Fiction logo

The Menehune

"You shouldn't have eaten that..."

By Leah DeweyPublished 5 months ago 5 min read
Like
The Menehune
Photo by Tyler Nix on Unsplash

I was becoming a bit more familiar with the city but I still found new things each time I looked around. There were colorful paintings on the walls of buildings and small signs of ancient civilizations everywhere. Despite it being Christmas time it was still warm, people were still having drinks and dinner in their swimsuits. The sun setting hadn’t done much to deter the surfers in the clear blue pacific. I smiled at the teenagers laughing and enjoying their POG juice.

After being on the island for three months, all my worries and hesitations seemed silly. I had never felt more confident that this was where I needed to be. I walked down Kalakaua Avenue, hoping to find a new local spot to try. I glanced around looking at all the signs and restaurants out in the open when I spotted a beautiful woman in red. She was stunning and her deep chestnut skin seemed to glow more brightly against the traditional red dress she wore. She was staring at me with an alluring smile. I looked around to make sure I wasn’t mistaking her attention but there was no one else around. She lifted her finger and waved me over, suggestively. I quickly crossed the street and headed towards the small alley opening where she was waiting.

“Hi,” I fumbled out. “I’m Ben.”

Her smile brightened. She seemed to have a sort of unnatural glow around her.

“My name is Aleka,” she answered. Her voice was almost musical and there was a hint of an accent that I didn’t recognize. I realized she must be a local. “I’ve seen you around, looking for special places to see. I have something for you.”

I raised an eyebrow curious and a bit shocked that such a stunning woman would have ever noticed me. I swallowed the dry lump building up in my throat.

“You do?” I managed to force out. She chuckled softly.

“You are looking for local spots, yes? Traditional foods?” she looked at me curiously as if trying to read into my thoughts. All I could do was nod. She reached out and took my arm. Her skin was hot and sent a sort of shock through mine.

“Well then come with me.” She guided me down the alley and around a small corner until we saw a little wooden shop. There was an old woman there who was barely tall enough to reach the counter. Her eyes looked almost in a permanent squint. She waved me over with her wrinkled hand.

I looked back at the beautiful woman, who nodded and pushed me forward.

“What would you like?” asked the woman in a much thicker accent. I smiled and looked around for a menu.

“What is it that you offer?”

The woman reached underneath the counter and pulled out paper written in Hawaiian with scribbled in English translations. It was clear whoever wrote them did not speak English fluently.

I read through it as best as I could and finally pointed to a few items.

“Good choice but you must also try the coconut water,” she stated a bit forcefully. I shrugged and nodded.

“Okay, sure, I’ll take that too,” I replied. Her smile widened to reveal an unfortunate scene of chipped and missing teeth. I pulled out my wallet and looked at the menu again for prices but that part of the menu hadn’t been translated into English. “How much do I owe you?”

The woman waved her hand as if to wave me and my money away. I hesitated and glanced back at the beautiful woman but now the alley was empty. She had disappeared. I started to feel a bit uneasy but before I could say anything the woman turned back to me with a plate full of food.

“Here you are.” She pushed the plate towards me with a mischievous smile. I took the plate and started to walk away. She didn’t say anything else or stop me. I walked back out to the street and took a bite of the pork on my plate. It tasted amazing and delicious. I was sort of amazed. I found outside seating for a different restaurant and quickly had a seat. I started to shove the food into my mouth. I felt like I couldn’t get enough of it or get it into my mouth quick enough.

“Excuse me, Sir but you can’t eat outside food here,” someone called out from behind me. I turned to look and saw a striking man with the same chestnut skin and long black hair. He was frowning at me and looking as if he was ready to remove me himself.

“I’m so sorry,” I mumbled through the stuffing of food. I shoved in the last bite and got up quickly. “I’ll leave right now.”

As I started to walk out the man grabbed my arm. His skin paled and he looked almost as if he was seeing a ghost.

“Where did you get that?” he demanded, looking at the empty plate in my hand. I started to panic and my vision started to get a bit blurry.

“From the woman down in the alley,” I said, pointing in the direction I came. The man followed my finger and looked down the alley. I saw now that the small path ended in a brick wall. There was nothing behind it. I felt nauseous and my feet felt heavy.

“There’s no woman down there. You met a menehune,” he said with sadness in his voice. It felt ominous, like he knew there was no hope for me.

“What is that?” I asked. But he only shook his head.

“You shouldn’t have eaten it. It’s too late for you now.”

thriller
Like

About the Creator

Leah Dewey

Hello. Welcome to my page. I have been writing for over ten years & have been published in several different formats including magazine articles, poems & full length novels. I have a BA in English Literature & a Masters in Psychology.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.