Fiction logo

The Magic Pear

A Retelling of the Creation Story

By Soleira GreenPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
7
So the humans ate of the Pear and all was well again in the Gardens of Eden.

“Oh Apple”, said the Pear, ‘”you gnarly old git, stop lording it over all the rest of us. You are not the only one with stories! For while humans think of you as messing things up with Adam & Eve and poisoning Sleeping Beauty, I in fact am the magical one. Let me tell you my stories of the past and of a time yet to come.”

“Let me take you back to that Garden of Eden, the first place of Creation in this world. The Father placed you in the apple tree and forbade the humans from biting into the knowledge you held within. But your knowledge was that of mind, of logic, of all that was tight and forbidden. But I was created by the Mother and was available for all to eat. I was soft and succulent, curvaceous and beautiful. Tasting me meant falling into bliss at the possibilities of life on Earth. Tasting me meant understanding the miracle of Creation, that it wasn’t an accident of chemicals mixing, but rather a gift from those who would conceive a new heaven in this new world.”

“But no, those humans they had to be tempted by you Apple. Tell ‘em they can’t have it and what do they do, let go of the wonderfulness they already have and go for the forbidden. But oh what a mistake that was, as well you know.”

“For you see I was not just created for exquisite tasting, I was imbued with Her Magic and it sleeps in me still. There were those throughout the times that knew of this. Sisters they were, followers of Her enchantments. They worshipped beneath my trees. They lay their sacred treasures at my feet and my boughs reached out to embrace them with love. They sang songs under the full moon and used my juice as an elixir to call Her glory to Earth, to bless all life here with a magical swoon.”

“Get out with ya,” yelped Apple, “this is not so, for I have always been the chosen one, the majestic one, the one to aid humans on their journey. After all ‘an apple a day’ you know. Those humans for sure love me more than they love you.”

“Ahh Apple, that’s only because the Magic has been forgotten. It became the forbidden fruit and instead of yearning for it, they completely forgot about it as it drifted into the clouds of the past and out of their consciousness completely. Except for a very few of Her most stalwart guardians who secreted it away, waiting for the time when Magic would emerge once again, at a time when the humans had forgotten the magic of growing things, had hidden themselves in concrete jungles and lost all sense of the Magic that flows naturally through their veins.”

“Take Avalon for example, the Isle of the Priestesses of the Goddess. Yes there were apple orchards, but it was the Sacred Pear Tree that created the elixirs that wove their ceremonies and celebrations, that blessed the making of Excalibur, magical sword of Queens, long before it was gifted by the Lady of the Lake to Arthur so he could save Her last remaining sanctuary land from the Roman priests who sought to remove every mention of Her from the history of humans.”

“But I held the Magic all these centuries and those who tasted me and knew my ecstasy during that time would grow, evolve and become something that She always meant them to be. Eyes filled with stars, cells made of star dust, feet to dance and hands to create. For you see humans are meant to be gods and goddesses of Creation, not tiny creatures wandering the world oblivious to its wonders.”

“So you see Apple, in me lies their salvation now. The Magic must be returned to them. I require you to step back now, to make way for the godness in them to be reborn. For this world is meant to be a pivotal evolutionary portal for all other worlds to be fashioned after, a heaven of heavens if you will. I am meant to nurture their grand selves into this new becoming. For She has imbued me once again with a new kind of Magic. Magic that stirs the stars into new constellations of joyful celebration. Magic that causes the whole of life on Earth to surge into its new miraculous creation state. Magic that turns the Earth, at long last, into the full Heaven that it is meant to be.”

“So eat of me peoples of Earth and taste the delights of life as it should be ... full of delicious, magical, wondrous creation. I Pear vow to gift all this to you now and one taste of me shall lift you forever into the lands of Creation and the becoming of Godness upon this glorious world.”

So the humans ate of the Pear and all was well again in the Gardens of Eden, in the lands of Heaven and in the starry constellations that celebrated their becoming. At long last, the Magic of Creation had returned to this world and to the magical creatures who walked upon it.

Fantasy
7

About the Creator

Soleira Green

I love writing & have written a book called 'The Genius Game' (one of 10 books currently published). I love empowering people to unleash their brilliance into the world. Discover more about me at https://www.soleiragreen.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.