided if you can be trusted yet. Let alone the fact that the Bounts like to strike in the dark.”

“Suit yourself. Have fun fighting with that metal stick.” she moved to walk around me, but I caught her wrist, as gently as I could. They were so dainty.

“Please? I’ll bathe come morning light. I need help.” she thought it over for a few moments then sighed.

“Fine.” The Princess waited for me to pick up my blade and then touched it for a moment.

“Do you know its name?” SHe asked quietly, still focussed on the ‘metal stick.’

“Does it have a name?” My father had never mentioned anything about it having a name.

“Are you daft?” she giggled. “How do you not know? It is your sword. An extension of yourself. You lend it your strength as it lends you its sharp edge- partners in the moment of battle. And you don’t even know its name?”

“I didn’t know it came with one. It is a thing.” I snapped back at her, embarrassed.

“This is a magical thing. What do you think these are?’ she pointed at symbols along the fuller. “It says…” She glared at them for a long while. “Losgadh. It means burn.”

“You can read that?” I marvelled at her skill. Quickly the princess was becoming a person I needed in my circle. She looked up at me with wide eyes, seemingly thrown by my praising tone. Her orangy magic glittered deep in her irises, and I wondered if she was trying to read me.

“I can teach you what I know; it's an old tongue of the gods.” Corrin offered.

“That would require spending more time together.” I warned her. Corrin smiled faintly but then she blinked a few times and it faded. I found myself longing to see her smile again.

“You know you cannot stay here longer than it takes to get the wall built. The Wyldking will force you out.” she replied. Was there a touch of sadness in her tone? “He’s even apprehensive about the builders arriving. Which will be soon. I have seen their carriages. So we must secure the area quickly.”

“I assure you I will leave this wretched place as soon as we can. But I propose something else; when My men and I leave, you should come with me. Back to Clairion. It’s beautiful and warm there. And I can give you safe shelter in the palace.” I waited for her response.

“I cannot.” she said after hesitating. “This place is my home, for lack of a better word. I cannot leave the forest. Please do not ask it again. I’ll teach you what I can while we are together.”

She gnawed her bottom lip, and I noticed a strand of her hair was stuck to the corner of her mouth. Gently, so I would not spook her, I brushed it away and she shivered. “What is your name, by the way. I do not know it.” Corrin asked softly.

“Alistair Darcstar.” I answered quietly. I knew I would ask her again to come home with me, but I needed to convince her.

Corrin took a few steps back from me, and the cool air that took her place made me feel alone. “Let's get you grounded. It will require you to remove your shoes at least. It will help you with your blockage.”

“How did you know?” I asked, feeling naked all of a sudden, despite my metal layers.

“I can recognize the pain from here. I know it well. Happened to me before I decided what I wanted to do.” She shrugged. “It’s nothing to be ashamed of.”

“Are you saying I don't know what I want?” I growled.

“It is not an accusation. Simply my experience.” she said, and removed her own shoes as a show of good faith. I did as she asked, mesmerized by her wisdom. She seemed ancient, despite her young face. I could’ve attributed it easily to growing up in the unforgiving Wylds but she was more a goddess than a hermit in the woods.

We stood together, in the dark, shoeless, and in silence. She closed her eyes and tilted her head back and took a deep breath in through her nose. I did the same. “ Let go of everything.” She instructed. “Your worries and fears. Your curiosity. All of it. Let it go. Forget where you are and who you are with and listen for her hum. The ground below us, the wind around us, the clouds above us, the water within us. Listen for the sound of your heart. Of your soul, and let Xeastea fill you with each breath.” She whispered.

I let go of everything, somehow able to trust Corrin despite our circumstances. I was lost in a sea of sounds and sensations. I felt the world turn. I felt the grass brush my feet as it swayed in the gentle breeze, I felt the wind pick up the loose strands of my hair. I could feel Corrin too- she was warm and still. I noticed the sweet scent of freesias all of a sudden and like a wave, it hit me all at once, the magic I had been missing. I let out a gasp of joy as I felt it pour through my body.

“Oh gods.” I mumbled and looked back at her. She smiled brightly.

“Welcome back.” Princess Corrin purred. “Now try it again.'' I lit the blade with no issue, and the light was bright. As I looked back at the woman, I noticed in a split second the Bount behind her, as it hissed in the shining light. I reached out and grabbed her arm and pulled her to me as the monster reached to strike her. I met its flesh with my blade. Immediately it lopped off the limb and the Bount screamed. Soldiers and Huntresses came running as I held Corrin close to me and sliced at the monster.

I didn’t release her until I was sure the monster was dead, and that there were no others. Corrin looked shaken as she stood on her own. I wanted so badly to pull her close again, and hold her until she calmed, but before I could make a move she grabbed Larana and fled into a tent. The other ladies took the first watch as my men rested, and Sir Gallan and I took a tent to ourselves.

“What were you two doing over there, in the dark?” The Knight questioned me. When I didn't answer right away Sir Gallan quickly went on to whisper. “Sire, she is royalty. You must watch yourself; we wouldn’t want any international incidents.”

“Sir Gallan, you think so little of me. She was merely helping me with a spell.” I argued. “Must I remind you that I myself am a King and I will do what I please, and I do not appreciate your distrust. I was more than respectful.” I paused. “I think she is not happy here, perhaps even afraid. I intend to bring her with us back to Clairion.”

Gallan’s eyebrows shot up. “How do you intend to convince her to leave her home, her people, and everything she’s ever known?”

“I don’t have a plan yet, Gallan, but I tell you this: I cannot leave here without her. She is brilliant and strong and lovely. I cannot describe to you the wisdom I witnessed just then in her presence. She would make the most perfect Queen-” I stopped abruptly. Sir Gallan’s eyes were wide as if to ask if I had meant that. “I think I have found my queen.” I whispered to him, afraid to say the words aloud.

“If you think so, sire, then we have a lot of work to do.” the Knight sighed.

Fantasy
1

About the Creator

Jessica Baird

Look out for my upcoming novel! The first in a series, follow Molly as she learns more about herself and her true roots.

Some of my shorts take place in that same world, and shed an exclusive light into different corners of Xeastea.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.