Fiction logo

The Man in the Camera

Someone's out there

By Matthew DonnellonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
The Man in the Camera
Photo by Patrick on Unsplash

Night 1:

One night I was sitting on the couch just about to head to bed.

When someone started knocking on the door.

That was strange as it had been dark for a couple hours.

I asked through the door if anyone was there but didn’t get an answer.

I asked a couple more times but still silence.

Thinking I might have just been hearing things, I turned to leave when the knocking started again.

Again, I asked “Who’s there?” but no answer.

They knocked a couple more times, but once I stopped saying anything it stopped. I figured it was some kids in the neighborhood, but I wasn’t about to open the door to find out.

Night 2:

I had mostly forgotten about the knocking. I told a couple people at work about it and they agreed it was probably kids.

Again right before bed there was a knock at the door.

This time I wasn’t taking the bait thinking whoever it was would get bored.

But when I tried to walk away they started pounding on the door. That’s when it got real. They were pounding so hard I thought the door was going to break.

I dialed 911 and started shouting that the police were coming.

Eventually it stopped just before the cops showed up. I talked to them and they said they’d search around he neighborhood as well as leave a squad car in front on my house.

I went to bed after that, but didn’t sleep.

Night 3:

It happened again.

This time earlier and pounding even harder. I started screaming to please go away but they only stopped pounding on the door to start banging on my windows.

The cops showed up and I was frantic. Luckily I was taking video with my phone so they didn’t think I was crazy.

The police took me to a friend’s house to stay the night.

I slept for the first time in a couple nights.

Night 4:

I stayed at my friend’s again.

Night 5:

I came back to my house.

This time I had 911 already dialed. I also got a baseball bat from the garage.

I waited, and waited.

And waited.

Just before midnight someone started scratching at my door. No knocking or pounding. It sounded like they were running their fingernail against the door.

I yelled out that I had a gun and the noise stopped.

Night 6:

I got one of those Ring cameras. I was going to find out who was out there.

This time I waited up all night, but nothing.

Not a single sound, and nothing on the camera.

But when I walked out the door to go to work I saw a piece of paper taped to my door that read:

“Nice Camera”

I freaked out.

Night 7:

I stayed a friend’s house again. The police said they’d drive by my house that night to see if anyone came back.

Again I watched the camera feed but nothing.

Night 8:

I borrowed a gun.

And waited.

Nothing.

Night 9:

Nothing.

Night 10:

Nothing:

Night 11:

Nothing happened during the night but when I left there was another sign that read:

“Missed you :)”

Night 12:

There was more knocking.

And I could hear laughing coming from outside.

But nothing on the camera.

I couldn’t take it anymore.

I loaded a blank into the borrowed revolver and fired.

The knocking stopped. I thought about calling the police but I didn’t know how to explain the gun.

Night 13:

I waited all night.

This was stopping one way or another.

Just before midnight there was pounding at the door.

I was terrified and staring at the camera.

Finally and man stepped into view. He set a brown paper box down on my porch. He had the creepiest smile on his face and a sign that read:

“Come out and play?”

I for sure wasn’t doing that.

He waited for a while and I guess he was tired of being outside since was also holding a crow bar.

He walked and smiled into the camera before smashing it.

I could hear him jam the crowbar into the doorjamb and start trying to wedge it open.

The whole time laughing.

I couldn’t take it anymore.

I fired all six rounds through the door.

But when I opened it there was no one there.

The police came. I showed them all the recordings before he broke the camera.

One of the officers looked through the brown paper box.

"This mean anything to you?" he asked.

I walked over and started screaming when I saw what was inside.

It was just random things. A comb. Magnets from off a refrigerator. Some pictures, and bits of makeup.

But it was my stuff.

He'd been getting in my house the whole time.

Horror
1

About the Creator

Matthew Donnellon

Twitter: m_donnellon

Instagram: msdonnellonwrites

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.