Fiction logo

The Meeting

Step inside Joshua’s mind for the first time! “Far Enough” series part 6.

By Gabriella DawsonPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
12

“Joshua?” Eleanor called out to me in the dark; coughing, sneezing, and her body shivering from the cold. I can still picture the scene from last night clearly. Of course, I was shivering in wet clothes too, but Eleanor was getting sicker by the minute. I could hear her stumbling around behind me. Quickly, I adjusted both the suitcases from my hands to fit hanging on one arm.

“I’m right here.” I slowed my pace and, reaching for her arm, I started to help guide her. “We should be coming up to town soon.”

“Alright.” She whispered before another fit of sneezes and coughs.

I suspected earlier that it was more than a simple allergy to flowers. Eleanor had a rough previous twenty-four hours, with enough adventure to last a lifetime. Besides that, we had been walking in the chilly wind with wet clothes for some time now. I needed to find a way to get her warm fast. The problem was most of the clothes I had packed for her spilled out of the suitcase into the heavy rain. Just then, I remembered...I had packed one extra coat in my suitcase. It was worn with a few small holes here and there, but anything would help.

“What are you doing?” Eleanor asked when I suddenly stopped to look in the suitcase.

“Getting this for you.” I held my old coat up.

Eleanor hesitated a while to reach for it, and I could sense she frowned at me in the dark. “B-but y-you’re cold too.” She said, shivering.

“We can take turns using it.” I had no intentions of actually taking turns, but I knew this was possibly the only way I could get Eleanor to accept.

Eleanor slowly nodded and slipped the oversized coat on. She was definitely a good bit shorter than me, and the coat let it show with how long it came on her! Then, Eleanor rolled up the brown sleeves to fit her arms. It was a cute sight; her wearing something of mine. Quite amusing, at the very least. Eleanor looked up and caught me staring. She held her hands together and slightly shrugged her shoulders, as if embarrassed. For her sake, I quickly turned and began moving forward.

Eleanor still kept coughing and sneezing while I did my best to guide us both in the dark. By the time we made it to town, my feet were sore from all the walking, my head had ached, and I had the sniffles. Leaning on me a lot, Eleanor could barely keep herself up. Was it the sickness or exhaustion? I couldn’t tell. I was relieved when we finally came to an inn with room to spare. What a sight we must’ve been to the innkeeper and his wife! I cringed, remembering when I paid for lodging. I had gotten one room and lied about me and Eleanor being married. I told myself it was to ease expenses and not at all because I was worried for Eleanor. She was too sick to notice or protest, but boy, when she came to herself she might not be the happiest about it. What else was I supposed to do? I needed to make sure she was alright, even if that meant sleeping on the floor after a long day.

The next day, Eleanor had slept most of the morning. Her dark hair, loose about the pillow, was tangled and drenched in sweat. I stayed with her until mid-afternoon, but by this time my appointment with the publishing company was coming up. I’ve waited months to be able to stop by with my manuscript today. If everything goes well, my pa and I will have a new kind of life.

“Eleanor,” She stirred around as I whispered, “I have to leave for an appointment.”

“You’re leaving?” Eleanor spoke, her voice sounding weak.

“It shouldn’t be too far of a walk from here and I won’t be gone long. I promise.”

She nodded her head and closed her eyes for more rest.

I felt guilty leaving her here like this. It just didn’t feel right, but the whole purpose of my trip was for this appointment, and hopefully more to come. I had planned everything out for this trip carefully, then Eleanor came along...Somewhat of a strategic thinker and planner, I pay special attention to detail. I guess it comes with being a writer for so long. From a logical viewpoint, helping Eleanor was probably the stupidest thing I could’ve done, but no matter how much reason tells me so, the truth is I can’t help it. I care about her so much it makes me an idiot. Speaking of myself being an idiot, here I go spending more money than I should for Eleanor all because I care...I sighed to myself out loud.

“Excuse me, Ma’am.” I stopped at the counter downstairs. The innkeeper's wife turned to face me.

“What is it, lad?” She spoke in a heavy Irish accent. The woman had bright hair with thick curls pinned into a bun. Probably, no later than in her mid-forties, many creases swerved along her forehead; like she’s already experienced much of what life has to offer.

Reaching out of my satchel, I dropped some coins down on the counter. “Would you mind doing me a favor while I’m gone and checking in on my…uh...wife…” I awkwardly fumbled on those words. “She’s been a little unwell today.”

“The poor dear could hardly keep standin’ last night, I’d say.” She laughed. “Aye, I’ll check in for ya.”

“Thank you! I won’t be gone long.” I said before heading out the door.

The town was so big, it was more like a city. People were everywhere hustling and bustling about. Small children ran and played here and there in the streets. It made me think of when Eleanor and I were children in school. I’ll never forget when my eyes first saw her, in her pretty pink dress with her braids tied in pink ribbons to match. She captured my attention from the start, but she never once noticed me. Seven-year-old me was determined to change that the best way I knew how; by teasing and making fun. I thought surely negative attention was better than none. Looking back from an older perspective, I now know that probably wasn’t the best way to win a girl’s affections.

