Fiction logo

The Magical Pear Tree

A short story about a father's love

By Jessica Burns PirainoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Magical Pear Tree
Photo by Eric Muhr on Unsplash

Dear Dad,

How are you?

It's been awhile since I last heard your voice.

I miss your voice. But, I miss your stories the most.

Every night before you tucked me into bed you would read me a bedtime story. Stories about dragons and knights. About quests and mighty swords. Some of those stories included monsters and horrible beasts. I would be frightened but then the knight would slay the monster and all would be well. I remember you told me once that the world was full of monsters and that sometimes the hero didn't always win.

"Then who will protect me from the monsters?" I remember asking you and you said "that daddies always protected their children" and that you would always slay my monsters. "But how will you protect me when you are at work?" I asked. "Remember the pear tree?" I nodded as I pictured the large tree that gifted us with sweet fruit and stood tall in our backyard. "Well, that tree is actually a fairy tree. It's magic. Whenever you are feeling scared go and pick a pear from that tree. Because the tree is magic, so is the fruit. And when you eat that fruit you will not be scared anymore because the fairy's magic will protect you and keep you safe until we are reunited." I slept soundly that night knowing I was safe from all the world's monsters and dreamed of fairies and magical sweet pears.

You're not here to protect me anymore from the world's monsters and I remember for a brief moment I was angry that you broke your promise to me. Who would slay my monsters now? Truthfully, I wasn't angry. I was frightened. Frightened to live in a world without you in it.

I went and sat under that old pear tree and cried until I could not cry anymore. I cried because I was lost and scared but most of all I cried because I missed you. When the tears finally ran dry and I was all cried out a single pear fell from the tree and landed in my lap. I stared at it before picking it up, remembering how you said the pear tree would protect me when you were not there, and took a bite of its sweet flesh. I ate in silence and when I finished that pear I realized I was no longer afraid. I still missed you. I would always miss you but I knew that no matter how much time passed you would always be watching over me and we would always have the pear tree until we could be reunited.

I don't know if you will ever get this letter but I am writing it anyways. I like to think that you will read it somehow because I truly believe there is magic in this world. Not the kind of magic you told me about in your stories but the magic that comes in the shape of love. The love of a father and his daughter. You taught me about so many things before you left but the one thing I remember most is that a father's love for his daughter is endless.

I plan on sealing this letter in that small crack that runs down our old pear tree. I think that way maybe you will get this letter and that maybe it will bring a smile to your face. The world is full of pear trees and a father's love and I find that beautiful.

I miss you, daddy. I'll miss you always.

Love,

Your daughter

family
Like

About the Creator

Jessica Burns Piraino

Hi, I'm Jess!

I'm a full-time marketer but my dream job would be to sit in cafes around the world while I write short stories & sip coffee.

I am an amateur mixologist so you can usually find me in the kitchen mixing a new cocktail recipe.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.