Fiction logo

The Man Who Can Understand Dragons.

My great grandfathers story

By Paige Turner Published 2 years ago 20 min read
Like
The Man Who Can Understand Dragons.
Photo by Jayesh Joshi on Unsplash

“There weren't always dragons in the Valley.” My great grandfather said starting his story. His voice was raspy and worn out, but he always told the best stories.

I sat on his lap in the safety of our cabin, listening with anticipation.

“They travelled to our small village a little over a hundred years ago. Although I was almost a teenager I was small in stature.

It was the middle of the day when the sky suddenly grew dark and a thunderous strong wind blew . The villagers looked up to see hundreds of dragons flying in the sky. We all watched in disbelief. Before that day many of us did not believe in dragons, despite the many tales from travellers, but this definitely proved they existed.

I remember standing next to my father gripping tightly to his waist as I feared not only the dragons but also being swept away by the strong winds. Dust blew in my face but I forced my eyes open to watch the mystery unfold.

As the great beasts flew over, I could hear women and children scream. I looked to see them running into any nearby shelter, but the men stayed to watch.

The dragons flew over us and headed to the mountain just beyond the forest.

“What happened then?” I asked him, with excitement imagining the day it happened.

“The men gathered in the great hall, I was supposed to be in our home for safety, but as my mother was busy tending to the other children. I had snuck out the window and headed to the hall. I stood outside peering through the crack of the two doors watching and listening. The hall was packed with our village men, some sitting, some standing, all of them looked worried.

Adir who was one of the strongest villagers, he had large muscles they looked like they were trying to escape his clothes. He stood at the grand table and banged the table with his fist before he spoke, “we must kill these beasts, and quickly, they will go after our women, children and our livestock.” At the other end of the table was Cedric who wasn’t as strong, but was much wiser stood up, “how do you kill a beast like that, let alone a hundred, it’s merely impossible” Adir did not like to be challenged and his face twisted with Cedric’s words, Adir spoke firmly, “we take the strongest men and we fight them. This is our land not theirs.”

“Perhaps this means it is our time to leave” Cedric countered. Chattering began amongst the men as they spoke to each other, some with strong feelings to fight the dragons, others in fear of them.

Three loud bangs rang throughout the hall, and silence fell amongst the men as they all looked up to see Akil, the elder of the village. Akil was the oldest man of the village, he was very small, about my height at that time. He had long silver hair and his face reminded me of bark on a tree. He had a slight hunch and this is why he needed a stick to walk. He stood at the end of the table furthest from the door, making it difficult to see him, but I saw him grip his walking stick with two hands as he usually did when he stood still. He looked at all the faces ensuring he had everyone’s attention before speaking. Although old, his voice was strong and his words were wise, “these beasts are not dumb, they have lived hundreds of years more than humans. They come here with purpose. We shall not be fools to run to them.”

“What do you ask of us?” Adir asked sounding confused.

“I ask that we give it time, see what these beasts do up on the mountain, see if they even interfere with us at all”

“That’s preposterous!” Adir cried, “we wait, we die!” Chatter began once again as the men began arguing with each other.

Akil banged his walking stick against the floor, silence fell again, “ we must not entice the beasts!” He warned.

“ where do you think they came from? Another village must of scared them away” Adir said confidently.

The elder looked to Adir,“ don’t be so quick to assume Adir, we do not know where these beasts came from, nor their intentions, they could be simply taking to the mountain to rest”

Adir stared at the elder with anger. He wanted to fight, he longed for it, desired it. He came from a long line of fighters and the elder wasn’t going to stop him. He turned and looked at the men, he called to his friend “ Jarek, what do you think?“Jarek stood, his long beard and muscular body was his pride. “ we should fight!” Many men cheered with his words. Jarek continued, “Ensure the safety of our wives and children” more men cheered.

Adir smiled, he knew his friend would agree,“We must prepare for battle and head out before sunrise.” Many men agreed and began banging their fists on the table in unison chanting. I searched the crowd and found my father standing in silence. I turned to see the elder step back, and shake his head. He knew his words had fallen on deaf ears. He banged the walking stick again and some of the men quieted down but there were still murmurs, “ if you do not heed my warning you will create disaster for this village and for yourselves. I have lived longer than any of you and know more than you. I have seen with my own eyes what these beasts can do”

“Then we should surprise attack them, kill them or scare them away” Adir argued.

