Fiction logo

The Migration Lottery

Hold On to What You Love

By Peri LiveseyPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
1
Photo by Kym MacKinnon on Unsplash

The ship was mobbed at boarding, clambered over by thousands desperate to flee devastation. But not by his love. Lynne remained behind the barricades, watching him leave.

Chris had seen panic on her face, when they learned they'd won the lottery. Lynne felt caged, envisioning enclosed corridors, windowless rooms... A metal warren, adrift... "I can't," she'd said, and stuck to it.

"You'll die if you stay!"

"I'll die if I go. I need ground under my feet."

"I need you!" But he accepted his ticket.

Chris watched burning Earth recede. Lynne watched fire come, dangling her toes in a lake.

MicrofictionLoveFable
1

About the Creator

Peri Livesey

An artist/writer spreading my wings.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Hasnin Abasi5 months ago

    Winning the Thai Lottery is purely a matter of luck; there's no foolproof strategy. Approach it as a game of chance, enjoy responsibly, and remember that outcomes are entirely random. https://livethailottery.com/

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.