Fiction logo

The Monster

A high speed chase in the open waters of the ocean.

By Katie DeePublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
The Monster
Photo by Luigi Frunzio on Unsplash

I push hard against the water, willing every muscle in my body to move as quickly as it can.

I am fast, but the Monster is faster.

How long it has been pursuing me, I cannot say for sure. It feels like I’ve been swimming for an eternity trying to get away. The Monster cuts through the water effortlessly, never seeming to tire. It’s almost beautiful in a way, seeing how smoothly it glides; but I can’t appreciate that now. Not while it’s trying to kill me.

Why won’t it leave me alone? Surely there is easier, tastier prey out here for the Monster to devour instead - why bother chasing me? Maybe I should have known better than to swim in these parts...I’ve heard the horror stories, sure, but they are few and far between. Granted, it’s no secret that the shallows can be a dangerous place, but I truly never believed an attack could happen to me.

Clearly I was wrong. It is happening. All I can hope for now is to get away from the Monster before it catches up to me. Or better yet, that another creature will cross our path and gain its interest instead. My eyes dart around, searching desperately for somewhere safe for me to get away that the Monster can’t follow. I’m surrounded by nothing but open water. Colorful coral reefs line the sand below me, but there’s nowhere to hide. The shallows offer no respite, no hope for protection. I can only keep moving forward, out toward the dark depths of the ocean.

Small schools of fish pass by, unconcerned by the chase unless we pass by too closely. Beyond that there are few signs of life. My hope to find a diversion is slowly fading; my only chance now is for the Monster to give up the fight, or for me to outrun it. I don’t know how realistic either scenario is, in all honesty. My entire body is aching now, my muscles on fire. It feels like I’m not getting enough oxygen as I continue to swim at full speed. What more can I do? How long can I keep this up?

I think about my life, and about my home. I’m not ready to die. I shouldn't have to, not this young anyway. It isn't fair. I was minding my own business, why would the Monster just attack me out of the blue? So many thoughts fill my mind as I start to feel my muscles giving out. The water passes by me more and more slowly - I'm slowing down. I've given all I have, and I can't keep swimming much longer...

It's time for a new approach; I'm not letting the Monster win without a fight!

Though there's not much room, I dive down suddenly as far as I am able. The abrupt change in direction throws the Monster off briefly; it continues on overhead for a few moments before realizing what has happened. It looms over me with its huge body, blocking out part of the sun and casting a shadow over my face. I don't know if I've ever seen anything more terrifying.

I try to think through my plan of attack. I don’t really know how much I can do to harm a creature that is both larger and seemingly much more resilient than I, but I have to do something. I’m not given much time to decide as something sharp pierces my side before I can make a move. Pain shoots through my body like I’ve never felt before, interrupting any thoughts I had. Blood seeps into the water around me, ballooning around me in a deep crimson red. I don’t know what caused the pain; the Monster still hovers directly above me, mocking me almost, as it watches me writhe in pain. Was it somehow able to strike without me realizing? Is there a second monster hiding in the waters?

It doesn’t matter, not really. My vision is starting to darken around the edges, and I know without looking that this is a mortal blow, wherever it came from. I don’t have much time left - this is all or nothing. I charge upwards, directly towards the belly of the Monster, hitting it with all my might. It’s hard, but lighter than I was anticipating, and flies up out of the water before flipping to its dorsal side hard against the waves above. It is unlike any beast I’ve ever encountered, difficult to describe; but I see that there are now several smaller creatures surrounding it, flailing near the surface. It’s impossible to know for sure if these creatures are with the Monster, or simply in the wrong place at the wrong time, but I don’t have time myself to figure it out. They are all my enemies now.

A sudden burst of energy fills my body as I realize I’m fighting the Monster - and actually winning. I attack everything I see, from its firm body to the fleshy creatures accompanying it. Nothing is safe from the piercing bite of my strong jaws. I tear the Monster to shreds, and it doesn’t seem to fight back. By the time I’ve nearly exhausted every ounce of energy I have left, there is nothing but scattered remains floating around in tiny pieces. Some of my teeth have broken off in the chaos, but I don’t feel a thing. By the looks of it, neither does the Monster; there is no discernible part of it left. I’ve won. I may not have survived to tell the tale, but I can’t help but feel some pride as my vision fades for good.

The Monster won’t hurt another shark again.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Katie Dee

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.