The elder gave his last warning knowing that the men were going to do what they wanted,“These beasts do not scare easily, and just one can kill a hundred men. But do as you wish, just remember my words when your time has come.” The elder walked away.

Adir turned to the men, “ we will need the strongest men here. We shall leave at dawn. We will meet at the edge of the village. We’ll head through the forest then up the mountain”

“The forest?” One man asked concerned.

“It is the quickest way to the mountain” Adir explained.

The man stood, it was Jadir, I didn’t know this man to well, but I knew he had a young son in the village. Jadir spoke, “Im sure you heard the tales of the forest, it is not a place to venture. Many unknown creatures live there. We should go around the forest, ensure our safety.” Men spoke amongst themselves. We all knew the forest was unsafe. Many villagers had entered it over time but few had returned.

Adir shook his head, “it will take weeks to go around. The dragons may already come to the village by then. The quicker the better. We are strong, there will be many of us. We shouldn’t fear such unknown creatures. They should fear us.”

Adir looked around for someone else to argue, but the men were silent.

The meeting was adjourned.

I raced back home before my father, I climbed through my window and into my bed. Within a few minutes I heard the front door open.

“What happened?” I heard my mother ask. I got out of bed, crawled across the floor and opened my door just a touch.

“ many of the men chose to fight” I heard my fathers voice but could not see him. I saw my mother sit down at the kitchen table.

“And what of you?” I could hear the concern in her voice.

There was a long pause. I could feel my heart pounding.

“I feel that I must go with them, to support the men” my mother placed her hand over her mouth and shook her head.

“What will I do here without you? You know this is a task where death is the only outcome” she said trembling.

“You must take care of yourself and the children. Although he is small, Simm can take on my tasks.” I saw my mother start to cry and couldn’t bear it. I looked away.

I knew with my father choosing to leave I’d become the head of the family, I never thought it would happen so soon.

Father left early in the morning, the sun was just showing on the horizon. My mother, brothers, sisters and I stood outside the house hugging him and saying our final goodbyes. Just as he was leaving I glanced at the heavy sword seethed at his side swaying back and forth with his movements. Father came up to me placing his hand on my shoulder, I looked at him. He smiled, “ I know you will take care of our family, you won’t let me down. You are now the man of the house” I nodded, holding back my tears. I didn’t feel like the man of the house. Father patted my shoulder then mounted his horse to join the men. They headed toward the forest, he never looked back.

Everyday, twice a day, once early in the morning before I started work, and once at night before I headed into the house to have supper, I looked toward the forest hoping to see some sign any sign that he was still alive.

It was almost a year before any news came. Three sluggish, dirty, exhausted men appeared from the forest. They slowly travelled to the edge of the village before anyone noticed them. Once noticed, they fell to the ground too tired to continue.

My mother and I waited anxiously with the other familes outside the healing cabin where the men had been taken. I paced back and forth, hoping one of them was father. My mother who stood by me was silent and I could see trickles of tears forming in her eyes, but she quickly wiped them away before they fell to her cheek. The door to the cabin opened, and the healer came out, wives huddled around trying to peer in. I stayed in the back, my mother didn’t move.

“As you know” the healer said and everyone got quiet, “Three men survived, their names are” he paused scanning the crowd, knowing everyone was waiting in anticipation.

“Balder, Freyr and Jarek” some women fell to the ground crying, others screamed, knowing their husbands were dead. I looked to the woman who I knew was Jareks wife, she was shaking. I looked to my mom who was frozen with disbelief. I knew at that moment my father was dead, and he was never coming home. I looked at the ground, my head feeling heavy. The healer waited a moment then spoke, “I ask that the wives of the three men come forward, the rest of you go home, except for Simm” I looked up confused. The healer searched the crowd, then our eyes met. “Come forward my boy, one of the men would like to speak with you.” The women parted and I walked through, I could feel their cold stares as I passed them.

The three women and I stepped into the cabin and the healer closed the door behind us. “This way” he walked straight passed a hanging rug.

