Fiction logo

The magic of a bookshop and the Pear Tree Cafe

Just Grab a Book and Glow

By Vocal-lady-ist Ms. KerriPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Like

One day I walked into the book store. The books starting popping out one by one off the shelf, glowing as if to float into my hands. I opened one up and sure enough, the magician on page 385 began to speak. “I will tell you the secret to lost treasure map, only I can speak. Make sure you listen for each step is a necessary one and only you can find the secret treasure. It is down by the tree next to the water but before you go you must first complete this task. There is a lady at the front who owns the shop. Buy the book and when you get to the counter, make sure to say, “What a lovely day it is.” Listen to where she tells you to go, and open the book when you get there.”

The lady at the front responded so kindly, “It is a lovely day. You know my favorite place to go and read a book is right around the corner at a little place called The Pear Tree. It is a cute little café and you can sit inside all the way in the back room next to the bookshelf where the sun shines in. Perfectly quiet for reading a good book especially for adventure. Or if you decide to sit outside, make sure you sit next to the herb garden. It’s a magical little patio and plants are very peaceful. Enjoy your book. Say Hi to Italo.”

I walked out of the book store with the little bell chiming as the door shut. The little café Pear Tree right around the corner. I looked around and all I saw was the shops, and the street. I looked around and a boy on a skateboard skating by pointed and said, “The ocean’s that way.” He smiled and laughed and skated around the corner. Awesome! I love when people are nice. I walked around the corner and sure enough was the sign hanging by the trees that read The Pear Tree Café. I walked up and walked inside through the white double doors. The oak floors shined and the coffee machine grinding fresh beans called me. “Hi Welcome to the Pear Tree, what can I get you today?” “I will have a chai latte with almond milk please.” “Sure, no problem.” The girl smiled a sweet nice smile and handed me a number. I paid with a pink $5 note and took my number and sat down in the back right next to the book shelf, by the window right where the sun shined in. Outside the windows was the patio with the magical herb garden. I felt like I was in a story already. I opened the bag and pulled out my new book. “Aw, I see you have decided to sit inside. This will make for a different adventure.” The book glowed again showing a golden brown map with black lines that lined the ocean and the shops. The pictures appeared of foods and drink. What did you order? I selected the chai drink and the map swirled around and popped out a different image. This time, of a trail. When you finish your drink walk to the ocean to the side walk. Count the number of books you see in the café, the number of people, and make sure to remember how long you stayed. When you get to the path skip as many times as there are books, walk as many numbers as there are people, and then go sit on the grass looking at the beach for the same amount of time you are in the café. Then you may open the book.”

I opened the book 243 skips, and 27 people later after sitting on the beach for 2 hours. The Pear Tree Café was more cozy than I anticipated and of those 243 books I have 242.5 to go back and read. I sat on the grass and opened the book. "Aw, Hello again. I see you are very close to a special tree. Good work, You are getting very close to the treasure. Now see that tree to your right, it is a climbing tree. But be very careful, she can feel everything you must be very gentle as you climb. Her arms are almost 40 years old and she has been here ever since she was a tiny young tree, first place she has ever been planted. She is young, yet wise and she can tell you everything you need to know about who you are and why you are here. It is best to take your shoes off so that your shoes do not hurt her branches. While you are up there, do be sure to tell her thank you and compliment her leaves. She will be very grateful to you for this."

As instructed, I did exactly as I was told. I climbed as high as I could, sitting in the middle. The branches were shaped perfectly for sitting and my legs dangled from where I sat, the fresh breeze cooling my care feet. "Your leaves are very lovely, I like how big they are Bigger than my hands. I also must say you are very strong, to be able to let me climb and sit here. Thank you for keeping me safe." It was true, I felt very safe and climbing the tree was not hard at all. "You are most welcome. I see you have a big question in your heart and I know that the answer is within you, you just have to sit quietly and let your heart tell you." "For how long?" The tree was quiet, the wind quieted down and the leaves sat still. I looked down at the sidewalk and saw a man covering his ears and a woman holding her shall close to her body while her hair blew around in the wind. I squeezed the tree. "Ssshhh, you are safe here."

I closed my eyes and sure enough I saw a picture of my heart. I leaned up against the tree and the answer came out in words. I had been wondering what school to go to and had applied to many. I saw a picture of a Brown Bear. Berkley. I had never lived in California, yet I had been interested in going to Berkeley all of a sudden while I was in school. I guess I thought my friend would go there but she had just gotten accepted to somewhere else and was excited. She said it was her dream school. So I guess that means Berkley is the school for me. Wow, I had no idea that I would ever be interested in going to Berkley. But why Berkley; I don't even know what I want to be when I grow up yet. Another word came floating out although this time in a silent sound. A lawyer. Me? A Lawyer! I thought I would be a teacher or travel the world. A lawyer?! "Yes, a lawyer. You are here to help people," "said the tree. You have a sense of right and what people need to be seen and heard. One day you will understand the power of this. I know that power usually seems like something more magical and healing. You will have that ability too. You have gifts in your hands that heal people and your words sound like a song even when you do not hear it. You are wise and you are strong, you are here to help people heal and speak their minds, to stand up and this will heal the world and bring peace. Wow I thought this was going to be party. huh.

I climbed down the tree and told her thank you. As I walked on the side walk, I passed my the man and woman. "Oh thank goodness, look honey there is a girl let's ask her."

"Hi," I said.

"Yes my husband ears are hurting him from the wind and we would like to know where to go to get a doctor or some medicine.

"Oh I don't know where the doctor is, there is a shop on the corner though where there is a crystal shop. The lady in there might know, she has other remedies too as she is a naturalist."

"Oh that's perfect. His medication is ate the hotel and we do not have the prescription anyway, we will go see her."

She grabbed my hand, "Thank you young lady we appreciate this. You know we had such a hard time getting here because we didn't have our passports, we left them at the hotel and our driver didn't think we spoke English. I think we may have lost them."

" I see. That happened to a friend of mine. If you go to the post office, they can help you sign up to get your travel visa from the computer and print new ones. It's just right up the road after you go to the naturalist."

"Oh wonderful. Thank you so much young lady. We have been outside for a quite a while looking for some where to sit quietly and have a cup of tea or coffee and look at the ocean. This seems to be a great spot for that."

"Well it is, you are almost there. The Pear Tree Cafe is actually right there on that corner, with the tables outside by the trees."

"Well isn't that lovely, Look honey the cafe is right there. Thank you so much young lady. We really appreciate your help."

"No worries, I hope you feel better and enjoy your stay. When you get to the Cafe, say Hi to Italo" She smiled and as she let go of my hand , a book in her book bag began to glow.

My favorite song added here, an anthem to a time in my life. Fictional story added to a real life place. If you find yourself there, enjoy a late and home made scone at the Pear Tree Cafe on Gilbert Street in Torquay, VIC, AUS

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Vocal-lady-ist Ms. Kerri

KerMama is a little nickname I go by.

With all of the outlets and places to share our experience of life, I like this one. To share art, photos, writing, I would like to share and maybe this will help someone somewhere. Have fun, enjoy be El

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.