Fiction logo

The Mermaid and the Seashell

Mermaid, Seashell, Fortune

By Amethyst ChampagnePublished 11 months ago 4 min read
1
Created by me using DALL-E

Swimming along the fast current, I felt the water graze the scales on my tail. It was nothing I wasn't used to already, although the water was getting warmer as the seasons changed.

I looked down, seeing the brilliantly colored coral reef beneath me. Fish of various sizes swam around. And other animals made their homes in the crevices and seafloor surrounding it.

I would have joined in, but the reef was too small for a mermaid like myself to fit. Oh well. I could still watch the fish go about their day.

There were reefs much bigger than this one, including the one my clan called home. We had an entire city in and around it, and we protected the reef the best we could from the Landers.

The Landers had no regard for the creature in the sea, their boats disrupting communications, their nets capturing excessive amounts of animals for food, and islands of their garbage floating around.

It was a wonder they hadn't killed off my species a long time ago.

I continued swimming around, enjoying the sights when I spotted something shiny at the bottom of the reef, but off to the side so I could reach it.

Changing course, I swam down, ensuring I didn't hit the fish or coral. We were taught as younglings not to touch, hurt, or otherwise interfere with the wild sea animals.

Then I saw what it was.

It was a purple-pink seashell housing an enormous pearl inside it. However, the top shell was missing, and no creature resided inside it. How odd, considering it wasn't a beach or shallow water.

Picking it up, I frowned at its heaviness and smoothness, my stomach feeling uneasy and my head spinning. Something was wrong! I needed to return home now!

I tried dropping it, but the shell had glued itself to my hand. Then it began glowing multiple bright hues.

I couldn't pull my gaze away from the sight. It was just so beautiful.

Words began forming in front of me. They were fuzzy but burned themselves into my soul, the phrase popping up in my mind.

"You will soon come to a crossroads, and your choice will impact many."

Then just as quickly as it started, the event was over, the seashell slipping out of my palm, which showed no mark of its presence.

Had that shell just read my fortune?

I searched for the shell, but it was gone, and a cold feeling settled over me as it dawned on me.

Oh my, it was the Seer Shell!

I had heard of the legend of the Seer Shell all my life but never believed it until now. It supposedly appeared to those of great importance, both merpeople and Landers.

But how was I important?

I was just a low-ranking member of my clan and filled no vital role. I didn't even know if they noticed my sneaking out to explore. Probably not.

With the cold feeling sinking further inside me, I decided to return home and tell them what I discovered. I had no idea if they would believe me, but I couldn't keep this inside.

I barely paid attention to the sights and sounds around me as I headed back to my clan, my mind reeling to regain some semblance of normality.

That was a huge mistake.

Suddenly, I was entangled in a net, unable to escape. Landers. How could I let myself be captured? I was such an idiot!

I tried breaking the ropes with my teeth, then my knife, as the net was pulled toward the water's surface. Merpeople could breathe air like Landers but dried out quickly without the water.

But worse, they would search for my people, either to hunt us or dissect us for research. And I couldn't let that happen.

The fortune popped into my mind, and I swallowed, my stomach twisting. There was only one way out of this. But I didn't have to like it.

Unsheathing my knife, I exhaled loudly and plunged the sharp blade into my chest. The pain was sharp but quick, pulling it out.

Blood filled the water as my body grew numb. This had not been what I pictured my death being; I'd imagined being surrounded by my family when my time came.

But it wasn't the worst way to go. Even if no one sang songs or told my story to younglings of my sacrifice.

The net stopped moving right before it broke the surface. One of the Landers cut the rope attaching it to the boat, the net dropping fast as black filled my vision and I sank deeper into the ocean.

At least my people were now safe again.

***

Thank you for reading! I hope you enjoyed it. Subscribe for more content!

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Amethyst Champagne

I create fiction, short stories, poetry, and more!

Subscribe to The Life of a Gem and The Writer's Corner for exclusive content!

And visit my website if you need help editing your fantastic story!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Fantastic storytelling!!! Loved it!!!💖💖💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.