Fiction logo

The Mind of A Child Part One

By FRANK? Piccolella

By FRANK? PiccolellaPublished about a year ago 4 min read
2
In the minds of children.

The children arose like clockwork, oftentimes getting up before their parents. Some kids milk it and do everything to stay asleep. At times they work even harder to try and stay asleep. It's like a part-time job they have. We forget what might be going through the minds of our children; their struggles, their friendships, and the things they see. Their experience is lost on some of us, but it's not all over. We can put ourselves in their shoes and their wonderful minds.

Parents send us on our way to the learning institution. On the way, it dawned on us. We were part of a larger machine, and it was trying to force us into the grinder. As they travel, they all feel as if they are going to work like their parents. Everybody works. This is Our work. We won't be late. The sooner school ends, the sooner we can watch our cartoons and youtube. Everyone says I'm supposed to be the cog in the machine, but I don't even know my place. I'm six years old. I don't quite know what to do with myself. I want to get to school and get it over with. I like my friends but I feel like I'm in jail. Hard time will be served. Let's just get there first. Walk!

Daycare and Pre-K were much more about playtime, compared to my time in Grade school. No goofing off until that pressure of learning eases off later in the day. I'm not used to all of this learning. Perpetual education shapes my beautiful brain They say. There are so many rules for me to comply with. There are so many rules that the teachers have to follow to teach us. We all just want to play more. I know my parents always tell me school is the best but I'd rather be with Mommy and Daddy. I guess I'm getting used to being in school. There are friends waiting for me there. Study up, time is flying.

After studying we have college prep. This is definitely the path I want for myself. This is the school I want and not my parent's choice. It's all my original thought. They aren't relying on nepotism to get me into their universities. To be fair, I just learned all of my alphabet letters and can count to 30. But of course, college already. Expectations could be exceeding our personal "Needs". School is the school to us. Our parents have built up these ivory towers for all of us, leaving no room to feel pressure. What if we don't care about sports? Do I just want what my parents want? Why can't I just be a kid? Or is this circus for admissions worth the degree, I may never actually use? Ahh! College Prep!

Time to go to lunch. Another great time to goof off. Lunch will always be savored. Finish up your college admissions and joke about that youtube video we saw the other day. Dream of playing games all day long, and we nearly go mad waiting to dig up the Minecraft blocks. My pick axe in hand and a wobbly wifi connection. Wait why do I have bad wifi in my daydream? I want to focus on games over college. Roblox or bust! They are Among Us...as well. I haven't checked my device all day. I had to solely rely on my school tablet, computer, and several TVs. But that's it. I promise.

After lunch comes the much-buzzed-about, "More studying". Hooray! They say this is good for us. It seems as if it's more for our parents. We work hard to live up to their expectations. It's rigorous and mutually nurturing. The thinking kid studies. Study up. Study thoroughly.

Time is slowing down. We are all thinking about it. Every ounce of me wants to just freeze over so I can turn into clumps of snow. Perhaps a bit melodramatic. You get it. When will the bell ring for Recess? It's taking far too long to be myself fully untethered. Every bone cracks when the teacher moves around the room, a grating, crackling noise drowns on with an ambient flow. The hand on the clock is making a crashing sound with every tick. It's as if the air was sucked out of the room for half a minute. My bones are drying up. I will surely turn to dust by the time the bell rings.

We finally arrive at our sanctuary of the day. Less responsibility. All play. Recess has arrived and all the kids scurry off in different directions. The great playtime is right on queue. The chatter overtakes the entire space, echoing beyond the walls of the establishment. The loud creaks of the swing go back and forth quite fervently. Rusty chains hold everything together. The slide looks like everyone just ran up the slide to get up to the play area. Children line up to tackle the monkey bars. Every third kid falls near the end. The best of times are had by most parties involved. They know that the bell is coming up. Well, back to studying.

ExcerptfamilySatireHumor
2

About the Creator

FRANK? Piccolella

I enact many a dad tax on my six yearold twin girls. I am a writer and visual artist. Trying to work harder on the business side now to. Horror is my life. When it isn't I read, write, and Arithmetic. Comics and music shall suffice as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.