After walking a while, I rounded a corner and came to a large building. It had big double doors in the front with equally big stained glass windows surrounding them. On the windows, was fancy green-colored lettering that matched with lettering high above the double doors. They all read: ‘Thompson’s Publishing’. This was finally it! After sending a partial manuscript months ago, they reached out for more and arranged an appointment with Mr. Thompson himself. My heart was pounding fast from excitement. I’ve waited a long time for this. I jogged up to the doors and yanked one open. Noticeably, a green light reflected from the windows into the lobby I entered. I made my way to the end of the lobby where a small man wearing glasses was seated at a desk.

“Excuse me, sir, I have an appointment with Mr. Thompson.” With excitement and confidence, I spoke to the man at the desk.

“Name please?” He asked.

“Joshua Roberts.”

“Of course! Mr. Thompson has been expecting you. Unfortunately, he is in an unexpected meeting with a group. He told me to inform him the moment you arrive, but it might be a few minutes before he can see you. Please, have a seat while you wait.” The small man spoke quickly before hurrying up the stairs behind him.

I sat down and waited. Sitting here for so long while Eleanor was sick back at the inn made me anxious. I tried to keep myself entertained by watching the green light from the windows twinkle across the floor. Glancing around, I noted that I was the only one here.

“Mr. Thompson will see you now.” The small man appeared again. I quickly stood, following him up the stairs, and through a large hallway with many rooms. We stopped at the last room that had Thompson’s name on the door.

“Come in, Mr. Roberts!” Mr. Thompson happily shouted as I slowly entered his office. “Leave the door open and have a seat, please.”

I did what he asked, thinking it odd that he would request the door stay open for an appointment. Finally, I got to sit in front of Mr. Thompson face to face. He was a bald, heavier-set man with a jolly grin. He seemed abnormally joyous for a person.

“Mr. Thompson, sir, it is great to finally meet you! I have with me the full manuscript as promised--”

“Good...Good…” He interrupted. He huffed loudly while his eyes wandered all about the room. He was thinking about something and I had this feeling in my gut I wasn’t going to like what he had to say. “I like you, Mr. Roberts,” He continued. “And you have a lot of talent--truly! Unfortunately, something has come up recently that must be cleared before we proceed any further.”

“Oh?” My heart thudded like crazy.

“You see,” Mr. Thompson stuck his hand in his coat pocket. “I have a very good friend who wants something from you.” As he said these words, he pulled out a golden bull pin from his pocket and pinned it on his coat.

My eyes went wide for a split second, but I quickly recovered. By wearing the bull pin, it was clear his ‘good friend’ was Mr. Brooks. I knew exactly what Mr. Brooks wanted...Eleanor. I despised that family for the power they held over my family and all the suffering they’ve caused. There was no way I was going to let him do the same to Eleanor. It seems best for this situation that I played dumb and left quickly.

“I have no idea what you mean. How could I know a friend of yours?” I asked.

Mr. Thompson laughed. “Don’t be difficult, Roberts. It’s simple if you cooperate; the girl for your manuscript.” He shrugged. “Your choice.”

“You seem confused…” I said.

He sighed. “I had hoped this would be quick and easy.”

“Perhaps, It’s best I leave and come another time?” Speedily, I jumped to my feet.

“You are not leaving yet, Mr. Roberts.” A voice spoke behind me. I turned to see a group of men all wearing the same pin that Mr. Thompson had. Now it all clicked into place: the group Mr. Thompson was meeting with, why he wanted the door open, and why he was unusually jolly. He was probably getting paid big money for this. I wouldn’t be surprised if the Brooks family were top investors for the publishing company. The man in the middle of the group was most familiar. He had a fancy suit and hat, with glasses over his dark eyes. He was the man from the train incident. I knew him well enough to know he always handled the dirty work of Mr. Brooks. Even when it came to threatening my family.

“Jim,” I said.

“Mr. James Richardson to you, boy!” He shouted. He came up and shoved me back onto the chair. Anger burned within me like a rising fire. How I hated that man and the Brooks family.

“I’m tired of this wild goose chase, Roberts,” Jim said. “Now, pretend we have a weight scale. On one end, we have your pa, family farm, and even pathetic manuscript. On the other, just some girl.” He bent down, placing his face close to mine. “Tell me, which side weighs heavier?”

They held so much power over my pa and the farm. How can I get out of this? Fear struck through me as I thought of Eleanor, sick and vulnerable at the inn.

Adventure
12

About the Creator

Gabriella Dawson

Hi there👋

I'm Ella and I write historical fiction and stories that’ll leave you reflecting on deeper meanings.

Occasionally, I write about my many crafts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.