Three men laid on cots side by side. They were all shirtless. They were covered in soot, and ash from head to toe. Dry blood in their hair and beards. The man on the right, looked like Balder, but he was thin, there was a large slash across his face from the top left of his forehead down to the right side of his chin. It was sown up but it would be a large scar. The man on the left must be Freyer, he was missing his left arm from the elbow down. He laid there silently, eyes closed. It looked like he was dead, but I could see the soft rise and fall of his chest. The man in the middle must be Jarek. He did not look like how I remembered him. He had burns on his entire upper body, the second layer of skin gone. He had patches of hair and beard. These once strong and muscular men were now weak and thin. The women rushed to their husbands’ side crying loudly with what I assumed to be relief, but mixed with fear. I stood there awkwardly and looked at the floor not knowing what else to do.

“Come here boy” I looked up almost not recognizing the voice, it was Jarek a voice that was once deep and powerful was now hoarse and weak. I approached his bedside. He reached over and grabbed a sword, he tried to lift it, but was too weak. I leaned forward and lifted the sword, it was much heavier than it looked, but I didn’t show it. I looked down at the sword in my hands, and instantly recognized it as my fathers. I felt the tears swell in my eyes but blinked them away.

“ your father gave this to me” his breathing was heavy and it looked like he might pass out but instead, he closed his eyes and continued speaking. “ your father told me that I must take this back home with me, and give this to you and tell you it is you who must protect not only your family but the village. This is your responsibility that you take on your shoulders” Jarek started to cough. It was a wet and violent cough, I thought his lungs would come out through his throat. The healer began ushering me away when Jarek stopped coughing and said, “ wait! I am not done. You’re fathers last words were tell Simm to never enter the forest and never head to the mountain where the dragons lay” the coughing began and he turned on his side and began throwing up. The healer ushered me quickly out of the healing cabin and closed the door behind me.

My mother came up to me and when she saw that I was holding my fathers’ sword she started crying. She put her hands on my shoulders knowing the burden that I now carry. I knew what I had to do, but I also knew I was too young for this.

A few moments later a loud roar echoed through the sky. It was so loud it seemed to rattle the ground. I could hear the men in the cabin scream in terror. My mother and I looked up and searched the sky, coming from the mountains were dragons. “ go to the children” I told mother, I tied the sword to my belt and started to go join the other men, mostly who were boys that had been left to guard the village. My mother softly placed a hand on my arm, I turned to her, she looked worried, “please be careful.” She said softly. I nodded. I walked quickly to the main hall which is where the men used to gather. There were about fifteen of us, only two were adult men and they were only here because they had been wounded in the past. One could barely walk and the other was missing his right arm, starting from the shoulder. “What are we going to do?” The smallest boy named Leif asked. I saw the fear in his eyes. We all looked at each other in dismay. The elder came out of the hall and looked at us, then to the sky and spoke, “ I warned the men that this day would come, the dragons are seeking revenge, one of you must make themselves the leader, and quickly. The dragons will be here within moments.” Everyone was silent and looking at their feet, I glanced at my fathers’ sword that hung at my hip, “I’ll be the leader” I said trying to sound stronger than I felt. I looked to the elder who nodded. “If they land, you must aim your sword at their underbelly, this is a dragons only weak spot.” I swallowed down the lump in my throat. Dragons roars’ pierced the sky and we all lost our balance and stumbled. I looked up to see a thunder of dragons. They opened their large mouths and out came the fire. I stood there shocked, unable to move as I saw cabins burst into flames, women and children screaming while running anywhere they could.

I unsheathed my sword. “Leif take Erik with you to the tower like the Elder said aim the crossbow at their underbellies.” The young boy nodded, he and the one arm adult hurried away. “ the rest of you protect the women and children, get them far from here as you can.” They scattered trying to gather who they could.

The dragons breathing fire seemed to never end. I was standing in an inferno, with little chance of surviving. Smoke filled my lungs making it almost impossible to get any air in, I could hardly see for my eyes watered. I heard a loud thump as dragon landed, I turned to see one facing me. It extended its long neck though the flames. I could see its red scales and yellow eyes. I took a few steps back but felt the flames burning behind me. I was cornered.

