Fiction logo

The man who gleers

Gleer - To darkly look at someone with a grinning leer. Particularly used if the protagonist’s face is obscured by the dark.

By Simon CurtisPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
1
The man who gleers
Photo by Stormseeker on Unsplash

Buying a weighted blanket did not help me sleep as was promised. But then then hot milky drinks, late night baths, lavender and meditation were equally ineffective. I’d try again tonight, once I’d finished my book I would put it down, shuffle down into the warmth of my bed and flick off the light. But would he be there? The man who I see when I turn off the light. The man whose dark silhouette stands behind the door, looms in a corner, peers from round the bathroom door or stands guard on the landing.

I had read a chapter more of my book than I had intended. I couldn’t help myself. I just didn’t want to switch the light off. But it was late. I was tired. It was time. I closed my book, placed it on my bedside table and took one last look around the room. The door was shut, I had long since removed every piece of furniture, there were no places for him hide. He wasn’t there. I took a deep breath and grasped the switch in my hand and turned to look into my bedroom. With a click the warm orange light was gone. Darkness. But not complete. He was there, stood still at the foot of my bed a deep and empty black, even so I could feel his expression. I could feel his eyes on me from under his crooked hat. His wicked grin, too wide. He gleered down at me.

Horror
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.