It went to take a deep breath in, I thought at that moment I was done. I would be sent up in flames, but instead heard a voice, “how do you like having your home threatened? Your own people killed?” I stared at it confused, did the dragon just speak? I shouted as loud as I could, “please leave us alone!”

The dragon opened its mouth and shot out fire. I rolled on the ground just missing the blaze. “Leave you alone?” It’s voice boomed, I was unmistaken that it was the voice the the dragon, “just like your men left us alone?” its voice was deep and powerful. I thought to myself must be male.

I yelled hoping he would hear me, “We thought you were going to attack us, we’re sorry for coming to you. Please we’re helpless here.” For a moment there was silence.

“A dragon speaker?” The dragon sounded surprised. He leaned in closer, so close its eye was inches from my face. Its face was larger than my entire body. He had bright red scales, they looked old and worn out. I could smell his foul breath, it smelt like barbecued skin and bones. I froze in fear not knowing what he was going to do next. “Do you understand me boy?” He asked. In fear of what he may do, I simply nodded. The dragon pulled back a little to get a full view of me. I’ve only ever seen one dragon speaker in all my life, and that was over a century ago. They are very rare.”

“I-I didn’t know I could speak to dragons” I said shakily.

“ I bet you didn’t boy.” His nostrils flared and smoke puffed out of them,

“May I ask why did you come to the valley?” I asked trying to sound polite. The dragon stared at me for a moment. “you really want to know?” It sounded surprised. I nodded, “it is for my son, he is dying. A villager attacked him piercing half his heart, we came to these mountains- “

“To search for the dragon stone?” I finished his sentence. “ the dragon laughed, so you humans have heard of it as well. I nodded, ‘I know the tale yes. It is said the dragon stone can heal any dragon. It also possesses the ability of ever lasting life” the dragon laughed, “yes this is how the tale goes” “it doesn’t exist” I told him. “what did you say boy!!” It’s voice shook the ground. I swallowed the lump in my throat, “Many men have tried and failed finding it only to lead to their death” “I am no man!“ the dragon roared, it sounded as though it was becoming upset with. “You are right, you are not as foolish as humans” I said trying to remedy the situation. The dragon quieted down, “Just because no one has seen means it doesn’t exists.”

“If I go looking for the dragon stone, will you leave the village alone” “I don’t need help and besides, why would I trust a human?” “As you said dragon speakers are rare, I will find the stone and save your son” “I don’t need a human!”

“You are right you do not. If I fail trying then there would be one less human in the world. However, if I do find it, I will bring it to you and there will be forever peace between the villagers and dragons. You can live in the valley even long after we are gone.”

“ why not just kill you all now?” The dragon asked. “

“You’d be risking a chance at saving your son. I am small, I can get into small crevasses on the mountain that you may not be able to” The dragon lifted its head and extended it’s neck showing it’s underbelly. For a moment I thought about stabbing it in the heart, but the chances of getting him in the heart successfully were slim, and I would certainly die. Just then, I remembered Erik and Leif on the tower, I turned to them and saw them staring at me. Leif aimed and fired the crossbow. Without thinking I jumped in front of the dragon. The arrow went straight though my arm. I screamed in pain falling to the ground.

The dragon leaned in. “You have proven yourself trustworthy. You will have one month to search for the stone. If you do not make it by the next full moon. Your village will burn to ashes and all that you love will die “ the dragon flapped it wings. The wind from its wings was so powerful, it slid me across the grass, as the fire around me was instantly put out. I looked up and watched this massive beast take flight and fly off. He called to the rest of the dragons, “we are leaving!” It was followed by a thunderous noise as the other dragons took flight. I laid on my back trying to catch my breath, and trying to ignore the large arrow that was through my shoulder. I heard running foot steps coming towards me. Leif stood over me and looked down. “Thank goodness you’re alive! I thought I had killed you”

I smiled “nope, I’m still here”

“why did you run in front of it? I had a clear shot!” I slowly sat up and coughed. I didn’t know if I should tell him the truth. “I didn’t want to anger it” I said which wasn’t a lie. “It looked like you were talking with it” Leif said bending down, I looked at him and didn’t say nothing.

“So you are a dragon speaker” he said softly. This kid was smarter than he looked. “Don’t worry I won’t tell anyone. Let me help you up and we can take care of this arrow.” He stood up held out his hand, I reached out with my good arm and he pulled me up.

I got taken to my mother, who sat me down then pulled out the arrow. I screamed in agony, it was the worse pain I had ever felt in my entire life. She rubbed some ointment on it, wrapped it tightly, and put my arm in a sling. To try to take my mind off the pain I walked around, the village was pretty much destroyed. There was very little that was left in their wake. The crops were scorched, very little livestock survived, only one cabin made it through although it was half burnt. More than 20 people died and this included the three men who made the trek back from their voyage, their wives and the healer. The people who did survive: many were burnt, most couldn’t breath from the smoke, and all were in shock. It looked hopeless.

The villagers that did survived gathered together near where the great hall once stood and began discussions about leaving the village, despite that it has been our home for generations. However, this was a difficult decision because as you know our village is in one of the best locations in all of the land. We have fresh water coming from the mountains. Bountiful grasslands for our livestock to feed on. Perfect weather to grow our crops. No one knew what lay beyond our lands, many believed it would not be as good. As I listened to them talk I knew what I had to do, I had to bring peace to the valley, and quickly.

That night everyone slept together outside. When I was sure everyone was asleep. I got up, packed a few items, mostly food, then left a note for my mother. As I turned to leave all I knew behind I saw Leif standing near a tree in the distance. We stared at each other for a moment. I silently walked to toward him then whispered, “What are you doing here? Leif took a few steps toward me. I was able to see that he had a pack on him. “I’m going with you” he whispered back. I shook my head. “I don’t need someone to slow me down” he looked at my right arm, which was still in a sling, then back to me. “You going to need someone to protect you, to clean your wound. You can’t do that alone” I sighed, I knew he had a point. I adjusted my pack awkwardly that hung on my left shoulder. “Fine” I said “but we must be quick and quiet, I don’t not want anyone knowing until morning, when we are long gone from here” Leif smiled and nodded “then let’s go.”

We crossed the pasture being lead by only the light of the moon. My pack and sword were heavy but my mind was clear on what I needed to do. I wasn’t sure how I was going to do it, I just knew this was something that needed to get done.

I remember getting to the edge of the forest the full moon shining bright above. I looked at it knowing that once we went into the forest it would be at least a month before we see either the sun or the moon.bThe forest was dense and it’s canopy thick, blocking most light to the forest floor. I myself had never ventured into the forest before that point and I have to admit I feared what was waiting for me. I remembered Jarek telling me my fathers’ last words, “don’t go into the forest.”

“You heard the tales or the forests?” Leif asked. I could hear the worry in his voice. I turned to him and nodded. “Have you ever heard children’s cries?” I shook my head.

“I did, a few years ago, I came over here because I thought I heard an infant crying. As I got to the edge of the forest I heard the cries inside the forest” my father stopped me before I went in. He told me there are animals in there who can imitate childrens’ cries to make villagers go in, then they kill them”

“I’ve been told Erlkings live in this forest” I said Leif nodded “I’ve heard this too, my father said his brother was killed by one.” Leif looked down. I remembered just then the man in the great hall, who spoke of in fear of forest and knew then that that Jadir was Leif’s father. They even looked similar to each other.

We both stared silently at the forest. I thought about going back, just simply turning around, saving myself the trouble and possibly my life, but I shook it off quickly, “better stop talking about it and just go in” I said and began to move into the forest. Leif followed closely behind, “ I heard there’s also ghouls, and trolls-“ “okay Leif that’s enough” I said sharply cutting him off. The last thing I wanted to do was know more of what possibly lay ahead of us.

The first step I took I snapped a twig, it reverberated through the trees. I turned to Leif who just shrugged. I thought for sure some beast living in the forest heard it and is now on their way to come eat us. I stood there momentarily listening, waiting. But there were no sounds I sighed in relief. So, I took another step, then another. Before we knew it we were deep in the forest. So deep that when I turned back I was no longer able to see the pasture, or the cabins or the moon. I turned back and took another step that’s when we heard the growl.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Paige Turner

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.